We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and a trip to your past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn Marin

Save Saved
You added Inn Marin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn Marin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Entrada Drive, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
encino, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming and a trip to your past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This motel is built somewhere in 1950 to 1960 and is clean and neat with a wonderful staff.
There are large grass areas in the garden area with a lovely and well kept pool.
Breakfast is a small buffet and is included in your room charge.
They have Wi-Fi and cable TV.

I stay there quite often and always enjoy my visits.

Ask for a room away from the freeway. Easy on and off of the 101.

Room Tip: Call in advance to get a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have helpful hints on being environmentally engaged.;
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    57
    17
    5
    11
See reviews for
42
50
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I'm am just wrapping up a second stay at the Inn Marin and all I can say is that I am glad my work is footing the bill. For a hotel that charges $150 plus a night, this is a major rip off. The freeway noise is out of this world. The TV reception in all rooms is horrible. The walls are paper thin so much I can hear the people next to me snoring and their entire phone conversations. It is clean but that is about the only plus. Oh and the restaurant is good. There are far better options in the area for the same price. Extreme disappointment.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Let me begin by saying that the Inn Marin use to be our "go to" place. Loved the old-time feel and the convenience of working across the garden area to eat a wonderful meal at Rickey's. However, based on our last stay, we won't be going back.
My husband and I stayed in room 110 in December 2013 for three nights. When we arrived at our room, the exterior entrance to the room was cluttered with dried, cut bushes. We had to move them to keep from tracking them into the room. During our stay the cuttings were never picked up.
But the real deal breaker was the cleanest of the room. We had two double beds. The top sheet on one bed had a tear in it and the bottom sheet on the other bed had a stain. They were clean but clearly worn out! The bathroom had a hair on the ceiling and mildew spots on the ceiling of the shower. When I closed the bathroom door, the woodwork on the back of the door was filthy. The hair dryer had been removed from the wall but management did not bother to paint the area where it had been so there so there was an area of mismatched paint. There was also a broken and used Q-tip on the front door sill when we opened the door to leave to dinner.
When we checked out I pointed these things out to the person at the front desk but they didn't seem to care. Unfortunately, the place has become run down and attention to detail lacking. We still love Rickey's but will not be stay at the Inn Marin again. Too bad, we use to love this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I got married here a year and half ago. The event planner was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious! The kitchen gladly made changes to the menu for dietary needs (everything was naturally gluten-free) and the chef was even willing to make an ethnic dish that we had requested. The location was great and the service was flawless. We had a wonderful time with no complaints. We highly recommend this location as a wedding venue, for its restaurant or for its overnight accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We got a puppy and now we have to find locations that accept dogs. Inn Marin is perfect for you and your dog. The rooms have a front and back door and all are on one level so easy in and out for walks and personal business for your pup. We ordered room service from the restaurant that is on sight called Rickey's and it was very good. There is a pool on sight and a huge grassy courtyard with benches and tree swings. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was very easy and located right in front of your room. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room furthest from the freeway and on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed one night as it was written up well in reviews. Our upgraded Garden Room did have an attempt to modernize recently but nothing was done to the actual structure so the 1950's glared through the cosmetics. A bamboo floor covered the slab but could not hide the rolling slope of the bedroom floor. Everything was very low to the ground. The seating, desk, toilet, bed height, etc. were all child-height. Doorways are narrow and short. Ceilings are low. The room was clean, The staff was gracious. The walls are paper-thin. We adjusted and just had fun and laughed lots.Room and property layout leaves much to be desired..

Room Tip: It'll do in a pinch if you can sleep through constant highway noise and don't mind hearing y...
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual signage on conserving, nothing more. I would not consider this a "Green" hotel. The air conditioning was on full blast when we entered the room at 8 pm and I immediately shut it off.as the room was too cold.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel is old and outdated. It is noisy and you can hear the other people in the rooms next to you. The walls are thin, the bathroom apt size and old. The best part was the restaurant next door Rickey's . I like comfort class and quiet. Inn at Marin did not deliver. Not for the price anyway. For the same price you can stay in the Best Wester or Marriott Courtyard which are much nicer. Maybe for $60-80 but not $138.00

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here ask for rooms all the way in the back. Farthest from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Address: 250 Entrada Drive, Novato, CA 94949
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, complimentary Wi-Fi in every room, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, bamboo shams and coverlets, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain. Boardroom - seats 8-12 conference style. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.