We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special: $5 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and we found all of the reviews where accurate in that the staff is friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is adequate, and on the plus side we had an LCD.

Pros:
Great Staff
Crib provided at no cost
Cleanliness
24 HR Coffee Bar

Cons:
Location, not so great. It's more like 23 miles from the south park entrance which is about 35 minutes.
VERRY far from Yosemite village.
"The Juice is not Loose"! (lol, there was a sign, probably will have been taken down by the time anyone reads this, but means that the juice bar closes after breakfast even though it's right next to the coffee)
Waffle timer is wrong, they're done at 1.5 minutes unless you like crunchtacular waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    261
    104
    30
    16
See reviews for
171
233
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through their website in advance and got a great deal. The hotel is clean and cozy. The rooms are large with a wet bar, couch, king bed, 2 comfy chairs and a small table. The decor is photos of Yosemite. The heater/air conditioner worked well, but we really only needed a little heat. The bed was comfortable and provided an excellent nights sleep. The walls and windows are thin and you can hear some road noise and guests, but we fell asleep easily. When other hotel guests use water it was loud in our room. The continental breakfast was sufficient with a waffle station, yogurt, cereal, toast and fruit. They provide coffee (decaf too) and tea 24 hours. The coffee is good, buttery smell, very smooth taste and piping hot. The coffee machine says Nescafé, but it tastes like Douwe Egbert coffee. The tv in the room is surprisingly large, but they don't have hd service and the picture quality is bad. The staff is very pleasant. Would recommend to friends and will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed here before and I noticed that now things are being updated in many ways. I just love the new "door keys" which is now an electronic card that you just touch to unlock the door. What an improvement over the old heavy keys. Its also much nicer than the hotels that you have to fumble to find the little slot. This one you just touch to the lock mechanism and the door is unlocked. Perfect! I also enjoyed the new pictures on the wall. Very nice.

The staff is very friendly and anxious to make you happy. I know the breakfast is good because I have eaten here before and I see they still have the waffle makers. That will make my day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

When thinking about northern central California, many people think of Yosemite. They want that clean fresh mountain feel, and when you stay at Yosemite Southgate Hotel, in Oakhurst, that is definitely what you will get. The employees here at the Southgate go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as they possibly can. Whether it is a quick mountain getaway, or a nice extended stay in Oakhurst, and touring trips planned to Yosemite, or Bass Lake, the Southgate is a great choice. They also ask you upon check in what your intentions of seeing and doing during your stay are. they pull out all of the stops to make your stay great. When you walk in the door, you are greeted by a very friendly staff, who are here to assist you with all of your needs. personally my trip was short, i hope to make it longer next time. My needs for this trip were simple, a comfortable king sized bed, and a place to get out of the snow for the night. I was welcomed in for a stay in an extremely comfortable bed, in a room with a larger then average t.v. hooked up to satellite. When i got in I was tired so it was time to go to my room, and sleep, as the next day was to be an early start for me. However, checking my email was a necessity. Not only do they have an in lobby computer for guests to use, they also have WiFi throughout the hotel. This hotel is a perfect example of having all of your bases covered. It may not be extremely upscale or fancy, but based on service alone, i will definitely be back. I would strongly suggest a stay at the Southgate!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel a bit dated but rooms quite large and clean. value for money Staff helpfull plenty of places to eat in town breakfast in two places lobby and a room down a corridor which only found on the last morning

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all, we totally mixed up our booking on booking.com as we booked for the previous night of our intended stay, but this hasn't been a problem for them and has been sorted out with one email (low season helps I gues!). Assoon as we got there the staff was very friendly & helpfull. The room was very nice I wished we stayed more than one night! The breakfast was great with the possibility of making your own waffle that I certainly enjoyed! thanks again for everything this has been a very lovely stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your perfect review. I guess we couldn't ask for more! It means a tremendous amount to our staff and ownership when we receive glowing reviews such as yours. We are really working hard to create the perfect place to stay when visiting Yosemite. Considering the remoteness of Yosemite, we are working hard to create a high quality, best value accommodations for folks coming to visit one of the most amazing places on earth.

We certainly hope you spread the word and come stay with us again. Book directly at yosemitesouthgate.com and enter the promo code: tripadvisor for our best rates + a discount!

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our tour company booked this in the name of shilo inn suites, when we got there the name had been changed and had not been called that for some time. Staff were very friendly and the room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately not to my liking it was like something out of the hot tub time machine, very dated and in need of bringing back to the present day. Parking was free which was a bonus. Not sure how this makes number 3 on the hotel list to stay here?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Paulib:

I wanted to personally apologize if you felt your stay was subpar at Yosemite Southgate Hotel. As you can see from many of our reviews, we score very high marks for our service and facilities so we really do take poor reviews such as yours very seriously. Yes, The Southgate was once the Shilo Inn, however, new ownership has come in over the last year and made many NEW improvements including a brand newly surfaced pool and spa, custom photography and signage thoughout, AND new electronic locks and 46 inch LED TVs are being installed. We really take pride in our property and ownership has been making dramatic improvements and many return guests are very thrilled by this transformation.

We are highly ranked because of our great staff, location, cleanliness, and the pride we take in our property.

We certainly hope that you give us a second chance. We are sure that when you do visit us again, there will be an even more amazing transformation as we are constantly striving to improve.

Regards,

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn - Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.