We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“knockout pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Pine Gourmet Pizza

Sugar Pine Gourmet Pizza
40208 Hwy. 41 (Next to Starbucks), Suite D, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Sugar Pine Take & Bake Gourmet Pizza)
+1 559-642-4642
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Small cafe style Pizzeria. BYOB Did you know that #Sugarpinegourmetpizza Is #Dogfriendly ??? We welcome all members of your family including Service Dogs of every kind.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“knockout pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

an owner/chef who cares - his goal to make and serve the best!!

the sourdough pizza dough is terrific, the cheese perfect, the toppings farm fresh!

do yourself a favor - pass on the ordinary chain stores and try something unique: pizza made with care, concern knowledge & love

enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    25
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Tucked back off the road in a strip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The owner here really aims to please. I went after reading other reviews that sang praises and I would agree that the pizza was very good. Maybe not the best I've ever had but very good. I recommend it and I'm a pretty fussy customer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yeah! They deliver!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owner of Sugar Pine Take & Bake THANKFULLY delivers to the wine bar we were at. Very good pizza.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High expectations, bad experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

After reading reviews, I could not go to Oakhurst without eating at this pizza restaurant with my family of four, all adults. None in our party was satisfied after expecting so much. The pizza which had been so highly recommended was just ok, like less than average. We decided to eat in and there was no air conditioning on a hot evening. There were two outside picnic tables on a shopping center sidewalk in the hot evening sun. So if you go, definitely take and bake at home.

The restaurant owner was hospitable and attentive because he had no other customers the entire hour we were there.

Quite an overall unpleasant experience. #1 rated in Oakhurst? Please don't mislead others traveling through.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The pizza was great and the owner very friendly. They obiously take a lot of pride in making quality pizzas. The pizzas have a light crustnand are not really filling like other pizzas. Not much space for dining in, but worth it for the pizza. Very kid friendly! Worth a visit if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Pine Gourmet Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Pine Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Pine Gourmet Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.