We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's New Orleans West - CLOSED

Woody's New Orleans West
40291 Junction Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8721
559-683-4414
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: You wouldn't expect to run across the bigger than life flavors of New Orleans in a little mountain town just south of Yosemite National Park, but that's exactly what you'll find at Woody's New Orleans West in Oakhurst, CA. Woody himself is in the kitchen dishing up New Orleans favorites like Jambalaya and Etouffee, all set against the backdrop of the Sierras. Along with traditional New Orleans favorites Woody serves some special creations of his own, drawing from his exposure to cuisines from all over the world. Unique dishes like the Spicy Crawfish Balls and Mardi Gras Pasta have Yosemite locals coming back for more. Woody's New Orleans West offers the best of all worlds: Southern food with a global flair, sophisticated cuisine in a mom-and-pop atmosphere where you'll really become one of the family. Take a couple minutes to look over our menu and get ready to travel into the heart of the South while in the mountains just outside of Yosemite.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Who expected a good Cajun restaurant in the middle of the Yosemite forest? The soup was very good, the jambalaya well seasoned and just spicy enough, without being intrusive. The bead pudding was one of the best I've had. Didn't try the wine cellar. Unimpressive from the outside, but well worth going on in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yosemite National Park, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food; service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The diverse menu and delicious taste combinations were fantastic. The service was horrible - a girl who appeared to not want to be there, and she let us know. Other than that damper on our anniversary, the food was good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Al
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We surveyed the restaurants in Oakhurst on the GPS and choose Woody's New Orleans West for the suggestion in the name of the dining traditions of New Orleans--and we were delighted by what we found.

Woody's has a nice, laid-back ambiance with Mardi Gras paraphernalia and old Al Hirt records playing (either that, or the LSU jazz band). The house wines--Acacia Chardonnay and Murphy-Goode Cabernet--were excellent and poured generously. We whetted our appetites with homemade bread, with some sort of olive oil butter--delicious but a bit scant. Next we had an appetizer of sauteed portabella mushrooms, which came in a heavy spicy sauce. It was hard to stop eating from the huge dish, but more food was on its way.

The salad was a nice mix of greens and veggies with an excellent sweet poppy seed dressing. We both cleaned our plates. For the main course, my wife had chicken on a bed of corn bread--tender, spicy, and covered with chunky cranberry sauce. I had pork chops with chunks of apple--wonderfully tender and juicy. Both entrees came with squash, delicately seasoned and dusted with bread crumbs. There was so much food that we carried away lunch for the next day.

Chef Woody came to visit us at our table and told us the story of his journey from Jackson, Mississippi, to Oakhurst. It turned out that our sharp, helpful, and vivacious waiter was his daughter. From beginning to end, dining was a memorable and pleasurable occasion, with each successive food a delightful surprise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My bf, son and I went out to try something other than pizza. My son had the cheeseburger, my bf the Cajun pasta and I had the pork chops. My son enjoyed his burger. The pasta looked weird but was good. I liked my pork chops and green beans but the potatoes were not that good. The price was good, liked the decor just not too big.

Will go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Kinda fun...pretty good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This little place surprised us...with it's unique New Orleans style menu. We've been several times - miss their spunky daughter...she was a hoot! It's hit-n-miss as far as food quality. Definitely worth giving it a try!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's New Orleans West also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's New Orleans West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.