We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay while waiting for the parks to open” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special: $5 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay while waiting for the parks to open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We could not say enough about this hotel. We were only suppose to stay three nights while visiting Yosemite then we were moving on to a hotel in Sequioa, which was closed due to the shutdown. Having a 14 day vacation from PA and no where to go, we ended up staying 10 days till we could get in the parks. The staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were very large and clean. The breakfast every morning was nice, and the waffles were great. This hotel became our home away from home. Pat and Lisa at the front desk always went out of their way to answer our questions, sent us to great places to eat and told us where to hike outside of the parks. The suggested some of the CA State Parks which helped rescue our vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Tam:

We're so sorry that our knucklehead Congress nearly ruined your trip. You have no idea how frustrating the incompetence of our government was to our business. We feel so bad for all of the international tourists who suffered. We're glad that we were at least able to salvage what we could of your trip and at least be good hosts. We did our best to make sure we kept guests like you occupied with different things to do besides Yosemite National Park during the closure.

We'd love to have you back and we hope that we never have travelers face such a ridiculous closure again. Next time you visit book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save even more!

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    260
    104
    30
    16
See reviews for
170
233
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is located 15 min. from the Yosemite south gate
The check in and out was fast and easy, the receptionist was nice and efficient
Adjacent to the hotel there is a good restaurant
Hotel has a washer and dryer for guest use

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a pool suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Yaron:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your positive remarks regarding your stay at Yosemite Southgate Hotel.

We'd love to host you again. Book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save an additional $5 per day.

Thank You,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had booked for two nights but then shortened the stay to one night, as Yosemite National Park had been closed down due to the federal funding and budget debacle. The hotel had many cancellations due to the park closure and this is not a reflection on the hotel, which was lovely and we would have stayed for a few more nights.
Good spacious rooms, good bathroom and comfortable bed.
Breakfast facilities a bit strange, had to collect food in hotel entrance area (near lifts) and then take them to the breakfast room. Apparently the scrambled eggs and sausages were elsewhere but I didn't see them, so missed out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Shucks! We're very flattered by your awesome review! Thank you so much for your kind words. We're really sorry that you had to put up with that ridiculous closure due to the incompetence of our Congress. We certainly tried to make sure guests like yourself were well taken care of during the Closure.

We do hope you visit us again. Book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save even more! Spread the word!

Thanks,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great staff - very helpful and extremely useful knowledge of area. A cut above the norm so full marks there. Rooms good being clean and smart. All in all a pleasant base from which to visit the awe inspiring Yosemite area. Breakfast minimal ie if coeliac prepare to fast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Kate:

Our staff thanks you for your kind words. We work really hard to make sure that our guests get the best hospitality around when visiting the Yosemite area.

We'd love to host you again. Book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save even more!

Thanks,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely (clean and pleasing to look at), and in a great location. The town of Oakhurst had a good variety of amenities. The hotel itself was clean, semlled good and the people were helpful, generous with their time and willing to answer questions.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

I personally wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review of our hotel, Yosemite Southgate Hotel. Such reviews help our business tremendously because our potential bookers make more educated booking decisions. We work hard to provide a high quality, high value place to stay when visiting Yosemite and your review helps to highlight this.

We'd love to host you again. Book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night.

Thanks,

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa Valley, South Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff are very friendly.

The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. Make sure you check that the fridge is on (as ours was off). The TV has lots of channels. The air-conditioner runs fairly noisy.

Breakfast runs from 0600 and a continental breakfast. There are only 4 tables in the "dining room" so make sure you get in early if you want to eat sitting down! There is a couple of waffle makers and yoghurt, fruit, cereal and juice.

Overall a nice place to stay in Oakhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. The roof creaked in our ground floor room with people walking around on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First the location, despite the name of the hotel it's much further from the park than we anticipated - about 16 miles to the entrance gate and another 26 miles to the valley although Mariposa Grove and Wanoma are closer. As a result we did a 100 mile round trip on each of the 3 days we stayed there, a pleasant drive but it meant we fairly late getting into the valley bottom each day.

The rooms are good, we booked a suite which had an odd layout but it wasn't an issue. Good bathroom with nice fluffy towels and plenty of clothes storage. Outside there was a heated pool & tub (not used).

Breakfast was very basic compared to other hotels we stayed in during our trip with everything in short supply and the coffee was appalling (the worst I've ever tasted), overall it was very poor.

Oakhurst itself is small with limited choices for dining (or at least dining well). While the hotel was OK on our next visit to Yosemite I think we'd find somewhere closer to the park (or in the park if we can afford it) with better restaurant choices nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. I just wanted to personally respond to this review so other potential guests understand that Oakhurst is actually the Southern Gateway to Yosemite. We are located just 14 miles from the entrance to Yosemite National Park. There are not many hotels closer and in fact the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the only hotel in town that has an elevator and traditional hotel amenities. To stay in The Park is far more expensive and difficult to book. We feel Yosemite Southgate offers the best value and location to Yosemite. The remote and rugged nature of the National Park means that roads are windy and slow going. Oakhurst is the largest gateway community and does offer more dining and shopping options than Mariposa or Groveland.

We'd love to host you again. Book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save even more!

Thanks,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn - Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.