We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and close to Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elkhorn Wisconsin USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and close to Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here one evening before attending a wedding at Tenaya Lodge near Yosemite. The rooms were spacious, quiet, very clean, with a comfortable bed, hanging space, dressers, a TV that worked, a coffemaker and microwave. The bathroom was large and the shower was excellent.
In the morning, breakfast was in the spacious lobby - waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, and probably toast or bagels, but I didn't have any, so can't say for sure.
We talked with someone who saw the rooms at Tenaya, and these rooms at Shilo Inn were much larger AND included breakfast and Internet, unlike Tenaya.
We did not use the pool or the hot tub, but they looked to be functional.
We were happy with our choice and had a restful night.
If you are planning to go through Yosemite, this would be a good place to stay because it's not that far from the park entrance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsightDotcom, General Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Porpie,

Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. It is always appreciated, to read a positive review, with 5 stars!
We sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Thank-you
Debbie Mackey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    265
    107
    32
    16
See reviews for
174
241
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here were very large. More than a standard hotel room. The rooms were showing their age, but there was evidence of updating as well, so not bad.
There were 2 sinks in the room - 1 standard sink & 1 kitchen-style one. Also a micro. & fridge.

The rooms were clean. I always check for bedbugs -none here.

Noise was a problem. I could hear a lot of noise from the people above us even towards midnight. I could also hear people in the hallways in the morning.

The outdoor pool was nice. There's also a hot tub which was super hot.

Nice breakfast buffet.

Wifi was good.

Reception staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

They were making improvements to the pool and hot tub while we were there. My hsband and I were on our anniversary trip. Even though the place was older, the rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast was better than most. It was only thirty minutes or so to Yosemite. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here in late May 2012 for one night while driving to San Francisco. The hotel is about a 30 minute drive from Yosemite national park which was very convenient.

The hotel itself shows it's age and can probably do with a makeover in the next few years. The bathroom was very small and the room was massive, the sink for the bathroom was outside it, in the actual bedroom which is something I have never seen before and isn't the most convenient thing.

The hotel suited us for the one night we stayed there. If you are looking for a lovely place to have dinner, take a 10 minute drive to Bass lake for a beautiful dinner while the sun sets.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawatha, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very nice hotel for the area...very eager to help! Good breakfast. Good base point for Yosemite park. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stay: 1 night
Room: 427 (2 queen beds)

Pro:
- Free Wifi
- Swimming pool but small
- Room was very quiet
- Big and clean room
- Good value for money

Con:
- Breakfast was organized in seperated rooms therefore you had to walk thru a lot of rooms to get all stuff.

...............................................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for a night as our base into Yosemite National Park. Our room (a standard room) was huge and was more like a suite than your usual hotel room. There was a kitchenette with a microwave as well. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was simple, and included a waffle maker where you could make your own waffles. Otherwise there was no hot food at breakfast.

You still need your own wheels to get into Yosemite National Park. Parking is free at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn - Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.