We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for a night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel to your Saves list
Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3410 Westover Street, North Highlands, CA 95652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Highlands
Shingle Springs, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent enough for a night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a package deal. Received VIP tickets to the event held at the Aerospace Museum, free shuttle back and forth to the event/from Hotel and back, a night's lodging and free breakfast at their buffet. Check in was a little lengthy as there was a mad rush of check ins all at once, but it was handled nicely. Front desk explained everything well and off we went. Rooms could use a bit of updating here and there, but our room was clean and I liked having the microwave & mini fridge. Very disappointed with the beer selection in the bar...just so standard in this day of stellar craft brews. The breakfast buffet had the cold items and the warm entrees which consisted of scrambled eggs with chives and cheese, sausage, bacon and home style hash browns. The warm food was quite good for buffet style. All in all, if the need arises again to stay in this neighborhood, would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
6
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lakes South Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We needed to be in North Highlands for family reasons and stayed for 9 nights. We were lucky to have a special deal with an access room and although we didn't need this type of room it was very spacious and comfortable with an enormous bathroom. Lovely bed that might be too soft for some but seemed quite luxurious. Sacramento experienced an unusual cold snap but the heating was very good so we were not affected by it whilst staying here. I think that this is mainly a hotel for conferences etc as it is not in an especially interesting neighbourhood and not much in the way of shops nearby,so you need your own transport. They are now charging $15 each way for the Airport shuttle. The food is very good both in the restaurant and the bar but staying for more than a few nights we found it a bit limited as was the breakfast. Can't complain about that as the breakfast was included in the very good rate. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere to the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and myself along with my brother stayed in the Mc Clellan house, which is a # bedroom, # bath house that was formerly and officers home when the air base was operational. The house was amazing. Nice updated showers, Flat screen tvs in all rooms. 2 sitting rooms and a beautiful patio where we relaxed to a bottle of wine and a cheese/ fruit platter.

We dined in the hotels restaurant where the food and service was excellent for 10-15 per person. Fully stocked bar to get a beverage too! good selection of beers and wine on hand.

The complimentary breakfast bar was good too. It consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pastries, oatmeal and assorted beverages.

The Bed was very comfortable in the master suite, with a king size mattress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Lionsgate Hotel in July 2013. We have stayed here many times while attending an annual family reunion each July. We have recommended the hotel to family members and this July we rented at least 6 rooms/suites. The hotel is nice, breakfasts always good and generally a nice, clean place to stay. The pool has been drastically reduced in size recently which is a huge disappointment. This year when I reviewed the Group Folio (bill) for one of the suites I noticed that we were overcharged. The rate billed was more than the rate quoted as the room rate (quoted rate appeared on the same invoice). It wasn't a large amount but it was incorrect. To date I have contacted the hotel 5 times, speaking directly to the accountant, Larry, twice as well as the front desk, and have also sent an email. I was assured that a credit would be put through to my credit card, but now 2 months later, no credit has appeared. Would I stay at the Lionsgate again.....probably.....but I would definitely review the check-out invoice with a fine tooth comb before leaving the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevada Foothills
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This review concerns only the large new conference space managed by Lions Gate. It is a separate building near, but not adjacent to the actual hotel. This building appears to be a remodeled warehouse/industrial space from the military base. It has an attractive contemporary facade, clean modern interior, and acres of parking.

Due to a shortage of reviews, I am hoping to provide information that may help event planners select a venue.

PROs:
* Ample parking
* Convenient to I-80 freeway
* Attractive landscaping and entry
* Clean and new
* Large open space

CONs:
* Poor acoustics for presentation to large audience
* Inadequate air conditioning
* Industrial appearance (exposed ductwork etc)

In short, this is a fine venue for many conference purposes, but I would not recommend it for presentations to a large seated audience due to the poor acoustics and inadequate air conditioning. It is not what you would call "Class A" conference space when compared to a nice hotel. That being said, the price was also lower than a nice hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We rented a cottage suite --- awkward room placements, small bath, but the full kitchen and private enclosed back yard was fantastic. i felt safe with the dogs. Love the gated & Secure feel of the old air force base. We will defiantly stop back by again.

Room Tip: dog friendly with lots of walking paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would like to Thank Lion's Gate for making a very Happy and pleasant experience for me and my family and friends. We were treated so well. We were more than pleased with the accomodations that were provided to us for the event. The General's House was such a topic of conversation. I was pleased to share the information with others about recommending this venue for future events. Special Thank you to Sunni, she was wonderful. The Lion's Gate will always be my first choice for future events for me.
Thank you again.
Estella

Room Tip: The General House for big events. the Lawn is perfect. the space more that you can imagine. Wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel

Address: 3410 Westover Street, North Highlands, CA 95652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > North Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Gate North Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lions Gate Hotel & Conference Center- a Lexington Legacy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.