We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up 2 Marriott standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not up 2 Marriott standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Checked in after a 20 flight from one of Marriott's best hotels in former Soviet Georgia, Tbilisi into Marriott Courtyard. Pleasant enough checkin but in the room needed some care. At checkin I was told there would be a complimentary breakfast in the lobby. in the room, he sink would not drain and the coffee maker would only make one cup. The Internet in the room didn't work. I needed the sleep and went to leave and the breakfast layout was two muffins and a roll. I asked for a paper coffee cup and the man a the counter gave me one. I asked where the coffee was and was told, "You have to pay for that!"
I went to the front desk and a guest who was leaving was complaining about the same issues. Clerk: "Oh, you have to tell Corporate about that!" NOT up to Marriott Standards! Are you listening Corporate??

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
22
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I actually choose this hotel after seeing several others.
This hotel is right across the street from the main airporter main station (airporter is a convenient shuttle service for people in Marin county to access San Francisco international airport). So it is very convenient if you travel here by air plane.
Walk to the nearby groccery Safeway is just 3 min.
The gym and pool are in good condition, though they are a bit small.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have spent more than a week's worth of nights at this hotel in the past month and have been really pleased with my experience. It is super close to food and groceries, cheaper than staying in San Francisco and a pretty comfortable hotel. Rooms are well-appointed, beds are comfortable and the pool and hot tub area is REALLY nice. They even have an outdoor electric pit fire thingy.

Room Tip: Visit the Safeway on the other side of the hotel for a picnic-style lunch by the pool. They even hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Plenty of parking and very close to stores including a grocery store, gas station and restaurants. Within walking distance to McDonald's for quick and cheap bite to eat. No visible indications of the need for any updates or repairs. Check in desk staff was quick and accommodating with our special request to be close to our family's other room. Always pleasant. If the staff were talking with each other, they stopped immediately and greeted us with a smile every time we even merely looked in their direction. That is a commodity by itself. There is a restaurant, but we did not have the opportunity to eat there. It is a full service restaurant. The rooms were just as well kept as the lobby, elevator, sitting area, etc. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great along with having a large number of them! The rooms have a small refrigerator, temperature controlled room, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, iron and board, coffee and ample hangers, which was very unexpected. The towels were not the small ones you usually receive in hotels, either. They weren't big, but they weren't small, either. I was surprised to see the new size of bathing towels. Coffee and tea is served in the sitting area by the lobby every morning. They also have a small store in the lobby for items you may need or forgot to bring or want something to eat, which can be microwaved. They have a microwave in the same area. There is a large sitting area out by the pool with gas operated fire pit and other fire contraptions. This place is out of the city (San Francisco), but still close enough (about an hour). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is located between San Francisco and the wine country with easy access to either one. A Safeway store and McDonald's are within walking distance. Rooms are clean and spacious. Staff was kind and pleasant The outdoor firepit was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine outside in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice location in the Novato area amongst the hills. First time to the bay area. 20-25 minute drive into San Fran was not a problem and is virtually a straight shot on highway. California drivers would not get away with the way they tailgate in this area and I soon find out it is endemic to California as a whole if they were driving back east. Ignorant,selfish, foolhardy and VERY dangerous. That aside the Marriott sits next to a conveniently placed McDonalds and adjacent shopping area with a Safeway supermarket and various sundry stories and restaurants. the staff was great, front desk manager was exceptionally nice ( woman who was a transplant from the east whose name I forgot) room was clean and fresh. My only complaint that around noon after the atmosphere started to heat up I got a daily visit from a host of yellow jackets (bees). I was never in the room long enough to actually use the balcony for any length of time, so I never alerted the front desk for the next occupant. I'm sorry. Bad boy. Very quiet. Had good sleep.Overall nice property would stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk for a top floor before you arrive and one facing the entrance of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a very nicely done hotel which has some surprising disappointments. The location is great, next to a shopping center with a fine variety of restaurants to choose from. The interior has been renovated and looks great. BUT...
1 - for a $269 per night rate, you would certainly expect a microwave in the room in addition to the fridge which was installed.
2 - the bathroom sink shelving is much smaller and less convenient that in comparable hotels
3 - tight-fisted management might be the cause of free coffee not being available at all hours. Other Courtyards have it, last I checked.
4 - the in-room coffee maker is the OneShot model that makes bad coffee and is in too many Marriott facilities. A place with $269 rooms should offer the much better coffee pod machines.
5 - getting an arrival gift of an EIGHT oz bottle of water seems sort of cheap.
6 - the bathroom tub was marginally slippery; good management would have the maids put rubber shower mats in the room for those who would use one.
Bottom line - good facilities with short-comings inconsistent with the price. You might want to try the Best Western across the freeway which has a wonderful restaurant associated with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma

Address: 1400 N Hamilton Parkway, Novato, CA 94949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin Sonoma
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.