We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Gazebo

Jade Gazebo
40487 Highway 41 # D, Oakhurst, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 46 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
“very okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

the food wasnt the best but it was prettyy okay compared to other restraunt in the area friendly staff it was quite cold the night we got there and the staff kindly put us a personal heater next tio our table our orders were going to take longer than expected to cook so they gave us free soup while we waited the staff excelent food average overall worth the trip

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Too warm to dine in, but food is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We got our food to go since the restaurant was very warm. Great food! The chicken was far superior to what I normally get anywhere else when ordering Chinese, noodles were just right, vegs were tasty, portions generous. My friend and I really loved it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, quirky owner, next to great dive bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Food and wine for 3 for under $30 (wine comes in half-pint mugs), in what looks to be a converted outhouse. The owner is quirky with a good sense of humor. The place is full of locals, and that's always a good sign. Adjacent to the Dirty Donkey 'tavern' - a cool dive with a weird assortment of misfits - awesome!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We took the advice from Trip Advisor reviews and went to this resturant in the evening for dinner. Expecting to have a decent Chinese meal, we ordered BBQ pork fried rice, Moo Shu chicken, chicken corn soup, and broccoli beef.
The diced BBQ pork was dry and the rice tasted like fried rice stayed in the warmer since that morning. The Moo Shu chicken was salty, the brown sauce put on the wrap made it even saltier. The soup was like chicken and corn mixed with pre-cooked egg drop soup. Brocooli beef lack freshness. We did not enjoy the meal and wished we picked somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly, yummy, fresh cooked, family friendly, mom & pop restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011 via mobile

We were in Oakhurst and decided to try this resturant based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to report that it was great. The place looks so so, but the food is so good. The Combo meals at the back of the menu are a great value. Try the Lemon chicken .. It's a little like Panda Express Orange Chicken, except it's crispy as well. I found that the chef is Cantonese, which means the flavor emphasizes freshness, and less on seasonings. The lady who served us was the proprietress, and she was very accommodating to my little boy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Gazebo also viewed

 

Been to Jade Gazebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Gazebo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.