We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average At Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Gateway Restaurant

Yosemite Gateway Restaurant
40530 Highway 41, Yosemite Gateway Inn, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
559-641-2477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 45 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve american food at reasonable prices. We offer our hotel guests a 25% discount for breakfast. Open for Breakfast and Dinner. We have a full service Lounge.
California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Average At Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have eaten here several times and have generally found the food to be not exciting (bland, dry, little taste) The restaurant itself is very cozy on the inside and looks like it would be great -- however we have not been impressed -- I am sure glad for those who have found it great. We think a change in chefs/cooks would be great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    53
    34
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Yosemite Gateway Restaurant..more like a Culinary Gateway to Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have eaten in all types of Restaurants across the country, but I was EXTREMELY surprised about this gem of a restaurant!
This restaurant was pleasing enough to look at, a treat for those with an appreciation for the kitschy touches inside, and the Hostess greeted us with a big smile and a hello.
We were seated at a nicely appointed table with a beautiful view of the Oakhurst Mountains.
The menu offered a large selection of different items..from a Grilled Cheese and Tomato Sandwich, to a Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon.
We chose the El Capitan Grilled Chicken Sandwich and the 3 Cheese Macaroni and Cheese.
The sandwich was INCREDIBLE! Plated exquisitely, and overflowing with the best grilled chicken sandwich west of the Rocky Mountains, we were in heaven..that is until we tried the 3 Cheese Macaroni with smoked Gouda...Blissfully creamy al-dente pasta, bathed in a delicate sauce, melted in our mouth! There was so much food, we took home two containers. We had to try the dessert menu..DO NOT MISS the Brownie Sundae!! INCREDIBLE!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“steak of the year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've ordered and have enjoyed many steaks worldwide. This was the second best steak I've EVER had in my 40+ years of eating. No extra sauces or seasoning were required and would have actually diminished the perfection of flavors that melted in my mouth as I traveled to flavor heaven with each succulent bite. The service was top notch as well. Friendly, knowledgeable and full of good spirit, our server treated us with a dining experience we will not soon forget. Oh and try the Potato Boat (extra spicy) it was super tasty to start of the night. You guys were awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
1 review
“Good food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed out meal. Food was good and our waitress, Laura, provided excellent service and conversation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Acceptable, pleasant restaurant; really 3+”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were exhausted after driving from Minden, Nevada so decided to try this restaurant for dinner. The food was fine, not memorable, a bit expensive but the service was great. My son enjoyed his hamburger and fries, husband liked his tri-cut steak. We left the next morning and skipped a possible wait for breakfast so I can't comment on that meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Gateway Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Gateway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Gateway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.