We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Balboa Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Yes, in spite of its location on a four lane street, our room facing the pool courtyard was quiet. There is a tiny family beach. There is an expensive restaurant with a nice shaded verandah overlooking huge motor yachts and the Lido Island across a narrow bay. There is also a costly bar/lunch place in the main building. The hotel staff were welcoming and efficient. The location is close enough to the luxurious South Coast Plaza mall, Fashion Island, and the OC Performing Arts complex with Segerstrom Hall and the Pacific Symphony, a world class orchestra. We had a good discount, which affects my rating of value.

Room Tip: On the courtyard or on the water-view side for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and experience. We are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay overall and that our staff was very helpful and efficient. We hope to welcome you back to Balboa Bay Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    65
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
65
93
22
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
704 reviews 704 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Balboa is beautiful from the time you cross the bridge to the grand canal to little island and the location of this property is no exception. Out standing views of the waters the activities and multitudes of grand beautiful boats. Relaxing is an understatment. Property is nicewelcoming staff service. furnishings clean and acceptable in every way.
Just a little over proced I thought.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comment about both our resort and beautiful city. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
92210
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at the property several times. Service is consistently very good, and the view is priceless. We have used Travelzoo promotions to get discounted room rates, planning our stays during dates when the promotions are offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We take tremendous pride in providing our guests with five-star service amidst our beautiful bay front location, so we are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy the service and view. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was there for the first time. I met some friends in the pool and some friends in the boat ,just two minutes walk from the apartment.SPA AREA is fantastic,luxurious,friendly people,clean the kindness of all the staff ,the care of the gardens,
For shure the best place in California where to live

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful first-time experience. We never tire of hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and have the opportunity to experience some of the great Resort amenities and waterfront location. We thank you again for sharing and hope to welcome you back to the Balboa Bay Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I really enjoyed the two days I spent at this property. It's centrally located and I loved the view of the yachts from my balcony. Only two little complaints: a few of the slats on the plantation shutters were broken and it made it hard to shut them completely. There also wasn't a docking station in the room. I expect that when I'm staying at a fancy, expensive resort. Other than that, it was great. Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our resort and customer service levels, however, I apologize that plantation shutters were broken, which made them difficult to shut completely. I will make sure we fully examine this room and fix the shutters immediately. We thank you again for sharing your review and hope to welcome you back to Balboa Bay Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A very pleasurable place, what really impressed me was the staff, always present, always polite, always ready to aid. The room we had was as perfect as could be, great view, quiet even though near the pool. Balboa Club is a very different SoCal destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments. We couldn’t be more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Was here attending a conference for 3 nights. Rooms are comfortable and fairly spacious. I didn't have a room that had much of a view, so that was about the only true negative I could find.
The wireless worked ok most of the time, definitely not the best I've had traveling, and it was non-existent in the ballroom area for guest use. Fairly close to the airport in Orange County. Overall great hotel, good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your kind remarks and are pleased that you enjoyed the resort overall, however, I apologize that the wireless connection was not working properly in the Ballroom and that we couldn’t help resolve the situation during your stay. Please be certain that I will bring up your comments for further evaluation with our Management team. Thank you again very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that’s perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you’re planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Amex and Venere so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.