We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed in this Marriott as I had a free night to use, so can't comment on the cost. My adult sonn and I needed to stay somewhere between Santa Rosa and San Francisco for one night. This fit the bill. I'm not a fussy traveler, and had no complaints. Very comfortable beds and chairs. I was able to look at the GoBoard touch screens and find out about some nearby wineries and print out directions, though I really didn't need them printed; easy enough to find. I appreciated the Sonoma Visitor's map and SF map, as well, and the help from the front desk. I did have French toast for breakfast there, and it was fine. I didn't get to try out the spa or exercise room; wish I'd brought workout clothes and a bathing suit... I did not use room service, but I can't seem to unclick this!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
37
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I think this Courtyard in Novato is a GREAT affordable option for exploring the wine country. It's right off the 101 and in 20 - 30 minutes you can be to the south ends of Sonoma and Napa valleys or up to Healdsburg and the Russian River Valley. The hotel has nice rooms and the restaurant downstairs has a great selection of food - breakfast, lunch and dinner - and everything I've had tasted great. Yes, it's a little overpriced, but that's the case for every hotel I've ever stayed in… you are paying for convenience. If you don't want to pay for that, right behind the hotel is a grocery store and shopping center with restaurants. Plenty of options nearby. Staff has always been very friendly and the rooms are nice. For the value and location, I think it's a great option when visiting the wine country.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here two nights, room was ready upon arrival. The room was clean and bright. Washroom was clean, also pretty basic. The location worked really well for my purposes. Free parking, and having the Safeway so close was also a plus. This hotel met my expectations I would stay here again if in Novato.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice bed and linens. Breakfast was not included but they had a modern cafe. For the price we expected breakfast to be included. The food in the cafe was overpriced. Not too impressed with the amenities. Quick check in/out. Free parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding the quality of your stay. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the value of our Bistro. We are pleased to hear, however, that you enjoyed our bedding and free parking. We hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The ladies at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean. But there was some mold next to the tub in one of them. The overal standard is ok as one should expect at this price range. The hotel shows signs of wear and tear. The Larkspur courtyard seems to be a bit better in quality and location, which comes at a higher cost.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback regarding the condition of your room. We are pleased that you found our staff both friendly and helpful. We hope that you consider us again should your travel plans bring you to the Marin/Sonoma area. Thank you.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights in Novato. The rooms, esp. the bathroom need some renovation, but since some years only the television sets get upgraded. Rooms are noisy, no matter which Part of the building: either the Safeway or the parking lot are noisy from very early on.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We would like to apologize for the experience in which you have described in your review. It is our goal for every guest to have a pleasant experience and good night’s rest. We also value your opinions on the how our rooms appear and appreciate your comments. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future should your travel plans return you to the Novato area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Location is superb. The property is beautifully laid out and in immaculate condition. When I arrived there had been a mishap with my reservation by Marriott website and the hotel was almost full to capacity. I received excellent and professional service from the front desk person - Penny Nann - who took care of the problem. I found the other staff to be excellent as well. This is a very well run Marriott property and I recommend it anyone looking for excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
5.3 mi away
San Francisco-Days Inn Novato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Address: 1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin Sonoma
Novato Courtyard
Novato Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.