We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Trail Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Trail Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Trail Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Avoid it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Motel consists of few small old houses, capacity like 10-12 rooms, we saw 3 guest cars there, motel was almost empty (well, no wonder after our experience). Free wifi, ice, gril, pool without water, no breakfast.
It was a disaster. First, we couldn't find it at all at night, The Address is just highway 41 in Oakhurst, which goes through whole Oakhurst. We booked room for 2 nights 150 usd, (75$/night), it was just one picture on booking.com there and size in quadrat feets(which will not tell very much to somebody from Europe). At the end, it was very little room 2,2 meter x 3 Meter with small bathroom, half of the room took just the bed, rest of it a fridge with microvawe. It was like a prison, I don't understand how can somebody offer such a small room for accomodation. We already paid 2 nights via booking.com, we couldn't leave. I didn't know, if I should laugh or cry. Next day was raining, we had to stay there whole day. OMG. Price/service was really a joke in this case. If the lady at reception would give us bigger standard room next to our door, which was empty all the time, it would be ok. But she didn't care. This bigger room was standard size with king size bed and small kitchen, nothing special, just a standard motel room. To the Yosemite fall it was still 80 km, about 1 hour 20 min drive, so it makes no sense to stay there because of Yosemite visit. Watch out the room 8 in this motel. It was my worst accomodation ever in my life, even sleeping in hostel with 16 beds as a student was better.

Room Tip: Avoid room Nr.8, it's a small one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    8
    7
    16
See reviews for
15
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a last minute booking and we were surprised at the standard of accommodation (poor) for the price. The decor is tired, the curtains/blinds don't work properly and the shower/toilet facilities are old and in poor repair - it's basic. Worst of all the place was grubby and had not been well cleaned. This is a tired establishment in a good location.
We had we had considered staying 2 nights but were relieved to be out and back on the road in the morning.

Room Tip: Consider this an alternative to camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at Mountain Trail Lodge, Oakhurst in California. I agree that you may found the rooms were outdated but we RENOVATED THE ENTIRE LODGE WITH BRAND NEW FURNITURE. Please come and visit us again and give us the another oppertunity to stay with us and serve you. We will highly appreciate that. Looking forward to see you soon. Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After reading the reviews, I knew this was just a clean place to lay our head, no fluff. That's just what it was. We arrived at 10:30pm. There was a sign on the door stating to knock on the door of the RV in close proximity. The manager didn't mind the late knock. I appreciated her positive countenance. Our room was clean, king bed was not too soft, not terribly hard, roomy, old decor. The shower had warm water. I chuckled at the basic towels with a blue stripe going down the length.

Very basic, very inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Mountain Trail Lodge in Oakhurst. Our goal is to provide a clean and friendly customer service to all our valued guest. We RENOVATED ALL OUR ROOMS. Please come and visit us again. Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I rented a cabin up in Wawona. We decided to stay an extra couple of nights, so we went and looked for some place to stay in Oakhurst. We found the Mountain Trail Lodge and it was very inexpensive. They gave us the King Room for two nights at $108 (tax and fees included). It was outside of town, but still very close. That wasn't an issue at all.

One can hear all the trucks passing by, but after a bit, you begin to not even notice them anymore. The view was nice.

As far as the room itself, it was very clean. I can tell it had been recently remodeled. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but once inside, its all good. Very clean bathroom.

The lady at the office was very nice and was able to accomodate us with whatever we needed. My only gripe was the tv, sound on that thing is horrible. Oh yeah, and the wifi signal is a bit slow.

So if all you're looking for is a nice, clean place to stay and don't wanna pay that much, then I recommend the Mountain Trail Lodge. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get room one. It'll be right next to your car when you park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Trail lodge in Oakhurst California. We highly appreciate your business. Just to advise you that we just finishes renovating all our rooms and BRAND NEW FURNITURE IS ON THE WAY IN 3-4 DAYS. I encourage you to please come back and enjoy the fully renovated rooms.

Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived at reception to be told that there was a problem with our room so we would have to drive 8 miles back to Coarsegold to meet a man at the garage who would take us to our lodge! Drove back only to have to then drive another 6 miles into the mountains! Make no mistake, the house they sent us to was huge and really impressive on first appearances. However once in we realised there was no TV, no wi fi, no pool, no coffee maker, no toaster...the list goes on! Everything was filthy to the extent that we had to wash plates cups and cutlery before we could use any of it. The work tops were sticky and the kitchen was infested with ants. The windows all need replacing as they were clouded up sothe view was wasted. The outside areahad a bbq that was unusable due to dirt/previous use and the seating was old and tired.We ended up about 16 miles further away from Yosemite than we expected.
It felt like a renovation project that was no where near completion and was definately not in a fit state to be rented out. All in all we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not what was expected. Located on a busy corner. Poor value for money in the area. Perhaps suitable for back packers if the price was lower. I would not recommend staying at this lodge - there are plenty of other nice places in Oakhurst but this is not one of them.

Room Tip: do not pre pay and shop around first. Only use this place as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

If you are in the area for a trip and have a few days to spare try out their house rental!! It is affordable, the views are gorgeous, and the house is roomy. We had a family of 6 and there was enough room for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at mountain Trail Lodge in Oakhurst California. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Just to inform you that we RENOVATED ALL OUR ROOMS AND NEW FURNITURE will be here in 3-4 days. Please make another visit in the mountains and enjoy the NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS.

Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Lodge

Address: 42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS !! Located along the winding Highway 41 and less than 2 miles from downtown Oakhurst, this hillside hotel features free Wi-Fi and pool. The entrance into Sierra National Park is 12.5 Miles away. Rooms at the Mountain Trail Lodge Oakhurst are equipped with cable TV and air conditioning. Suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator. The front desk of the Mountain Trail Lodge is open 24-hours to assist guests. Fax and copying services are also available on-site. The Oakhurst Mountain Trail Lodge is located next to the Golden Chain Theatre and is 6 miles from Bass Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mountain Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Trail Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Trail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.