We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, clean, comfortable - good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Courtyard.com
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Demarest, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bright, clean, comfortable - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We made a last minute reservation here on the way back from Northern CA. Our intent was to get close to SFO Airport without having to stay overnight in the city. The building is located in a shopping center, very close to a McDonalds, but we were pleasantly surprised by the bright, colorful lobby/commons area. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The only problem we had was with noise coming through the ceiling. It sounded like a bunch of kids were jumping off their beds. After 15 minutes, we phoned the front desk to request an intervention. It took another 15 or 20 minutes for the noise to abate. Not sure if the staff ever initiated a call to the room, or if the kids simply got tired and stopped.

Breakfast was decent, but not great value. At checkout, the desk clerk gave us a helpful routing suggestion for our trip to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room both comfortable and spacious. We are sorry to hear about the noise level, but thank you for informing us, thereby giving us an opportunity to alleviate the issue. Rest assured that our staff immediately addresses all noise complaints. Thank you for your feedback and please come see us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
20
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriotts (1000+ lifetime nights). While the room furniture is the standard fare you see in Courtyard after Courtyard, this place is a dump. The room just fields old and dirty (it was clean, but feels dirty). I was "upgraded" to a room with a jet tub. Hated it. Tub is in the bedroom and makes the room smell damp and moldy. Clearly another room nearby had a jet tub as well because I could hear when it was turned on - very loud. The staff is friendly and the lobby has been remodeled. But the room is years overdue for a remodel. The only good thing I can say about it is that the bed was very comfortable. I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a jet/spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your room was less than satisfactory. Although certain rooms within our hotel include tubs, none include tubs with jets (either in the room or in the bathroom). Although we would like to help you resolve this issue, without the presence of jet tubs to inspect, we ask that you verify the location in which you stayed and contact us directly for any further remarks.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Courtyards feel pretty much the same no matter where you go. They pretty much all share the same exterior and interior though some feel a little nicer, a little fresher and that is the case with this Courtyard (the rooms are fresh and clean and all of the furniture and equipment is not worn down and in good working order). This Courtyard also has all those usual Courtyard touches like a 24-hr fitness center, free business center, free Wi-Fi, and free parking. This Courtyard is also located adjacent to a shopping plaza if you need to pick up a forgotten item or want to grab a meal outside of the hotel.

This hotel's location can be very convenient depending on what you are doing. Sonoma County and Napa Valley are both big areas and this property is a 15 to 45 minute drive to most Sonoma County spots and a 35 to 50 minute drive to most Napa Valley spots. Those might seem like long drives, but several Marriott brand properties in this area are either close to Napa or close to Sonoma and room rates at this Courtyard are pretty much always less than the Napa Valley Marriott and SpringHill Suites Napa and often the same or less than the Fairfield Inn Napa American Canyon.

Pros: Definitely a Courtyard property but a nice one, great location if you are splitting time between Sonoma County and Napa Valley, free Wi-Fi, free parking, better A/C units than a lot of Courtyards, reasonable weekend room rates for a nice wine country area hotel

Cons: If there is a specific place in Napa or Sonoma you are looking to spend a lot of your time, you are probably going to be in for a long drive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. For over 80 years, Marriott has prided itself on being the leader in the lodging industry, striving to provide quality service and accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you found our location ideal for your Wine Country travels. Thank you for your review and we encourage you to stay with us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very clean and modern, and the staff is very helpful. I have stayed in a lot of Courtyards and this was probably one of the nicest I've been in. My only criticism is that the bathroom could have used more counter space. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, and they have a small bistro in the lobby that sells very good breakfasts. It is very easy to get to/from the race track at Sonoma, as highway 37 is one exit north of the hotel and is divided, 4-lane road up to highway 121 at the turn-off to the track. No snaking around 2-lane country roads to Sonoma, Napa, or Petaluma. Although the hotel is close to highway 101, the noise isn't a problem. There is a Safeway just north of the hotel, easy walking distance.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about freeway noise, ask for a room on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. The close proximity to the Sonoma Raceway, our Bistro, and the nearby Safeway are great assets to our hotel and we are happy that your trip was simplified by these amenities. We encourage you to come see us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our stay was good. Our initial view of the hotel lobby, room and bathroom seemed spotless. We went up to drop our daughter off at SSU and saw other parents staying there doing the same. Although it's 25 minutes or so to SSU it was worth the cost as the decent local hotel was asking almost twice as much - incredible. We loved the Novato area and the town too. There are many places to eat within walking distance and in the downtown. We got a King size bed w/sofa sleeper. Our daughter was only going to be with us one night. By the time we got back to the room the first night and pulled out the sleeper - it had a huge stain on the mattress. I don't know how anyone could have missed it. We did notify the front desk the next day but we could not sleep on it and my husband (took one for the team) slept on the floor instead. I hope they changed out the mattress - room 331. Other than that - we loved the hotel and plan to stay again but will check things out a little earlier in the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Your feedback has been very informative regarding the condition of the mattress and we are very sorry to learn that your husband had to sleep on the floor. We have investigated this issue and rest assured that the mattress on the sleeper sofa has been addressed. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the nearby restaurants and shopping centers while visiting your daughter, and, ultimately found the rest of your stay satisfactory. We sincerely thank you for your feedback and we hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

In an area where there is a large tourist population, this is one of the finest choices for a stay of a couple of nights. We visit our daughter, her husband and their family as often as possible, but this is the only hotel nearby that we have found that fits our tastes. The location, next to a couple of really fine restaurants (especially Toast) and just off of 101, is surprisingly quiet. Between Santa Rosa, Petaluma and what the locals call "The City", what really calls us are the smaller towns and country roads between the freeway and the coast.
Staff members are very pleasant and very well versed on the area's attractions - of which there are many.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the quiet side of the hotel. We were on the southeast side. Though it was ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was so enjoyable. Our location is a major asset to our hotel – and our staff is certainly pleased to explain and illustrate any of the many attractions in the North Marin district. We appreciate your loyalty and encourage you to stay with us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the nicest Courtyard I've ever stayed in. Came here with ten colleagues for a work meeting. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. The rooms were nice and spotless (I was in 202, which is a king suite). Service was stellar (we came back from a day in Sonoma with wine, they chilled it at the Bistro and then came out to the patio with it on ice!). Amenities are more than expected - terrace with ping pong, fire pit, cornhole (bean bag toss for non Midwesterners), nice pool, bistro (with Starbucks coffee), gym (small but ok for a short workout). For someone on a budget, this would be a great place for getting into San Fran or wine country! Would definitely stay here again and I'm a pretty picky traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Receiving positive feedback is always greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was so enjoyable and that you were able to make use of some of our amenities such as the fire pit, bean bag toss, and pool. These amenities, and many more, are certainly a part of what makes our brand so unique! At the Courtyard in Novato, we strive to provide each guest with professionalism and personal service and are happy that you have been able to experience this firsthand!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin Sonoma
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County
Address: 1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.