We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our tour company booked this in the name of shilo inn suites, when we got there the name had been changed and had not been called that for some time. Staff were very friendly and the room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately not to my liking it was like something out of the hot tub time machine, very dated and in need of bringing back to the present day. Parking was free which was a bonus. Not sure how this makes number 3 on the hotel list to stay here?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Paulib:

I wanted to personally apologize if you felt your stay was subpar at Yosemite Southgate Hotel. As you can see from many of our reviews, we score very high marks for our service and facilities so we really do take poor reviews such as yours very seriously. Yes, The Southgate was once the Shilo Inn, however, new ownership has come in over the last year and made many NEW improvements including a brand newly surfaced pool and spa, custom photography and signage thoughout, AND new electronic locks and 46 inch LED TVs are being installed. We really take pride in our property and ownership has been making dramatic improvements and many return guests are very thrilled by this transformation.

We are highly ranked because of our great staff, location, cleanliness, and the pride we take in our property.

We certainly hope that you give us a second chance. We are sure that when you do visit us again, there will be an even more amazing transformation as we are constantly striving to improve.

Regards,

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    265
    107
    32
    16
See reviews for
174
241
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While visiting Yosemite, we stayed at the Southgate Hotel which was an excellent value. It was extremely convenient to the park, reasonably priced and very clean. The staff was accommodating, and the breakfast was very nice. I intend to recommend this hotel to my friends and will definitely make it a stop on my next visit to Yosemite. Albert went out of his way to make our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Rich:

Thanks so much for your PERFECT review! It's always an awesome feeling for our staff when we get such a glowing review. We are working very hard to make Yosemite Southgate the place to stay when you are traveling to Yosemite from Highway 41. Albert certainly says hello and says to come back and stay with us again.

Please do stay with us again and book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates. Leave us a note in your booking and we'll what we can to take care of you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight but wished we'd organised to stay an additional night to enjoy Oakhurst a little more and take in the drive to Yosemite. We arrived late and were surprised to be greeted at reception with a friendly smile and lots of helpful advice for our journey and visit the next day. Our room was quiet and relaxing, comfy bed and good shower and plenty of space to lay out our things. Breakfast the next day was everything you need and lots of choice. As a bonus there's a Starbucks drive-thru just down the road so we had a nice coffee on our way to Yosemite. This place provides excellent value for money. Whilst it may not look like The Ritz, it is really everything you need and more and you save on an otherwise expense stay if you were to book a hotel right in the park.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

We just wanted to take the time to thank you for your gracious review. Reviews like yours help our business immensely. We recognize you have choices when traveling and we're very happy you decided to stay with us. We're positioning The Southgate to be a value compared to hotels in The Park while not sacrificing on quality and size of accommodations. We're glad that your review reflects well on our efforts.

We look forward to hosting you again. Next time, book directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate.com and find our lowest rates. Leave us a note in your booking and we'll do our best to reward you for staying with us again.

Take Care,

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

JUST TO BE CLEAR (despite some later criticisms): at the $65 plus tax that we paid, the Yosemite Southgate offered EXCELLENT VALUE and THE STAFF COULD NOT HAVE BEEN NICER!

THAT SAID: We just stayed at the Yosemite Southgate a few days ago--our first visit to the facility since it was rebranded back in March. The staff was VERY nice and tried to be helpful. Our King bedroom was not a "suite" (and I'm not sure there is one), but the room was VERY large with a King bed, a full size couch (that is a hide-a-bed), a multi-purpose table with 2 comfortable chairs, and a large work desk that doubles as a TV stand. There is a "kitchen" area with sink, cupboards (empty--no utensils), a small refrigerator, an older very small microwave, and a coffee maker. The vanity & sink counter area was exceptionally large--much to the delight of my wife. Toilet and bathtub/shower are in separate bathroom.

So far so good, but . . . the TV belongs in a museum and has the low-def version of DirectTV's receiver choices. The heater was noisy and cycled on and off quickly all night long during the cold night. The coffee supplied with the coffee maker was dreadful (as was the coffee in the lobby). The complimentary breakfast was served in a chilly lobby [outside morning temperatures in the 20s and a poor entry design that allowed cold air to enter] with no tables intended for eating. Food selection was spartan even by the usual low standards of such things--and a step down from the last time I was here a couple of years ago [when my review indicated the existence of microwavable sauage/egg burritos]. (But I've seen worse. The breakfast DID have yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, and a very good whole grain bread for making toast. After that, it was pretty much apples, a scant two choices of cold cereal, orange juice,the usual mini-muffins, and a waffle maker.) No newspapers are available--free or otherwise. (Unchanged from last time.)

The fitness room hasn't changed--very limited, with one elliptical trainer and one multi-purpose weight machine. However both were in good condition. I used both the afternoon of arrival, but when I returned to use them in the morning the room was freezing cold. I asked staff to do something about the heat and they tried, but when I returned the situation was actually worse.

This is a facility that would be notably better with a little more attention to detail even if that meant the room price needed to be increased $5 a night.

As an aside, if you visit here this time of year, be aware the many of the restaurants in town are closed. Ask the friendly staff for suggestions. --Jeff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst seeing Yosemite.

Rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable.

Free breakfast is ok, nothing too special - usual cereal, muffins, toast but does offer waffles!

Was great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Good location, amazing spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. loved the free breakfast!
Staff were really friendly. Lots of restaurants near by and local cinema was only $8 per person. We went on the discover Yosemite tour which picked up right outside the hotel.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteSouthgate, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Livvy:

Thank you for your awesome review. We work hard every day to make sure folks who are visiting one of our country's crown jewels in Yosemite have a great place to stay. The Southgate Hotel & Suites is only 14 miles from the Park Entrance making it one of the closest hotels the a magical place. We really look forward to hosting you again. We think you'll be excited by all of the changes we have and will continue to make at this hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again. Next time you book, book directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate .com for the lowest rates. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am so grateful for excellent customer service from Ashley, Norma, Shaila, Deb & Keith during my stay. The rooms so spacious and clean, the organic soaps & shampoos made the room further glean. Recycle bins would be a plus and 0 stryrofoam would complete this winning team.
Thank you for a safe, comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the best view:+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteSouthgate, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Kim:

Thank you for your awesome review. Keith and Deb say hello and were thrilled to see their names called out! We work hard every day to make sure folks who are visiting one of our country's crown jewels in Yosemite have a great place to stay. The Southgate Hotel & Suites is only 14 miles from the Park Entrance and we also have some of the largest rooms in the area. We think you'll be excited by all of the changes we have and will continue to make at this hotel. We are working on those recycle bins in our effort to go green! We also can't believe the local trash collector doesn't recycle--it's a travesty we know! We're working on it though!

We look forward to hosting you again. Next time you book, book directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate .com for the lowest rates. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn - Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.