We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Balboa Bay Resort to your Saves list
Balboa Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful property with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I really enjoyed the two days I spent at this property. It's centrally located and I loved the view of the yachts from my balcony. Only two little complaints: a few of the slats on the plantation shutters were broken and it made it hard to shut them completely. There also wasn't a docking station in the room. I expect that when I'm staying at a fancy, expensive resort. Other than that, it was great. Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our resort and customer service levels, however, I apologize that plantation shutters were broken, which made them difficult to shut completely. I will make sure we fully examine this room and fix the shutters immediately. We thank you again for sharing your review and hope to welcome you back to Balboa Bay Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    73
    47
    23
    11
See reviews for
74
101
23
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A very pleasurable place, what really impressed me was the staff, always present, always polite, always ready to aid. The room we had was as perfect as could be, great view, quiet even though near the pool. Balboa Club is a very different SoCal destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments. We couldn’t be more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Was here attending a conference for 3 nights. Rooms are comfortable and fairly spacious. I didn't have a room that had much of a view, so that was about the only true negative I could find.
The wireless worked ok most of the time, definitely not the best I've had traveling, and it was non-existent in the ballroom area for guest use. Fairly close to the airport in Orange County. Overall great hotel, good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your kind remarks and are pleased that you enjoyed the resort overall, however, I apologize that the wireless connection was not working properly in the Ballroom and that we couldn’t help resolve the situation during your stay. Please be certain that I will bring up your comments for further evaluation with our Management team. Thank you again very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was In town for business and enjoyed a three night stay at the Balboa Bay Resort. I had a very nice room facing the harbor. I stayed at the resort in July and had a room with a view of the car dealership across the street. I highly recommend a room facing the harbor over a room on the main strip for obvious reason. It was so much more quieter and a better view. The room was so roomy and clean. The bathroom was large as well as a separate tub, shower, and toilet. The best part was sitting on the balcony in the evening looking at the boats, row teams, and the sunset.

The hotel service was very good. I ordered cupcakes for some of my team member's years of service and had them delivered to the resort. The front desk put the cupcakes in my room because they knew my whole group were in meetings all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and bay view room during your business trip. We pride ourselves on offering our guests five-star level service and are always enjoying hearing when our guests experience this level of service. We thank you again for sharing your review and hope to welcome you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were there in August for a wedding and stayed a few days to enjoy the weather. We went for a superior room overlooking the harbor. That was well worth it, as we spent most of the time on our balcony. The pool is very nice. Both restaurants are excellent. The resort notebook said that coats were required for men in the nicer First Cabin restaurant and that even at lunch, swim shorts, flip flops, etc. were not allowed at any restaurant. I only found out after I criticized this in my review that it's no longer true. Good for them. We did like both restaurants very much. Service was very quick and friendly, like asking for an ice bucket or getting the car brought around front.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the harbor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, especially your bay front room. I appreciate you bringing the in-room information notebook to our attention. We will make sure to have the outdated verbiage revised to reflect the newer property policies immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank Ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The resort is one of the best we have stayed at for the value. The room are great, large very nice , bathrooms oversize & private . The beds are the best you will find. The resort is beutiful dine on the patio over looking the habor .Dukes has great food& drink. The staff are jusst as nice as the resort.Can,t Reccomend a better place in New Port. Thank You!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We always enjoy hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and have the opportunity to experience some of the great Resort amenities. We thank you again for sharing and look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the new balboa bay club was a complete surprise. The rooms have been redone the common areas are clean and beautiful and the rest.(first cabin) was delicious and the service was great. We were there for labor day and invited to the members only party for the kids. It was fantastic and would recommend this hotel to anyone in the newport area.

Room Tip: bay view rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We’re very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and were completely satisfied with the ambiance and level of service you received from our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Balboa Bay Resort and having the opportunity to provide you with another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that’s perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you’re planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.