We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second class citizen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Balboa Bay Resort to your Saves list
Balboa Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Value Offer
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second class citizen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Be prepared that if you do not pay full price or do not stay in the more expensive rooms you will be treated like a second class citizen. Arrived late on Friday July 12, 2013 after a long and delayed flight for a business meeting. Really needed a good night's sleep for a business meeting in the morning. When I checked in I told the hotel clerk repeatedly that I needed a quiet room but was told in no uncertain terms that the hotel was "sold out" and the only room available was right over the entrance where of course there was a lot of noise. I pressed again and after much effort they were able to find me a room that looked over a brightly lit parking lot that stays lit all night long. I asked to see the manager who was this incredibly rude and arrogant person who after reviewing the computer sarcastically told me that in "my price category" there was nothing else and sorry if I did not get a good night's sleep. Having no other choice I chose the parking lot room. In a nice display of being placed into a "steerage" room I found old hair in the sink and no one to pick up when I asked for a wake up call. And of course there were no curtains in the room but wooden blinds that did not close all the way. The best part - in the morning I found an additional $21 "hospitality" charge.
I am expecting the usual response from the company that Balboa hires to answer these complaints with the standard "We are so sorry for your experience. We pride ourselves on providing first class service to everyone and we deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your experience will be reviewed and we will continue to diligently improve our guest serves." Please don't bother.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking my call last evening to further discuss your experience at our resort this past weekend. I do apologize again that we weren’t able to provide a more positive experience and meet your expectations. I hope that when your travels bring you back to Orange County, you will contact me directly and give Balboa Bay Resort another opportunity. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    96
    54
    28
    13
See reviews for
93
126
29
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband, dog & I spent 1 night at the Balboa Bay Resort. We chose them because they are dog friendly. When we checked in they gave us a doggie care package. Our room was very nice with a oversized balcony & water view. All staff were very friendly to us. We were pleased overall during our brief stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We always are pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and have the opportunity to experience some of the great Resort amenities. We hope to welcome you and your dog back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed one night here and were very pleased with the choice. The views of the bay and the mega yachts docked out front are spectacular. The room product is above average and I spent several hours watching sailboats work their way up and down the bay from my balcony. Service is outstanding and the bell staff are among the most attentive we have experienced. Highly recommend this resort for families or couples.

Room Tip: Spring for the Bay View room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review about the resort. Our waterfront view is truly one that never fails to captivate. I will make sure to personally pass your complements on to the bell staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best wishes,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, Ca. USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a great place to stay. Everything about the property is 5 star. We walked into our suite and my husband said "I could live here". What I really liked about the suite is that it had 2 bathrooms. We had people getting dressed in our suite so there was plenty of room for everyone. The food was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed overlooking the pool. It was great. The waterfront rooms were a lot more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and were so pleased with your room and dining experiences. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. It's located on Balboa Bay - not beach / ocean front. But the restaurant lanai has a nice bay view and yachts pulling up. The check in staff were very nice and helpful. We received coupons for free cocktails at the hotel bar upon arrival. The room was well appointed with wooden shutters, toiletry items, garden tub and separate toilet. There is convenient valet parking for an extra fee. There are two gift shops in the hotel. The hotel is located within close driving distance of shopping, newport beach pier, balboa island, and restaurants of every level. We would probably stay at this location again, as we enjoyed our stay and were comfortable. On the other hand there are so many hotels to choose from in this area that I don't know that this one really stands out among the others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our rooms, staff and amenities, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. I understand that there are a number of hotels in the area, so I sincerely hope when your travels bring you back to Newport Beach, you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Again, we appreciate and greatly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited for Father's Day/ our anniversary. It was the perfect place. Splurge on a bay view room. You won't want to leave. The decor was lovely, the staff was warm and accommodating, and the food yummy. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Go for the bay view on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Family of four in Queen / Queen bayfront room. Staff greated and treated like we were old friends. Room was spotless; room service rapid; valet about the best we've even seen. We did not feel out of place in our rental Ford Escape, even while mixing in with the Ferarri and Bugati folk - everyone was treated as a friend here. This is an understated elegant hotel. I have one very small caveat - the housekeeping staff are zealous and we were getting knocks on the door at 7:50 a.m. - don't be shy about using that DND sign. Otherwise - perfect.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and shoot for the Bay View rooms; they are worth the incremetal cost and oversized ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We always like hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and receive great service from our staff. I would like to apologize for the early knocks on your door from our housekeeping staff. I will make sure your comments are addressed with our Rooms Manger so they can then be shared with our housekeeping team. We thank you again for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that’s perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you’re planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.