We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but works for 1 night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn of Novato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn of Novato to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn of Novato
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7600 Redwood Blvd, Novato, CA 94945 (Formerly Travelodge Novato)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Savings-Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Salinas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic, but works for 1 night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Walls are paper thin, hair all over the bathroom. It looked like someone wiped their greasy finger right on one of the wash rags and there was blood on one of the towels!!! Pretty creepy really. I come to this area often, and have stayed before. I put myself through it because its one of the only affordable places in the San Rafael areas. This was the worst time. The bed also smelled like it had been peed in. If you can afford a better place, take it!!! You won't appreciate this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    10
    8
    24
See reviews for
12
13
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a room reserved online and needed to have two beds. They doubled our price--charing another $60 for the second bed, $40 over their published price. The teenager working there was useless and this was our only option since we had prepaid for the one bed. Wallpaper was falling off, bathroom tile disgusting and the key didn't work. The hotel is very noisy with 101 on one side and another noisy street on the other.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable but it is dark and dingy. The breakfast is mediocre: milk and cereal, juice and coffee and sweet rolls. The dining area is like eating in a cave. The parking lot is narrow so when the hotel is full it can be hard to maneuver. The hotel is right off of 101 so it is easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from 101. It's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovatoAbvi, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. While some things like the parking lot are a bit beyond our control we will do better to brighten and liven the place up. At the moment we are making decor changes starting with the first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this motel in Novato because there was nothing else available under $200 for the weekend. I had requested a rollaway bed in advance, when we got there the man at front desk said there weren't any available, then he checks in the back and found one. When he brought it up to the room, he left it and said "I don't know where you're going to put it" what an attitude! We unfolded it in the corner by the air conditioner (the only space for it) and the mattress was paper thin, the springs were poking through it! The next day we asked for another rollaway and this time the lady at front desk said "oh yeah, that's an old one it has to get thrown out". The wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling off (who puts wallpaper in a bathroom?), the TV is supposed to have cable and HBO, but the channels were limited and it's not a digital TV. I took our dog for a walk behind the motel, there's a little grass area and I see a truck parked at the far end of the parking lot, on my way back to the room I see another car parked alongside the truck, they're doing a drug deal! A few minutes later after the druggies left the Sheriff is parked in the lot, where was she when the drug deal was going on?! The next morning there's a camper van parked outside with a sleeping bag & trash on the ground, the police show up again! Yes, there are homeless or low income families living here, maybe that's why it gets the name "America's Best Value" Inn. I wouldn't recommend staying here, now I know why there were rooms available, everywhere else at a reasonable price was sold out for the weekend, the Sonoma races were on. If you're staying more than 1 night, I would stay away from this place. We won't be going back!

Room Tip: If travelling with a dog, ask for lower floor room. We didn't get one & our dog had to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovatoAbvi, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank You for the review

I am truly sorry for the rollaway, and hopefully it didn't ruin your race weekend. We have brand new rollaway mattresses and brand new friendlier clerks now.

The decor in the rooms, even puzzled me when I began working there. Wall paper has no place in a bathroom, and it's not a great choice for any part of a motel room. Although the 2nd and 3rd floors are the same, we have started remodeling the first floor. The walls now have fresh paint, and no paper.

We have always had cable and HBO, but if you return this summer we will have a 60+ channel lineup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We use to stay here a few years ago when it was a travel lodge. It was close to the race track, almost a straight line. Always felt safe, not any more. Never again will we stay there. Scary characters hanging at all over. Watch your back. Check your room for bed bugs. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovatoAbvi, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for staying in the past, and we would love to have another chance to earn your business. We have been working with police very closely to keep drugs and criminal activity off the property. They have shared with us many solutions which have been very effective. We also have private security. If there's ever a problem we take care of it right away. Nobody wants trouble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is located between railroad tracks and a rock plant. These are not the biggest problems for this property. The lobby was smelly and very old looking. Definitely in need of an update. After checking in, and walking to my room I saw that several rooms were occupied by people who were living at the hotel. They were hanging around outside, smoking and chatting. I noticed toiletries in the bathroom window which also indicated this was home. While parking a guy was unloading his furniture out of his van and putting it into a room.

Fortunately my room was on third floor, and away from the residents. Opened the door and was blasted by a smell of cleaners. Had to open the window, but preferred this smell to what I had expected. The room was mostly clean, but furniture older. The state of the room is the only reason I gave this property two stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovatoAbvi, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and concerns. Business in Marin brings plenty of contractors who stay for weeks or months at a time. Knowing this, they tend to make themselves comfortable, and we allow them to bring a variety of things we may not allow non business guests to have.

The bathroom windows do have a ledge that many find convenient for placing toiletries, and maybe that is something we will discontinue. We'll also try not to overuse the cleaning products.

From late 2013 to now, we have done plenty of work to refresh the property. We have new furniture on the way, new carpets in many rooms, flat screen TVs, and are working on a new lobby design.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My employee booked two rooms at the hotel for three night through Expedia, but due to weather conditions we told the management that we could only stay one night and would like them to credit us and apply the credit to our stay the following week. They refused to make the even though the Manager, Jason said he could make that decision. Expedia said they would credit us but only on Jason's approval. Don't book at this hotel, they don't appreciate paying customers.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovatoAbvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are sorry you feel that way. We appreciate paying customers very much. We often go out of our way to ensure guests have a pleasant stay and return. We also appreciate the value of a contract. Rooms booked on 3rd party sites notify guests very clearly that rooms are paid in full, upfront, with no possibility of a refund at a discounted rate. Guests who do not book rooms that way pay higher but have more flexibility. It would be unfair to them to let those who pay lower, have the same flexibility.

The strict terms are the nature of the deal. We provide both methods of reserving rooms, and once selected, the choice must be followed through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn of Novato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn of Novato

Address: 7600 Redwood Blvd, Novato, CA 94945 (Formerly Travelodge Novato)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn of Novato 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Novato/Marin/Sonoma. Located in beautiful Marin County, California, our hotel is located near Napa Wine Country, Sonoma Wine Country, Muir Woods, Point Reyes, and the Golden Gate Bridge leading to San Francisco. Novato is home to several small biotech firms, such as Buck Institute-Age Research and Bio Marin Pharmaceutical Inc. Savor a delicious meal at one of the various restaurants within a mile of our hotel including Mills Restaurant, El Palmar Restaurant, and Chianti Ristorante.Our Novato hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, an attentive 24-hour front desk staff, and affordable rates. Your comfort and satisfaction is our top priority. Start your day with a free cup of coffee available in our lobby. Our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi area is the perfect place to relax and soak up some California sunshine after a fun day of sightseeing. We offer a fitness center and guest laundry facility for your added convenience. All of our guest rooms offer free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. Irons, ironing boards, toothbrushes, toothpaste, shaving gel, razors, tea, sewing kits, and shower caps are available upon request. Upgrade your stay by reserving our bridal suite with a fireplace, our suite with an in-room jacuzzi, or our family suite. Dogs are welcome in first floor rooms for a small nightly charge. At Americas Best Value Inn Novato/Marin/Sonoma, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn of Novato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Of Novato Hotel Novato
Travelodge Novato
Travel Lodge Novato
Novato Travelodge
Novato Travel Lodge
Americas Best Value Inn Of Novato CA - Marin County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.