We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Inn by the River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Inn by the River to your Saves list
Queen's Inn by the River
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   41139 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groesbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After having difficulties to find the place we were received by completely uninterested staff. Rooms were not clean, stains on carpet.
Breakfast was hardly there. Again next morning staff didn't give any attention.

Most disappointing hotel in our trip in California/US. Far too expensive for what you get. Pictures on site give no real idea how mediocre this place is.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensinn, Owner at Queen's Inn by the River, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Disappointed,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were feeling neglected upon your arrival. Our staff usually gets very high compliments for their attentiveness. If you read some of the previous reviews you will see that our staff are more than happy to help or offer ANY assistance to our guests upon arrival and throughout their stay. We offer a light continental breakfast as stated on our website. As for our rooms, they are cleaned each and EVERY day with fresh linens, floors vacuumed, rooms dusted, bathrooms cleaned, disinfected with fresh soaps and towels provided. Carpet stains happen on occasion due to coffee or liquid spills. We try to get our cleaning service in as soon as these carpet casualties occur.
Once again, Thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    46
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
94
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The name of this motel gives a misleading impression of what to expect. It is really a motel - not a fancy inn and the river is really a little stream a few hundred yards down a hill and not visible from the rooms. The rooms are large with limited facilities and the breakfast provided was basic.
We felt that the price was quite high for the standard of the room - but probably compared to other places in the Yosemite area - the size of the room and its facilities were pretty good. It is about a 30 minute drive to the south entrance of Yosemite.
One of the best thing about the Queen's Inn is that it was situated just behind the Sweetwater Restaurant which is a fantastic place - and you can walk to and roll back down the hill very easily afterwards!
The manager of the Queen's Inn (Dave) was very a nice and helpful guy. We grew to like the place but our initial impression was that it wasn't as grand as we were led to believe by the name and the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the place to be a good place to explore the Yosemite Park. The place is a renovated Motel so it still has that motel-style but it is tucked away from the street and has a really nice garden on the back. All rooms have a patio facing the big garden in which a small stream is running and which we found really relaxing.

Rooms and bathrooms are quite big and wheelchair-accessible. The Inn is located a few minutes drive from the village of Oakhurst with restaurants and supermarkets. The entrance to Yosemite is about 40 Minutes drive and Yosemite village about 1.5 hours away.

All in all a good place. Compared to other places in Oakhurst we thought this was one of the best options. Staff was friendly and helpful too. But: The breakfast is a joke. Prepare to buy some outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This very quiet motel in Oakhurst, CA is a low to medium priced gem. For about $130 a night including a large comfortable room, a continental breakfast, wireless internet access, access to their very nice wine bar in late April and about 13 miles from S. Yosemite, it is a huge value! Although I'm pretty sure this is not a regular occurrence, we also had a GREAT Friday night jazz concert on the wine bar terrace. For us, this was a WOW. The only negative - it is off Hwy 41, out of site, and the signage is difficult to spot. Pay attention to the street address instead of looking for a sign.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night while on business in Oakhurst. Nice spot! Winery on premise makes some great wines! The also have a very interesting beer assortment in the bar. The rooms are awesome and really clean. Great place for a couple and gay friendly

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our time touring Yosemite was enhanced by evenings and mornings at Queen's Inn. We stayed in Room 5 and enjoyed solitude there for two days. We had pleasant conversation with the desk clerk each morning while enjoying oatmeal, fresh fruits and muffins. The lobby is furnished like a cabin with numerous books about the area and lovely photographs framed with barn wood. The room had a comfortable king-sized bed that would be suitable for a very tall guest. It was spacious, furnished sparingly. The microwave and refrigerator were in a closet by the front door. The closet was large enough to store luggage, thus making it easy to keep the room tidy. The bathroom has a triangular soaking tub with overhead shower head. The grounds behind the inn, accessible from the porch, were beautiful. This is a tranquil and romantic place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had a wonderful two day excursion with my boyfriend. We chose to stay at the Queens Inn in Oakhurst one night.
Let me first say that I work in a very close location and chose The Queens Inn on a recommendation from the locals over my place of employment. The Queens Inn was more than I expected. We stayed in room 5, it was the corner room, very clean, has an adorable fireplace and setup was exceptional. The outside deck space was extremley private. We went for a walk on their gravel path near the river bed an the outside grounds were very well kept up even for being in the middle of winter.

Rocky the owner was easy to talk too, actually a joy to work with. You can tell he truly enjoys his place and takes pride in his inn!

A definate must do again!!

Thank you

Room Tip: Room 5 was a great room. It is the corner room so, it had a more private deck space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.7 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
13.2 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Hounds Tooth Inn
Hounds Tooth Inn
#7 of 11 in Oakhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn by the River

Address: 41139 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen's Inn by the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 13 miles from the Southern entrance to Yosemite National Park and seven miles from Bass Lake; relax at the new Queen's Inn on five landscaped and wooded acres along the river. Each beautifully appointed room has its own deck or patio. Enjoy a light continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to visit our Wine & Beer Garden with its selection of over seventy-five wines and many imported beers, open Wed-Saturday evenings from 4-10 pm. Guests receive complimentary wine tasting in our onsite boutique winery, Idle Hour Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Queen's Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Inn by the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.