We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, home style friendliness, wonderful breakfasts and superb accommodations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39060 Hwy 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Frisco, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Views, home style friendliness, wonderful breakfasts and superb accommodations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a great 2 night stay while visiting Yosemite NP. Although it's a bit of a drive from the park we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Sierra View to fellow travelers. We were headed south following our visit to Yosemite and this location was perfect for an early start to Fresno.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Bruce and Lori are wonderful, and the view from the rooms are incredible. We are frequent travelers and this B&B ranks in the top tier for us. Lori is amazing at providing all you need to know about the park and helping set up the perfect day in Yosemite. And after a long day it is the perfect place to come back and relax. We will come back and stay here when we visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having read the trip advisor comments, we instantly booked this B&B and it exceeded all our expectations. Bruce & Lori are the most excellent hosts, going the extra mile to give you the best experience of Yosemite no matter how short or long your stay. We got an excellent dinner recommendation plus the best 1 day tour of the park. Breakfast is incredible and the rooms are lovely. The view is the best you'll get and only 20 mins to the south entrance to the park, it's an easy location. Don't think about booking anywhere else, it won't compare. And make sure you cuddle Boo-Boo, she keeps the bears at bay..;)
We will come back and can't wait to stay at this beautiful home again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

You will wonder if your GPS or map has a fault when you start heading up the steep drive and keep on heading up the steep drive. Still once you are there the view is magnificent over Oakhurst.
There is a choice of 3 rooms, we had the smallest middle room, which is exactly that, small! One chair to sit on. Plenty of room outside though. The other two rooms were bigger but had pets staying in them over time. As one of us has an allergy, we couldn't have either room.

The owners are lovely people, and happy to chat. Breakfast was good, although nothing special. You are quite some distance from Yosemite. they say 20 minutes from he park gates. More like 40 at least, then another hour to Yosemite.

Sleep wasn't the best as a smoke alarm starting beeping at around 3.00am due to a flat battery. I wasn't impressed with the owners "oh sorry about that" then taking the full amount due.

In summary, great view, nice people, reasonable location but over priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two larger rooms. One has a seperate bedroom and the other a King bed. The smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucechip, Owner at Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are surprised and disappointed in this review. The guests were offered a choice of rooms at the time of their reservation. They chose the least expensive of our three rooms (during peak tourism season).
The guests never expressed dissatisfaction with our response to fixing the smoke alarm. The guests did not notify us of the smoke alarm going off. We live above our guest rooms and could have fixed it immediately. We recognized the mechanical problem and fixed the smoke alarm before the guests' full, hot breakfast was served to them that morning.

The room they chose has two chairs for sitting. They are on both sides of the bathroom door. I don't know how they were missed.

Knowing that this guest has "dog issues" we had our dog in our room during breakfast. One other guest were asked to keep there dog in their (pet friendly) room and to avoid any dog contact with this neighboring guest.

***A note about the distance to Yosemite National Park. It is 14 miles from our Bed and Breakfast. It consistently takes 20 minutes to the entrance of the Park. Yosemite National Park is 1200 square miles, with 5 park entrances. Most guests drive in and out of Yosemite via Oakhurst (our town) and the Southern route. Yosemite National Park has reduced the numbers of bed spaces and camp spaces over the last 20 years, leaving Oakhurst as the best viable lodging option closest to the park.

Our goal has always been to give our guests as positive of an experience of our region, with our services and with our home. We are truly saddened that these guests never shared their dissatisfaction or feelings with us.
Bruce and Lori Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hosts couldn't be more hospitable, welcoming and knowledgeable. Great traveler tips, including a restaurant / gas station on the road traveling to Oakhurst. The three rooms are each large, airy, comfortable, well appointed, very clean and with great views. Each has its patio and patio furniture. Kind of hard to find the first time, be sure to get accurate directions. And be careful coming onto highway at end of the road, its a blind corner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger suite but all looked very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at lots of BnB's. Sierra View is simply one of the best. It's a bit of a drive from Yosemite but definitely worth it. Their house and guests rooms are generous, extremely comfortable, and immaculate. The guest rooms area of the house has its own coffee pot, refrigerator, and outdoor tables. The views are stunning. Lori is one fabulous cook. But, the best part is no one stays a stranger in this house (unless you want to be left alone). We had a birthday celebration that Bruce and Lori helped us secretly organize, and "make your own dinner" night they helped us provision. And to top all that off, Lori planned for us 2 perfect days of hiking and exploring Yosemite. If you're heading to Yosemite - this is definitely your best choice for lodging!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the first time that we booked a B&B in the USA, and we truly enjoyed it. Bruce and Lori make you feel welcome at their place. The room we stayed in was large, with a beautiful view on the mountains and Oakhurst. Breakfast was made to order, with fresh omelettes, scones and fruit. However, if you prefer home made jam and cereals that is also possible. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the terrace, while looking at the mountains, sometimes accompanied by Boubou, their very friendly dog. Thanks Bruce and Lori!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 39060 Hwy 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.