We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Place

Pete's Place
40093 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8861
559-683-0836
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Oakhurst, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I don't think I have ever been to a breakfast restaurant as busy as this place, so it is like a fast food restaurant except the food is way better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“EVERY TOWN SHOULD HAVE A PETE'S PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pete's Place was heartily recommended to us by it seemed like every local we met in Oakhurst. To a person, that was where they all said they like to eat. I understand why, after eating a late breakfast there with my wife. Everybody should be lucky enough to have a Pete's Place (or a place just like it). In the days before we had fast food franchises, this was how casual food was made. From scratch (in this case, "pre-packaged" meant the shell on the egg!) by a real, short order cook (not a microwave or assembly line oven). You place your order at a counter, behind which you can see the cooks at work and smell whatever is on the grille or griddle. When it's ready, which seems like no time at all, they bring it to your table. My breakfast was washed down with coffee that I didn't have to use five Italian words to order and which was cheerfuly refilled at no extra cost. And you know what else? When I got the check, it didn't cost me that much extra than what I might have spent for a whole lot less quality at a fast food joint. The only regret I have is that while I was there in Oakhurst, I didn't get to meet Pete himself. But whoever he is, when it comes to making good eats, trust me! He's doing it right!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Go to Pete's almost once a week, good fresh food, very large portions, split the value meal for a good value, all sides are excellent rings my current favorite, prices have gone up in the last few years so my wife and I always split a meal. Breakfast burrito is to die for but has gotten pricey. Wait staff is excellent and it has a very casual relaxed atmosphere. Good luck getting a table for Sunday breakfast/lunch

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Zucchini strips? Cheeseburger? Breakfast? Are are awesome. Love this place. It is busy! They do have a drive through if you are not wanting to go inside.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel by the sea
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not your chain style buger place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pete's is a great little joint, it is nothing to look at, but has good home made food, everthing tasted fresh. The zuccini fries where nice (massive serve) we could not finish them. The staff are friendly and the food resonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Place also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.