We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although we prefer Residence Inn, this was the only Marriott in the area that was included in a free night promo. We used it simply as a place to rest during our two-week road trip. We remembered why Courtyard is not our favorite, as it's tailored more towards business class. The rooms are small, but Marriott clean and very friendly staff. There is a Marriott-priced restaurant in the lobby, but there is also a grocery store and a few restaurants nearby. The hotel is near the main road, so light sleepers should request a quiet room. Fine for a one-night stay and you can't go wrong with Marriott.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
26
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is actually owned and operated by Marriott International (versus an owner licensing the Marriott brand), which means the quality is just as the Marriott family intended.

What's good:
1. Great beds
2. Convenient market and common rooms
3. 24/7 gym
4. Excellent staff
5. Super close to a mall with really great food - try Toast (5-minute walk)

What's not good:
1. Not much to say
2. Not a luxury experience by any stretch of the imagination, but a very comfortable, clean, well-appointed stay. You really can't go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid noise from cars passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

never understood the differences between marriott and courtyard, but this is a pretty good place for its price. convenient, not too far away. safeway is nearby, even though the choice of restaurants is limited. hot tub and gym work fine. overall good value, but not as good as marriott fisherman wharf in SF.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for choosing Marriott for your recent visit in Novato. Marriott operates twenty different brands to meet the needs of the individual traveler. Courtyards are specifically designed for the business traveler and provide convenience and efficiency to our guests during their stay. A Marriott full-service such as the property that you referenced in Fisherman's Warf is also an excellent property. We are pleased that you enjoyed our locations and were satisfied by the value of your stay. Please consider us again in your future travels.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great, but a VERY ANNOYING thing about it is that if you choose to watch a movie and pay $17 for it, ya can't HEAR IT! The MAXIMUM sound on the television is RIDICULOUSLY LOW! I know people don't stay at hotels to rent movies and/or watch tv, but in the evening, when winding down, it's nice to maybe watch tv or a movie and I can't tell you how frustrating it was to not be able to hear it clearly! It's even worse if there is some noise coming from outside or the room next door! It doesn't seem important until you are trying to watch something. Bring your own entertainment device...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about this difficulty with the TV volume. We certainly understand your frustration. Should you ever undergo a similar situation, we welcome you to inform our staff, so that we may rectify the issue. Marriott considers quality service and comfort paramount for our guests during their stay. Should you have any further comments or questions, we request that you contact us directly. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that, ultimately, you were satisfied with our location and the hospitality of our staff. We hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Marriott Courtyards remodeled their properties over the past few years. They now have a clean, minimalist decor and all look very similar. This particular property was a 10 in cleanliness and front desk check-in. I now prefer the King extended room over the regular-size rooms. It does make a difference. We have stayed at the Best Western Plus in Novato (loud freeway noise and dark halkways) and Embassy Suites in San Rafael (rooms worn and outdated). We like this hotel best for the area.

Negatives: I agree with another reviewer that the Jacuzzi is oddly situated in a small room, with a full wall of windows looking into the workout room. Makes a person feel a bit self-conscious. Also, the towels are thin and rough. PLEASE get better towels Courtyard Marriott!! The restaurant is very limited. I recommend 'Toast' for breakfast or lunch, one exit North on 101.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our newly remodeled lobby and Bistro. We are sorry, however, that you were not wholly satisfied with our towels and the location of our spa. We are in the process of phasing out our old towels and replacing them with our new towels, which are both soft and durable. Thank you for your suggestion concerning our Extended King guest rooms. The spacious design and additional amenities of these rooms certainly provides an extra level of comfort to one’s stay. Please come stay with us again soon.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staff was helpfull to guiding us places. The lobby was very nice. In this area all the prices are high. Good location to San Fransico and the vineyards. A good "chain" place to stay. There is not alot of things within walking distance, although there is a McDonalds. We were with friends so we could sit and visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory; our location is certainly a major asset to our hotel. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for four days during our trip to SFO. We wanted someplace nicer near the city without city prices. The front desk staff upon arrival were completely useless. We arrived early and had to wait a half hour to check in since housekeeping won't update the room list until 12:30. We asked about transportation into the city and both of the desk clerks had no idea of any options and referred us to the computers in the lobby to seek it out ourselves. Our room was near the back so we never went through the lobby again. We left in the morning for sightseeing and came home in the evening to relax. The pool area at this propery is really great. There is a lovely firepit with chairs around it for relaxing in the evening. The hot tub is inside and surrounded by windows. It was a weird feeling to get in and have everyone in the workout room watching you as well as the hotel lobby. We didn't go back. The rooms are spacious and adequate. The beds and linens were wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. The room rate was pricey but it is Napa so I figured it would be high. Not as expensive as staying in the city, so that was a plus. We loved the breakfast place located right behind the hotel in the Safeway shopping center, "toast". It is a perfect breakfast spot. If traveling through the area, we would probably stay again.

Room Tip: A room in the back that overlooks the pool is a nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your initial interaction, but are pleased that you found your room comfortable and the adjacent shopping center convenient and enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you consider us again in your future travels.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Address: 1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin Sonoma
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.