We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice slice of Marin County” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn Marin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn Marin to your Saves list
Inn Marin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Entrada Drive, Novato, CA 94949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice slice of Marin County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Comfy and clean motel-style accommodation, but with nice touches that exemplify them Marin County experience. Beautiful landscaped grounds, pool, ample rooms with California style design. Very, very comfortable and terrific value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. I am glad we could be a slice of your time in Marin County. We work very hard to be the cleanest hotel in Marin County using Vaska Botanical cleaning products. We are blessed to be on 5 Acres of gardens and trees with our pool in the middle of it all. Thank you again for choosing Inn Marin for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    61
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
45
51
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I travel to Novato on business twice a year. Have tried most of the local hotels. This one is by far my favorite. I have started bringing my daughter and grandson along just so they can enjoy the wonderful play space and pool. Love the local restaurant and the continental breakfasts (free) are much better than most. The rooms are clean and green.

Room Tip: Choose a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last year and when we checked into our room, which felt more like a rustic cabin, we were horrified to find crumbs on the wrinkled bed, crumbs on the wood floor, and a closet that had a curtain for a door. We were all the way in the back of the hotel and were afraid because it was extremely dark and felt unsafe. When we complained to the front desk attendant, she did not believe us that the room was as bad as we had described. We then asked for our money back and she said she would call the manager. When we spoke to the manager, she REFUSED to give us back our money and said that everyone loves their hotel. IF YOU ARE USE TO HOTELS THAT HAVE A GOOD REPUTATION AND HAVE CORPORATE POLICIES, THEN YOU SHOULD NOT STAY AT THIS INN. YOU ARE BETTER OFF STAYING AT THE MARRIOTT COURTYARD 3 MILES AWAY....YOU WILL BE GUARANTEED A CLEAN ROOM IN A SAFE AREA.

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms in this property. it is NOT a hotel. It is more like a motor inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments from your stay April 2013. We are equally frustrated with the third party reservations systems like you used, because we are not able to refund your money in the event that you are not satisfied. We encourage guests to book their reservations with us directly to avoid situations that are in the hands of third party booking sites who will not refund guest money if they have any problems. I truly apologize for our room not being appropriately cleaned before your stay. We strive to have the cleanest rooms, but this obviously was not the case when you stayed with us. We also go above and beyond what most other hotels do by completely stripping each bed ( Bed pad, sheets, Blanket and Bed spread) and wash everything every time a guest checks out no matter how long they stay with us. After each room is cleaned we have a Housekeeping Manager inspect every room to make sure our room is top quality.
There was no excuse for the crumbs in your room and I truly apologize for the inconvenience. I have met with all my front desk staff and Management and reviewed your experience. We have retrained and will make sure others will only have the best possible experience in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us so we can make our Boutique Inn a better place for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I spent eight nights, with my wife, at the Inn Marin, while visiting my son's family over Christmas. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. They even provided us with freezer space for frozen fish from Alaska that we were taking to friends in Texas. Room was very clean, and quiet. The hotel was within walking distance of my son's apartment, so we did not not need to spend a lot of time commuting. I would highly recommend the Inn Marin to anyone staying in Novato.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are farther from the highway and very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel really strives to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our second stay at this very pleasant hotel, and everything we liked the first time around was still in place--the lovely courtyard, with big trees and plenty of grass for kids and dogs to play on; a spacious, nicely furnished room (though, as other reviewers have noted, the bathrooms are small); a friendly staff; and "green" touches like shampoo and conditioner dispensers on the shower wall. Dinner at Rickey's, the affiliated restaurant, was very good, and the jazz combo added a cool vibe to our evening. The complimentary breakfast included juice, coffee/tea, do-it-yourself waffles, microwave oatmeal, assorted dry cereals, fruit, yogurt, and bagels. Considering the proximity to San Francisco, this is an excellent value. Do ask for a courtyard room, because the rooms on the highway side are defininitely noisier. Dog owners, in particular, will appreciate having such a pleasant place to stay with their pets in tow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This motel is a reminder of fine motor lodges of the past. The clean rooms are all on the ground level for easy access from your car. Lovely trees and lawn surround most of the rooms. There is a very good restaurant, Ricky's, on the premises. To visit the vineyards and come back to the Inn to outside dinning by the pool is awesome, (weather permitting). This motel is pet friendly, which is another plus. I would recommend this motel to any visitor to the bay area and the wine country. The staff is friendly and helpful. Thank you Inn Marin

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very nice. Most rooms are on the garden.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are doing there part through lighting and green space. Good job
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford, oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have stayed there several times. Moderately priced with onsite popular restaurant . We have not eaten there but it has a popular local following. Near a shopping center with cafes and restaurants Very welcoming to dogs. An older place with nice green area for children to play. Bathrooms very small but rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Address: 250 Entrada Drive, Novato, CA 94949
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, complimentary Wi-Fi in every room, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, bamboo shams and coverlets, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain. Boardroom - seats 8-12 conference style. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.