We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a good night's sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a good night's sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was travelling on business for an event at the Sonoma Raceway and stayed here due to the proximity. The room rate was quite high for a Courtyard Marriott but I believe it was due to the race. The front desk staff were very helpful and hospitable. Thank you to the General Manager who allowed my boxes of supplies to occupy his office before my arrival! The room was comfortable and clean, I was well rested in the morning. It was nice to be able to enjoy a Starbucks latte before my event each morning...great plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and our staff accommodating and hospitable. Lastly, I was very happy to accommodate your supply boxes and please come stay with us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
23
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A typically fine chain biz hotel along the lines of a Hilton Garden Inn. Nice lobby. Some parts of the room a bit tired, but certainly acceptable. This hotel is located close enough to the Napa wine valley and close enough to San Francisco to make both a destination, by car. I suppose that is what you're paying for as it was a good $60 or so more than what I'd usually expect to be charged for such a night's stay. Stay off the freeway side for best quiet. The convenient part about this hotel is that it's right in the middle of a shopping area. McDonald's next door. Safeway grocery store. Gas station. And several non-chain, strip-mall restaurants that are pretty good. Nice staff. Everything I want and expect in a chain biz hotel. Just make sure the room rate is OK for you. If there were a similar competitor just up the road, and cheaper, I'd go the extra distance.

Room Tip: Stay off the freeway side for best quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not wholly satisfied with your stay. We are pleased, however, that you found the nearby Hamilton Marketplace and the close vicinity of San Francisco and the Wine Country to be so convenient.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Room was clean with nice linens; plenty of good restaurant choices nearby. We were in route from Eureaka to Monterey and didn't want to stay in the city, so we chose Novato as a stopping point after a long drive down the coast. The hotel is located near a large shopping center with lots of restaurants and a Safeway, so we were able to grab dinner and some fruit and yogurt for breakfast. Not sure I'd want to make this my base for visiting the Bay area, but was fine for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were able to utilize some of the surrounding shops and restaurants. When making a decision regarding accessibility, keep in mind that our location is not only proximate to San Francisco, but to the Wine Country as well. Thank you for your feedback and we encourage you to come stay with us again soon.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We made a last minute reservation here on the way back from Northern CA. Our intent was to get close to SFO Airport without having to stay overnight in the city. The building is located in a shopping center, very close to a McDonalds, but we were pleasantly surprised by the bright, colorful lobby/commons area. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The only problem we had was with noise coming through the ceiling. It sounded like a bunch of kids were jumping off their beds. After 15 minutes, we phoned the front desk to request an intervention. It took another 15 or 20 minutes for the noise to abate. Not sure if the staff ever initiated a call to the room, or if the kids simply got tired and stopped.

Breakfast was decent, but not great value. At checkout, the desk clerk gave us a helpful routing suggestion for our trip to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room both comfortable and spacious. We are sorry to hear about the noise level, but thank you for informing us, thereby giving us an opportunity to alleviate the issue. Rest assured that our staff immediately addresses all noise complaints. Thank you for your feedback and please come see us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriotts (1000+ lifetime nights). While the room furniture is the standard fare you see in Courtyard after Courtyard, this place is a dump. The room just fields old and dirty (it was clean, but feels dirty). I was "upgraded" to a room with a jet tub. Hated it. Tub is in the bedroom and makes the room smell damp and moldy. Clearly another room nearby had a jet tub as well because I could hear when it was turned on - very loud. The staff is friendly and the lobby has been remodeled. But the room is years overdue for a remodel. The only good thing I can say about it is that the bed was very comfortable. I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a jet/spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your room was less than satisfactory. Although certain rooms within our hotel include tubs, none include tubs with jets (either in the room or in the bathroom). Although we would like to help you resolve this issue, without the presence of jet tubs to inspect, we ask that you verify the location in which you stayed and contact us directly for any further remarks.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Courtyards feel pretty much the same no matter where you go. They pretty much all share the same exterior and interior though some feel a little nicer, a little fresher and that is the case with this Courtyard (the rooms are fresh and clean and all of the furniture and equipment is not worn down and in good working order). This Courtyard also has all those usual Courtyard touches like a 24-hr fitness center, free business center, free Wi-Fi, and free parking. This Courtyard is also located adjacent to a shopping plaza if you need to pick up a forgotten item or want to grab a meal outside of the hotel.

This hotel's location can be very convenient depending on what you are doing. Sonoma County and Napa Valley are both big areas and this property is a 15 to 45 minute drive to most Sonoma County spots and a 35 to 50 minute drive to most Napa Valley spots. Those might seem like long drives, but several Marriott brand properties in this area are either close to Napa or close to Sonoma and room rates at this Courtyard are pretty much always less than the Napa Valley Marriott and SpringHill Suites Napa and often the same or less than the Fairfield Inn Napa American Canyon.

Pros: Definitely a Courtyard property but a nice one, great location if you are splitting time between Sonoma County and Napa Valley, free Wi-Fi, free parking, better A/C units than a lot of Courtyards, reasonable weekend room rates for a nice wine country area hotel

Cons: If there is a specific place in Napa or Sonoma you are looking to spend a lot of your time, you are probably going to be in for a long drive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. For over 80 years, Marriott has prided itself on being the leader in the lodging industry, striving to provide quality service and accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you found our location ideal for your Wine Country travels. Thank you for your review and we encourage you to stay with us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very clean and modern, and the staff is very helpful. I have stayed in a lot of Courtyards and this was probably one of the nicest I've been in. My only criticism is that the bathroom could have used more counter space. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, and they have a small bistro in the lobby that sells very good breakfasts. It is very easy to get to/from the race track at Sonoma, as highway 37 is one exit north of the hotel and is divided, 4-lane road up to highway 121 at the turn-off to the track. No snaking around 2-lane country roads to Sonoma, Napa, or Petaluma. Although the hotel is close to highway 101, the noise isn't a problem. There is a Safeway just north of the hotel, easy walking distance.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about freeway noise, ask for a room on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. The close proximity to the Sonoma Raceway, our Bistro, and the nearby Safeway are great assets to our hotel and we are happy that your trip was simplified by these amenities. We encourage you to come see us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Address: 1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin Sonoma
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.