We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39060 Hwy 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the first time that we booked a B&B in the USA, and we truly enjoyed it. Bruce and Lori make you feel welcome at their place. The room we stayed in was large, with a beautiful view on the mountains and Oakhurst. Breakfast was made to order, with fresh omelettes, scones and fruit. However, if you prefer home made jam and cereals that is also possible. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the terrace, while looking at the mountains, sometimes accompanied by Boubou, their very friendly dog. Thanks Bruce and Lori!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Feels just like being home. Great service, great rooms.Wonderful breakfast. Lori has insider tips (talking bout restrooms... ;-)) for almost any spot in California. The location itself is wonderful and has great views.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but the Yosemite Sierra View B&B was amazing and completely exceeded my expectations. The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming, but still spotlessly clean and with maximum privacy.

The drive up the very steep hill is worth it for the amazing view of the valley that you'll have from your room. When we arrived, we were greeted by Bruce and the dog Booboo, who is by far the sweetest and most well-behaved dog I've ever encountered. Our room was huge, with an amazing view and a big patio, where we could eat or just hang around after a long day of hiking. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was nice and hot.

The amount of privacy was great. The guest rooms had very secure locks on them. Bruce and Lori were always available and easy to find, but never intrusive. Even though there were other people staying at the B&B, we couldn't hear them.

Breakfast was simple but delicious and satisfying. Each day, there was an egg dish, fruit, and toast. As an added bonus, they had REALLY good coffee, and I consider myself a coffee snob. As others have mentioned, there is a chicken coop on the property, and all the eggs for breakfast come from those chickens. There are also a couple of cats that live with the chickens, but as far as I know, only the dog is allowed inside.

Bruce and Lori were very sweet and friendly without ever being creepy. They were more than happy to sit down with us in the morning and help us plan out where we should go hiking, where we should eat, which roads we should take as we were leaving, etc. They really went above and beyond what I've experienced at other hotels.

If you're spending time in the Yosemite area, I can't recommend this place highly enough. It was the perfect place to retreat to after a long day, and I hope I'll have the chance to stay there again someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A beautiful suite very close to Yosemite NP, located in a quiet hideaway with beautiful day and night views of the valley.
The suits are extremely beautiful and spacious. Direct exit to the garden.
Lovely, warm and hospitable hosts.
We had a great breakfast with a young couple from Spain and, what a small world, we had a mutual acquiantance and business interests.
The only regret is that we spent only one night due to our pre planned tight schedule. What a miss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A hidden gem has been found. Peaceful and quiet house located on top of the hill with a fantastic view of the Oakhurst and the nature. Bruce and Lori have been wonderful hosts who are very attentive and helpful couple.
There are only 3 types of rooms that can cater to a couple to a family of 4, comfortably. All rooms are on the ground level. No air con, only ceiling fan but who needs it when the weather is cool during the evening and you should be out during the day.
To me, this is like a 5 star hotel even though it is nothing fancy or luxury about it. It is the personal touch and service given by Lori and Bruce that makes our stay more than luxurious. They make you feel at home upon arrival and make sure every guest feel warm and welcome.
This is the kind of place I would like to stay in for vacation where u have your own space from indoor to outdoor. You can sit out in the morning for breakfast and chill out in evening with a glass of wine and enjoy the evening view of the town or the stars after a long day of hiking.

Homemade breakfast is always ready whenever u want it. Dinner can be arranged upon request. Lori will answer or even help you plan your activities at Yosemite. Less than 5 minutes to all shops and restaurants. It is about half an hour drive to the nearest entrance of the park and 1 hr 40 mins to Glacier point. From glacier to the village, it will take another hr or less.
You may not want to stay in other lodges once you have stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucechip, Owner at Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Your review tells us that we are doing exactly what we want to do. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and reaffirming that we are achieving our goals to make each guest feel comfortable and have THEIR best experience in our region :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night new years eve 2011. I couldn't believe the scenery and our room was so beautiful and confortable. Much better than any hotel or B&B I have visited. Lori was so gracious and kind. I would refer all my friends and family. Thank you Lori for being a great hostess and we will definately be back and hopefully for more than just one night :) God Bless.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family of three stayed in the Yosemite Sierra Bed and Breakfast for three nights in June 2011--it was our base for our trip into Yosemite Park. Lori and Bruce made us feel like "part of the family" immediately, even inviting us to join in Lori's Birthday Celebration Party!!! Without a doubt the Yosemite Sierra is one of the friendliest B&B's I have ever stayed in. The views were magnificent, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and the location made this a wonderful stay--the best part of our week long California road trip. If our journeys take us back their way, I look forward to visiting once again. I highly recommend Lori and Bruce's B&B

Room Tip: Call and speak with Lori--she is so friendly and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 39060 Hwy 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.