We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jocko's Steak House

Jocko's Steak House
125 N Thompson Ave, Nipomo, CA 93444
805-929-3565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Nipomo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just finished another great dinner at Jocko's. Only 2 servers on our side of the house because one called in sick. The service was still great, prompt and friendly. Delicious Spencer, filet steaks, pork ribs, all cooked perfectly to order over oak coals and a huge portion of king crab legs that melt in your mouth. Used to get flimsy fries but now, if you ask for extra crisp that's what you get. Still the best, affordable, steak house in the area. Not foo foo pretty, just good wholesome food. Reservations a must or wait 2 hours or more. You don't have to sit by the pit to see how they grill everything, there's a viewing area you can watch from near the grill. Worth taking a look.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    83
    21
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Heard Jocko's didn't take reservations, so went for Linner - around 2:00 - thinking that the lunch period would be slowing down. There's a sign as you enter saying to seat yourself. Found a table for 3 of us and sat down. It didn't take long for the ONLY waiter to bring us a small glass of water. However, the helper brought large glasses of water again and when I was surprised, he said, "it's only water." hmmm. It took about 15 minutes for the waiter to return to take our orders, even though he'd say, "I'll be back in a minute" several times as he walked by to deliver other meals to the other tables. Although there were 3 other people walking around, i guess it wasn't their job to wait on us. After our order was turned in, we waited another 20 minutes for the meal to come. 2 of us ordered rib eye steaks (grilled during lunch, not bbqd) - one ordered a rib eye sandwich. All 3 came with the SAME SIZE steak, the difference being that the "sandwich" came with the rib eye on top of the bread and the 2 others came with the bread on the side. Also, the "sandwich" was $4 less!!! Next time, if there is a next time, we'll all order the rib eye sandwich.
The waiter also SAT on the table behind him to take an order. Couldn't believe it! The room pretty well emptied out, but there was a line of people waiting down the hall. I wondered why they just didn't come in and seat themselves. But, then, I noticed that the sign saying to seat yourself, had been turned and now said "Wait to be Seated." There were enough empty tables to seat everyone waiting down the hall, so I was wondering if it was a ploy to seat people later during the "dinner" hour and charge more. The steaks are worth it, but the service is definitely lousy. Don't go if you're on a time schedule.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“go for the Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is my designated 'steak for dinner' place to go. The service is good and they are pretty quick getting food to the table. The atmosphere is plain, no hoopla and can quite loud. The only think annoying is the wait, even with reservations. Often the wait is at least 30 minutes, more often close to an hour. So if you have the time, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No Where Else for A Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent tasting Steaks. The place is nothing to look at, and is showing its age. But we go every time we are in the area about 3-4 times a year. Wish we had one of these in Orange County.
Try to get a table by the window, so you can watch them cook outside over the open pit. Don't forget to make a reservation, one time we didn't and waited over 2 hours for a table! But we enjoyed the western bar while waiting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Tried to make reservation but phone was busy or left you hanging on the phone . So decided to take a chance and see. Waited for. 2 hrs. Waitress was nice . Stated that this was our first time and asked about the menu. Orders the spencer(small) and pork ribs. 45 mins it delivered to the table. Of you like a thick cut of beef crusted or chard on the outside, then your good. The ribs were tasty but salt , I think to much rub. Could not finish because if the salty taste. Comes with salad, toasted bread, baked potato, beans and ice cream. For the amount of food the price is great just be prepared for the wait. No veggies at this place except for the baked potato!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jocko's Steak House also viewed

 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Nipomo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Jocko's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jocko's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.