We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's Wharf

Woody's Wharf
2318 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3702
949-675-0474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 401 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $18 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great lunch, Maine lobster, salads, sandwiches were all well priced and perfectly prepared. I was surprised actually since we brought a friend for the view! Over the last 30 years we've come here usually by boat, but it was really nice to see the place doing well even the decor, though tired, hasn't changed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    34
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went for drinks on a Monday night with friends. Place obviously wasn't too busy but they had good specials and the location is pretty cool.

I'd like to come back on a busier night or bar hop on a boat. Seems like you could park out back on your boat and come in for a drink. Heard it gets kind of gross fri/sat nights but whatever.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Popular brunch venue for locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I arrived at this restaurant at 10:00 am to find the entire restaurant, inside and out, completely full. TV screens in every corner allowed a view of football to all during sunday brunch. The brunch menu is extensive and includes lobster omelets, eggs benedict and every kind of brunch specialty. The prices are more than reasonable if you include the bottomless, free champagne. I've been going to this restaurant since I was a child but this early brunch really appeals to the locals and is a great way to catch your favorite game.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I went there for our wedding anniversary. First off we sat outside and the view was breathtaking and secondly the kettle one girls were there giving free shots of vodka and that was a definite plus. My Wife ordered the prime rib because that's her favorite menu item. The prime rib was big and very thick and my Wife was right when she said its the best prime rib ever because she gave me a bite and it was wonderful. I ordered the seafood paella and it was to die for. It had steamed clams, mussels,scallops,shrimp and chicken on a plate of rice and chorizo. I can eat a lot and the plate was huge and I could barely finish the plate but I had to cause it was that good. My favorite were the clams. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Credit card charged $30 more than we signed for!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Popped in for half price wine on Thursday, with a good view, service a bit slow.
Decided to stay for food which was good - filet steak and fish with lobster tail.
We signed for the bill at $107 and left a cash tip. On arrival back to the UK our credit card was charged $137.
Am now hoping that this gets resolved satisfactorily. Having had a similar experience last year at another restaurant in Florida we had to get our credit card company involved.
Star ratign based on this over charge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Wharf also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Woody's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.