We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every local goes here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great MEX

Great MEX
703 E Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92661-1305
949-675-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 359 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Every local goes here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Taco Tuesday and taco Friday are the best days ever. It is the only Mexican restaurant in Newport I would ever recommend. Get a pitcher and eat tacos with all your friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“BEST Mexican Breakfast in Newport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great Mex never disappoints! It is so much fun to walk to Balboa Island and take the ferry over to this little gem of a restaurant! The food is amazing! My husband and I always share the machaca as it is HUGE! The flour tortillas are small and fresh. The machaca, refried beans, and rice taste heavenly in a fresh flour tortilla! I would venture to say that this is the best Mexican breakfast I have ever had. The staff is incredibly friendly. Our Sunday mornings would not be complete without Great Mex!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We ate here 3 times in 3 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Order anything with shrimp! Shrimp and veggie bowl, shrimp taco, shrimp burrito! All fabulous! It is always crowded and hard to get a table, so we always took our food to go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best Mexican I have had in a long time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had take out and I had the best tacos I have tasted in a long time. There were 8 of us and everybody was very happy with their meals. Definitely lived up to the reviews!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This place should be on DDD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This little hole in the wall gem deserves a visit from Guy Fiere...We got the recommendation on multiple visits to Newport Beach from multiple sources. It's a local secret. Five of us dined on real home cooked Quesadilla's, Nachos, Crisp Beef and chicken tacos - not Ortega or El Paso - the real deal...shrimp burritos, and a fresh salsa bar! They also serve american and mexican beers. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great MEX also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Great MEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great MEX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.