We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying the Gringo Price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bocelli's Ristorante & Pizzeria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bocelli's Ristorante & Pizzeria
1505 W F St, Oakdale, CA 95361-3555
209-848-8749
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paying the Gringo Price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The one entre we ordered was good. But, it was $68 for the small bowl of penne pasta and a bottle of water. Beware of this place because they charge the Gringo Price and they can get away with it, because what are you going to do? You have to pay it or they call the police. AVOID this restaurant which is pretty easy since it is not on the main road, but for me, someone who is a recent ex-pat in the area, I now know better. AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Fantastic wait staff, friendly and hard working. Great food and INCREDIBLE Chocolate cake! I could live on this cake! The waitress and waiter were friendly and made us feel welcome and as if we were at a friend's home instead of a restaurant! It was a Tuesday night and there were about 18 people in there yet they were able to spend time talking with us like they had known us for years.

The outside of the restaurant is very understated, it sits next to a Circle K and just looks like a storefront. Inside, the fountain, the golden colored curtains and the wonderful murals made us feel special. Very classy.

And two people for dinner, with wine and (shared) dessert, was only $50!!

We will definitely be back!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprised me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in Oakdale for the night on the way to Yosimite, and needed to find place for dinner.

After reading some Trip advisor reports we decided on Bocelli's, but didn't expect too much since it's in a strip mall in a small town.

We arrived early on a Sunday right after a town festival concluded......some chocolate festival which I never discovered why was being held in Oakdale....


Only a couple of other tables were occupied, but we ordered salads and pasta pomodoro and the cioppino.

Wow, was I surprised! I eat out quite a bit since I travel in my business. I also love to cook, so I think I am a pretty good judge of good food. This was good.

Go to Bocelli's if you want a good Italian meal..... Good food, good service, and the owner's daughter is nice!!!!


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hometown restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

We have wanted to try this little restaurant for the year and a half that we have lived here. It is now our favorite. As I was praising the co-owner for the lack of televisions (one of my pet peeves), she went on to tell me that they use only organic chicken and grass fed beef and locally grown veggies. Hey make their own pasta and bread and she went on to add that they use no canned product. The restaurant is not fancy but it is clean. Weekends are by reservation only from what Helen was telling us. They are only open for dinner and have a limited menu which I like because it means less chance of old food being served.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely wall murals, feels like Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We originally tried this restaurant through Restaurants.com. We wouldn't have known about it otherwise. The food is excellent, the service was good and friendly and we really enjoyed our visit. So much so, we went again for birthdays and anniversaries. It is our "Special" restaurant for those special meals. The pricing is reasonable and that is the bonus for our "Special" place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocelli's Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocelli's Ristorante & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.