We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Local Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arun Thai Restaurant

Arun Thai Restaurant
385 Bel Marin Keys Blvd, Novato, CA 94949-8600
415-883-8017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Novato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We discovered Arun Thai about a year ago and it has become our favorite local restaurant.
I can't get enough of their curry dishes and my husband orders the crab fried rice when ever it's on their list of specials. Beef, chicken, lamb, shrimp, crab, veggies, noodles-everything is good and aren't we fortunate to have them in our neighborhood! The service is always friendly and the short wine list is good but arrive early because the place starts to fill up especially on weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merced, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had dinner here based on all the recommendations on Tripadvisor, while travelling through the area. It turned out to be a pretty good experience. The place was certainly packed but we were able to get a seat after a short wait. The place did seem a bit cramped. Nice and classy interior. We had some curry dishes and noodles. Flavor and taste were pretty good. Service was prompt and efficient. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripper45
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Arun Thai - mmm Wonderful Asian-Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love this restaurant. The food is Asian delicious, my favorite appetizer is the sample of tastes; and I like the specials and the wine pairings. The staff is friendly, and remembers you even if you go a few times a month. The owners are from Bangkok, and the Chef-Owner when he has time will circulate among the tables, saying hello, and chatting. It is close to where I live in Novato. The atmosphere is lovely inside, but outside is a small-business district. I have suggested it to many friends who also return for a meal. Lunch is big with surrounding small business employees from the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Loved this restaurant in Novato. We are used to eat Thai in Los Angeles, and thought we already knew the best Thai food in California. We were wrong. This family run restaurant in the Marin area was an experience. Wonderful food and very nice people serving. The chef is happy to share some of his secrets, and when he explains the preparation of his curries, you feel thankful for the interesting stories and the quality of food you are eating. Will return, positive.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Decent Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've sampled some of their appetizers and Curry dishes, as well as their fried rice. They are good but I would caution those who are looking for the authentic Thai cuisine. I personally don't think their dishes qualify as authentic Thai food, but they are definitely good in their own respect. I will continue to visit this restaurant while I am on business here in Novato area, and I will update my review accordingly.

A bit of background about myself to qualify my opinion, I am South East Asian, have been to Thailand, have taken cooking lessons there, and I am a fan of Thai food (if it's not clear by now).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arun Thai Restaurant also viewed

Novato, Marin County
 
Novato, Marin County
 

Been to Arun Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arun Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.