We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERY TOWN SHOULD HAVE A PETE'S PLACE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Place

Pete's Place
40093 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8861
559-683-0836
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 46 restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“EVERY TOWN SHOULD HAVE A PETE'S PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pete's Place was heartily recommended to us by it seemed like every local we met in Oakhurst. To a person, that was where they all said they like to eat. I understand why, after eating a late breakfast there with my wife. Everybody should be lucky enough to have a Pete's Place (or a place just like it). In the days before we had fast food franchises, this was how casual food was made. From scratch (in this case, "pre-packaged" meant the shell on the egg!) by a real, short order cook (not a microwave or assembly line oven). You place your order at a counter, behind which you can see the cooks at work and smell whatever is on the grille or griddle. When it's ready, which seems like no time at all, they bring it to your table. My breakfast was washed down with coffee that I didn't have to use five Italian words to order and which was cheerfuly refilled at no extra cost. And you know what else? When I got the check, it didn't cost me that much extra than what I might have spent for a whole lot less quality at a fast food joint. The only regret I have is that while I was there in Oakhurst, I didn't get to meet Pete himself. But whoever he is, when it comes to making good eats, trust me! He's doing it right!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    25
    31
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Go to Pete's almost once a week, good fresh food, very large portions, split the value meal for a good value, all sides are excellent rings my current favorite, prices have gone up in the last few years so my wife and I always split a meal. Breakfast burrito is to die for but has gotten pricey. Wait staff is excellent and it has a very casual relaxed atmosphere. Good luck getting a table for Sunday breakfast/lunch

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Zucchini strips? Cheeseburger? Breakfast? Are are awesome. Love this place. It is busy! They do have a drive through if you are not wanting to go inside.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel by the sea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not your chain style buger place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Pete's is a great little joint, it is nothing to look at, but has good home made food, everthing tasted fresh. The zuccini fries where nice (massive serve) we could not finish them. The staff are friendly and the food resonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Recommended by the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very good breakfast ... you order at the counter and then you are served ... reasonable prices and good service ... Pete and the waitresses knew most everyone by name ... we enjoyed the atmosphere and the food ...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Place also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.