We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for lodging if attending races at Sonoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Granite Bay, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good choice for lodging if attending races at Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very clean and modern, and the staff is very helpful. I have stayed in a lot of Courtyards and this was probably one of the nicest I've been in. My only criticism is that the bathroom could have used more counter space. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, and they have a small bistro in the lobby that sells very good breakfasts. It is very easy to get to/from the race track at Sonoma, as highway 37 is one exit north of the hotel and is divided, 4-lane road up to highway 121 at the turn-off to the track. No snaking around 2-lane country roads to Sonoma, Napa, or Petaluma. Although the hotel is close to highway 101, the noise isn't a problem. There is a Safeway just north of the hotel, easy walking distance.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about freeway noise, ask for a room on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. The close proximity to the Sonoma Raceway, our Bistro, and the nearby Safeway are great assets to our hotel and we are happy that your trip was simplified by these amenities. We encourage you to come see us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    33
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
34
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our stay was good. Our initial view of the hotel lobby, room and bathroom seemed spotless. We went up to drop our daughter off at SSU and saw other parents staying there doing the same. Although it's 25 minutes or so to SSU it was worth the cost as the decent local hotel was asking almost twice as much - incredible. We loved the Novato area and the town too. There are many places to eat within walking distance and in the downtown. We got a King size bed w/sofa sleeper. Our daughter was only going to be with us one night. By the time we got back to the room the first night and pulled out the sleeper - it had a huge stain on the mattress. I don't know how anyone could have missed it. We did notify the front desk the next day but we could not sleep on it and my husband (took one for the team) slept on the floor instead. I hope they changed out the mattress - room 331. Other than that - we loved the hotel and plan to stay again but will check things out a little earlier in the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Your feedback has been very informative regarding the condition of the mattress and we are very sorry to learn that your husband had to sleep on the floor. We have investigated this issue and rest assured that the mattress on the sleeper sofa has been addressed. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the nearby restaurants and shopping centers while visiting your daughter, and, ultimately found the rest of your stay satisfactory. We sincerely thank you for your feedback and we hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

In an area where there is a large tourist population, this is one of the finest choices for a stay of a couple of nights. We visit our daughter, her husband and their family as often as possible, but this is the only hotel nearby that we have found that fits our tastes. The location, next to a couple of really fine restaurants (especially Toast) and just off of 101, is surprisingly quiet. Between Santa Rosa, Petaluma and what the locals call "The City", what really calls us are the smaller towns and country roads between the freeway and the coast.
Staff members are very pleasant and very well versed on the area's attractions - of which there are many.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the quiet side of the hotel. We were on the southeast side. Though it was ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was so enjoyable. Our location is a major asset to our hotel – and our staff is certainly pleased to explain and illustrate any of the many attractions in the North Marin district. We appreciate your loyalty and encourage you to stay with us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the nicest Courtyard I've ever stayed in. Came here with ten colleagues for a work meeting. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. The rooms were nice and spotless (I was in 202, which is a king suite). Service was stellar (we came back from a day in Sonoma with wine, they chilled it at the Bistro and then came out to the patio with it on ice!). Amenities are more than expected - terrace with ping pong, fire pit, cornhole (bean bag toss for non Midwesterners), nice pool, bistro (with Starbucks coffee), gym (small but ok for a short workout). For someone on a budget, this would be a great place for getting into San Fran or wine country! Would definitely stay here again and I'm a pretty picky traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Receiving positive feedback is always greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was so enjoyable and that you were able to make use of some of our amenities such as the fire pit, bean bag toss, and pool. These amenities, and many more, are certainly a part of what makes our brand so unique! At the Courtyard in Novato, we strive to provide each guest with professionalism and personal service and are happy that you have been able to experience this firsthand!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Going to Sonoma Horsepark? Need a hotel? This is it!
Everything is here... Clean room, good food, diesel fuel and supermarket next door.... what more could you possibly need?
Closest hotel to Horsepark.... probably 10 miles....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your very kind review! We are pleased to hear that our location simplified and accommodated all of your needs while visiting the Sonoma Horsepark. Thank you for your loyalty and please come visit us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spacious, super clean and enjoyable room. Nice bath but the makeup area was a bit tight due to the closet. No problems there at all. However....our friend paid for this in advance for a present for us. When we got there they said they were changing the room to our name and took our credit card and ....billed US for it even thought she had already paid! Nice for them...we had to track her down and get her to sign a form. Rather embarassing for all and totally unnecessary. She had told them everything in advance. So Mariott got to use our money for 2 days...could have bounced some checks if we had been short on money in the bank!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. We understand that this impacted not only your own stay, but also the time of your friend as well. Here at Marriott, we do strive to ensure that each guest receive the exceptional service for which we have been recognized, for over 80 years. Rest assured that we will examine this situation and make efforts to minimize the probability of this situation occurring again. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, finding it both clean and spacious. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that you will consider us again in your future travels.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Closest Courtyard to where I needed to be on a business trip... Petaluma CA (about 20 min away). Like all modern Courtyard Marriott hotels, it has a modern lobby and refreshed room decor. Except for some black scuff marks on the carpet in my room, it was what I've come to expect from Courtyards in decor and cleanliness. It's "nice" but not luxurious. The hotel towels (like most Courtyards) are pitifully thin, but functional. A small lobby cafe to grab breakfast in, a workout room, spacious lobby area, and reasonably comfortable rooms. Mine had a king bed, sofa, and desk. The bathroom could have used a second light (it was a little dim for my taste), and the closet was small, but other than that it was certainly satisfactory. Plenty of open, free self-parking in a surface lot.

The hotel is on a secondary road that runs alongside Highway US 101, and is pretty easy to find. It's also situated next to a strip mall with a McDonalds, a Safeway grocery store, and a few restaurants -- check out Toast (delicious). There are several other strip malls within about 10 minutes drive, and Sonoma is about 20-25 min away. SFO is about 40-50 min away.

Staff was certainly friendly and professional, and I see no reason why I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have found our location to be so convenient, the staff experienced and helpful, and the rooms clean and enjoyable. Your comments concerning the bathroom lighting will certainly be addressed, and our towels have recently been replaced, so as to ensure that they are not only functional, but comfortable as well.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Address: 1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin Sonoma
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.