We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best beds ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Balboa Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“the best beds ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Greater smaller hotel with excellent service form all the staff.The breakfasts were great and the healthily options was good to start the day.
The beds are just the best...just stay there to try them out
Next when we are in that part of the world we will be staying there agin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and specifically how much you enjoyed the beds. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort the next time you are in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    63
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
91
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this property 8/16-8/17; we were attending a wedding reception, and other related events, which were being hosted at the resort. Upon arrival there was a bit of confusion trying to locate the ‘self-parking’ lot, so we decided to take advantage of the valet-parking. Parking a vehicle along this strip is premium, and to be fair, we were made aware of the daily valet-parking fee before hand, so it was an acceptable concession.

We were able to book an amazing room (#275) facing the Bay at a group rate, I highly recommend upgrading, it’s worth it. Check-in was a breeze, and we liked the lemon infused water dispenser in the front. Our accommodations were spotless and as we stepped out on the spacious balcony to admire the view of the magnificent yachts in the Newport Harbor, our bellhop delivered our luggage without interrupting us, this impressed us. The location is stellar, not on the ocean but on an intercoastal waterway, convenient to the surrounding beaches and other eateries. We ate some delicious barbecue ribs at the DivBar Bayfront Kitchen restaurant and terrific pastries at the C'est Si Bon bakery nearby.

The plantation shutters in the room were a nice touch, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom was big, with dual sinks, and a separated tub and shower. The large closet offered robes, slippers and high quality clothes hangers. We didn’t have time to take advantage of the pool, fitness center or the spa & salon during our stay, but they appeared to be well maintained and clean.

Overall we found the hospitality experience to be first rate; the reservations process over the phone was informative and easy, we particularly appreciated liked that all fees; resort and valet parking, were mentioned up-front. Our final bill contained no surprise fees, which can always be a downer and turn a great experience upside-down.The in-room dining food quality was terrific, and our server Emilio was very friendly. The wedding reception held in the Grand Ballroom ran like a well-oiled machine, service was well-timed and again the quality of the food was notable. The parking valets and the housekeeping staff were consistently efficient.

We travel frequently, and have been fortunate to stay at some first-class resorts world-wide. The Pacific Hospitality Group should be proud of the BBC in its Meritage Collection. The balance between discretion and familiarity during our stay was of such quality, we felt valued and special, and will most likely return again.

Room Tip: We were able to book an amazing room (#275) facing the Bay, I highly recommend upgrading, it’s worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience. We are truly delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We take extreme pride in offering exceptional service and always enjoy hearing about specific instances when our team members stand out and help create a memorable moment for our guests. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I checked out the Balboa Bay Resort for 2 upcoming meetings that I am conducting this coming December. The staff was highly professional, check in was great and they answered questions efficiently. There was never a wait for anything. The bar was very nice, with beautiful views of the bay and a great wine list.
The rooms were stunning and spacious. I had the pleasure of experiencing two rooms, (a king and a queen double) and both were immaculate, comfortable and well appointed.
The meeting space was fantastic. The rooms had outside patio's, ample space for breaking, dining and business sessions.
The pool area was very relaxing.
The location was good, with restaurants and shops within walking distance. A beach town feel with a high end touch.
The beds were amazingly comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you’ve selected us to host your upcoming meetings in December. Thank you again for your kind comments and we very much look forward to welcoming your groups to the Balboa Bay Resort and offering the same professional and personal service you just experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with a friend. Starting on arrival the valet service was excellent, very helpful. The hotel staff were wonderfully polite and helpful, the pool was great, as was the outdoor jacuzzi. The rooms are lovely and spacious, the views are excellent, the food at the First Cabin Restaurant was delicious and at a good price, and we were given a complimentary drink at the bar which is good and lively on a Friday evening with live music.
My only negative points were that certain areas of the club aren't accessible to hotel guests such as the private beach, and the nearest decent beach otherwise is a 10 minute drive away.
Overall, an excellent hotel, really enjoyed my stay here and wish I'd booked myself more time here to relax!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We never tire of hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and have the opportunity to experience some of the great Resort amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great hotel. Very large rooms (4.5 star) with huge bathrooms. we were a family of 4 with 2 queen beds and it was ample. we got a deal at $200 per night with breakfast so amazing for the price. good location on the bay

Room Tip: rooms on the PCH could be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and have the opportunity to experience some of the great resort amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

New management. Lack of organisation. The training of the new people on staff is severely lacking and very frustrating. I know many of these people work for minimum wage and are not highly educated, but it is the job of their managers and superiors to bring them up to speed. The food is very good because the chefs have been here for some time.

Room Tip: choose bay front if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations and you were displeased with the quality of service. As a four diamond resort, we pride ourselves on providing our guests with a personal and joyful experience, and are very disappointed when we fail to reach our goals. Please be assured that your comments will be brought to the attention of our management team. Again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I was at this resort while traveling for work, a lot of luggage, a lot of the same tired nights after work but I still managed to use the exercise room which was a bit dated but nice. Room service was amazing, I believe Dominga, who said she also works banquets was so sweet and Emillio was so nice offering to get me a paper or wake up call. Teresa came to my room for turn down service and I told her yes only because I wanted the wonderful chocolates, she laughed and gave me an extra one :) she asked if there was anything else she could do, I told her I was fine and she went ahead and closed my shades and added ice, these staff members treat guests like they own the place, great job management, finally someone got it right, keep up the good work....I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and so pleased with the service you received from our staff. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that’s perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you’re planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.