We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Balboa Bay Resort to your Saves list
Balboa Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked here at last minute Pleasant 2day stay.Room a good size and beds very comfortable.Facilities in room very good especially the provision of an empty fridge.Room serviced quickly and staff helpful and pleasant.Emily on concierge desk especially so.Pool very pleasant if a little cold.Definitely a swimmers pool not a fun pool!Would recommend .Only downside is that there is not a beach for all guests only those in suites!

Room Tip: View of the pool rooms pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sarah D- I appreciate your thoughts from your recent stay. Thank you very much for all of your feedback. Although the Balboa Bay Resort is located along the coastline of Newport Beach, we are just a short distance from the beach - which I truly hope you have the opportunity to experience on your next visit. The beach located next to our resort is for the Balboa Bay Club membership guests. I hope this offers some clarification. Again, thank you for your review. I will also share your kind words with Emily from our concierge desk!

Warm regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    91
    53
    26
    13
See reviews for
86
120
28
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just returned from a great stay at Balboa Bay Resort over the July 4th weekend. The excellence of the resort is directly related to the professionalism and warmth of its employees. Particularly outstanding and helpful were Steve Labrador, Andre (no last name) and Ian in the restaurant. They are real assets and ought to be recognized as such. Although we live in Boston and typically take winter vacation in Florida, we will be returning to BBR and the Newport Beach area instead thanks to our recent experience there. Bill & Maria from Boston

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear William B- Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. It is truly an honor to hear specific feedback about our staff. I acknowledge that our team works hard to provide exceptional service to our guests- but it offers a special incentive when our guests reach out to share their feedback, so thank you. I will personally thank Steve, Andre and Ian. It will be wonderful to welcome you back to our resort for your next trip! Welcome to the Balboa Bay Resort family.

Warm regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Let me start by saying the staff was fabulous ... valet, managers, wait staff, desk clerks

The negatives:
Impossible to get reservations on the phone if calling from the outside. I tried several times.
1st room was shabby ... frayed bedding and carpet. Manager found another room for me that was 100% better. She walked me up to it afterward to make sure it was acceptable.
Lots of remodeling has been done and the hotel is lovely. I understand the rooms will be refurbished in the Fall - as I was told by their new Operations Manager. I hope they include new plush towels in the guest bathrooms as the current ones are gym quality.
The food in the restaurants and little snack shop were not very good. In particular, the A+O restaurant is heavy on fatty, greasy foods. Upscale California beach culture calls for healthy, fresh, clean foods, not heavy fries, fried chicken, cheesy, starchy foods. At least there should be healthy options. Another family commented to me that they found the food fattening and the menu unappealing. Another friend found the menu 'made no sense.'
The gym was filthy. The machines were dirty, as were the floor and mats. The Lysol wipes were empty as was the hand sanitizer. No excuse for this. Bottled water would have been nice since they offer it to guests free of charge in their rooms.
Valet parking was quick and the staff was friendly and helpful.
It's a beautiful location and will be much improved when the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: PCH on one side: probably noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Madeline F- Thank you for providing detailed accounts of your stay. I have met with Casey, our Director of Operations, to discuss your feedback. We are very concerned you found our gym less than acceptable. We pride ourselves on cleanliness. Your review gives us the opportunity to learn where faltered where we normally excel. Again, thank you for your time and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was going to let go the mildew on the tub-shower ceiling because they were really helpful in cleaning it up as soon as we told them. However, it shouldn´t have been there in the first place. I decided to write about it because we left the hotel this morning at 8 a.m., didn´t return until 1:30 p.m., and..... guess what? The room had not been touched! Now, it has to stay untouched today because my husband is very tired and has to rest. This hotel is not so absolutely huge that they have not had time to clean up. Good management would have kept an eye on our room since we had to complain about the mildew. It is a shame I had to write this review because the hotel is very nice. The restaurant has good food and good service. Oh, another annoying thing is the valet parking. It costs $28 for overnight! They have self-parking but, don´t think it´s a nominal cost. It is $18 overnight and you have to walk a considerable distance to get to the hotel entrance. Not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ntertrans- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. I am confident that our housekeeping department and their management team meets and exceeds thousands of guest expectations every time they visit. Please accept my sincere apologies you were not met with this same exceptional service. Your review is extremely valuable and I will certainly address with the team. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to give you a flawless experience.

Warm regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our staycay at the BBC. We have been coming to the resort for over 25 years. We loved all the new decor, vibrant & fresh and the Waterline Resaurant was off the charts good! What we will remember the most Andre Angles and his staff Patrick, Martha & Jesus. Living is SoCal our choices of 5 star options is plentifull, they knocked it out of the park!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the bay and the members pool GORGEOUS
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear wenludas- Thank you very much for your kind review. It is an absolutely pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you time and time again as part of our Balboa Bay Resort family. I will certainly share your review with the team. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your time with us.

Warm regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have now visited this hotel twice, once in December to watch the Newport Beach Boat Parade go sailing by the beautiful outdoor patio of the hotel and recently in June to celebrate my husband's birthday. In winter the hotel is decorated to the nines with garland, poinsettias and a beautiful gingerbread house and in summer it is clean, fresh and surrounded by warm weather. The hotel staff is great! Always ready to help or answer questions, the location is convenient to everything, wonderful restaurants are everywhere but the rooms are so big, clean and inviting you may not want to go anywhere but just stay and relax!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quietest. We had a heavy walker above us once on the second floor but di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mercedes V- First and foremost, thank you for choosing our resort for your husband's birthday celebration. We understand that these type of events are important and we are honored to have you. Thank you very much for all of your feedback, I truly appreciate your kind words, and 5-star review. I will certainly share your review with the entire team. Please come back down South from Hermosa and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved our stay at the Balboa Bay Resort. Our courtyard, pool view room had a balcony. It was nice to sit and relax. The tv, bed, and decor was nice. I liked all the granite used to make the room feel like home. We had appetizers and drinks at the new restaurant, A&O. It was outstanding!! Not only was the food excellent, but the service as well. The hotel is close to shopping and any other nightlife on the marina. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear mchatt92,

I was very pleased to read that your stay at the Balboa Bay Resort exceeded your expectations in every way. Thank you for compliments regarding our guest rooms, our new restaurant A&O, and the service provided by our team. I hope in the future the Balboa Bay Resort will be your weekend getaway when you visit Newport Beach.

Thank you,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that’s perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you’re planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.