We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this 4 stars?!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special: $5 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Is this 4 stars?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back from this hotel. On the reception desk, there is a framed document stating this hotel has 4 stars out of 5 from Tripadvisor. Through our stay, we kept wondering - how come?
- We have reserved a room for 5 people, and when we came in at 11 pm we had only 2 queen beds in the room. They were out of extra beds and I had to go down to the lobby to take myself some extra blankets. Then I discovered we have only 4 towels. I was too tired to go down again.
-The ceiling in the room is low. I find this annoying.
-They advertise that they have a heated tub and pool, but turns out it is closed in the winter.
-They advertise that they have free wi-fi in the rooms, but the wi-fi is sooo slow, that you give up using it at all.
-Breakfast was very poor. There was only one type of bread - no bagels, no roles, no choice of bread. The tables were dirty.
This hotel is certainly expensive for what it provides.
It also has a misleading name. It is about 45 minutes drive to the gates of Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Hidey:

We are very sorry that you had from what it appears a very poor stay at our hotel. We apologize that your stay started off so poorly. We certainly did not address the needs for your fifth person as reserved as well as we could have. And it seems that this displeasure has really impacted the lens by which you saw our hotel and its services. Yosemite is a very remote and large and rugged forestland. We are actually only 14 miles from the Southgate, and one of its closest and best value hotels. The nature of the destination is long and windy mountain roads, so we're truly sorry if the distance seemed long.

We would love the opportunity to host you again and make right for our wrongs. Our swimming pool is actually seasonal and is now open. And we'll be sure to address your concerns and show you why we are ranked so high on TripAdvisor if you were to give us a second chance.

We hope to host you again,

Raj
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    258
    104
    30
    16
See reviews for
169
230
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. It is close enough to the Southern entrance of Yosemite while still being around businesses and food places. The hotel staff was incredible. All of our needs were met when asked. And the staff was super friendly in all of my interactions with them. My 4-year-old daughter loved being at this hotel and being able to watch T.V., take a bath, walk around, talk to the staff. She loved that there was a steam room even if she didn't go in. The continental breakfast that is included is very nice. There are waffle makers, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, toast, yogurt, and fruit. We never had to eat the same thing twice, even though we did and loved the waffles. The rooms are nice and big. The one thing that made the rooms a little uncomfortable was that the blankets were itchy. We didn't spend all that much time in the rooms though because we were out most of the day and went out to dinner both nights. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all the people I know. Oh, and the best part is that we had a groupon and were treated as hotel guests instead of how some places look down on using coupons. AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Naomi:

Thanks for your gracious and super positive review. Our staff is beaming after reading your review. We really strive to work hard and ensure that ALL of our guests are treated with the utmost hospitality. We are working hard to reclaim our #1 ranking on TripAdvisor so your review is helpful in that cause.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, please do book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com and enter the promo code tripadvisor to receive a nice little discount on our already low rates when you book direct.

We hope to see you and your little beautiful daughter again!

Regards,

Raj
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with the excellent service we received. Very clean, very helpful, and excellent staff. I would recommend this hotel highly. The complimentary breakfast had a great choice of fruit, juice, bread and waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your awesome PERFECT review! We're just excited. Our staff couldn't be more happy. When we see reviews like yours they really make us giddy because we really pride ourselves on our service and hospitality.

We'd love to see you again. Please book directly at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates.

See you soon,

Raj
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The one-night business visit started off a bit comically as in the first two rooms I was sent to, the bed wasn't made. Literally - the mattresses were off the bed and the frame was disassembled! The third time was the charm - and Shayla (sp?) at the front desk couldn't possibly have been sweeter (or more apologetic) about it. The hotel comped my room by 40%, even though I insisted that the 8 minutes of inconvenience didn't justify it.

The room I ended up in was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, and the towels thick. The view of the mountains was breathtaking from the fourth floor. Took me a second look to get the in-room HVAC set right, but it was relatively quiet.

All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, and seemed genuinely dedicated to making sure my stay was pleasant. The restaurant was closed due to the season, but got a great recommendation on a local restaurant. Didn't partake of breakfast, but it looked to be pretty standard breads, cereal, juice and waffle-makers. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor east-facing rooms have great mountain views, though exposed to some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your gracious review and the time you took out to write such kind words, especially considering the snafu we made in providing you a key to a down room. We truly apologize for that! We are just glad that evidently we recovered. Shaila does say hello and while blushing in embarrassment is really pleased and happy with your review.

We do hope you come back to visit us again. Please do book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com to save. Enter in the promo code tripadvisor and you'll also get a little discount!

Thank You!

Raj & Shaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, large rooms with fridge & microwave & sink area, shower fit large and tall me. Small pool and large spa both outdoors and closed in March, but looked nice. Small but adequate exercise room. Overall, a nice find.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and we found all of the reviews where accurate in that the staff is friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is adequate, and on the plus side we had an LCD.

Pros:
Great Staff
Crib provided at no cost
Cleanliness
24 HR Coffee Bar

Cons:
Location, not so great. It's more like 23 miles from the south park entrance which is about 35 minutes.
VERRY far from Yosemite village.
"The Juice is not Loose"! (lol, there was a sign, probably will have been taken down by the time anyone reads this, but means that the juice bar closes after breakfast even though it's right next to the coffee)
Waffle timer is wrong, they're done at 1.5 minutes unless you like crunchtacular waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through their website in advance and got a great deal. The hotel is clean and cozy. The rooms are large with a wet bar, couch, king bed, 2 comfy chairs and a small table. The decor is photos of Yosemite. The heater/air conditioner worked well, but we really only needed a little heat. The bed was comfortable and provided an excellent nights sleep. The walls and windows are thin and you can hear some road noise and guests, but we fell asleep easily. When other hotel guests use water it was loud in our room. The continental breakfast was sufficient with a waffle station, yogurt, cereal, toast and fruit. They provide coffee (decaf too) and tea 24 hours. The coffee is good, buttery smell, very smooth taste and piping hot. The coffee machine says Nescafé, but it tastes like Douwe Egbert coffee. The tv in the room is surprisingly large, but they don't have hd service and the picture quality is bad. The staff is very pleasant. Would recommend to friends and will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn - Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.