We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night away but we won't be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Balboa Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
San Diego, Ca
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice night away but we won't be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I went for a weekend get-away and stayed here with an online discount deal. That brought the base rate down significantly so it made the stay OK. I would not pay regular prices for this hotel because I don't think it is worth that. The fact that it has a yacht club attached that has exclusive rights to parts of the property can make you feel like a second class guest at the property. Ocean front bar- closed to hotel guests, beach- closed to hotel guests, waterfront pool- closed to hotel guests.

The room itself was nice. We liked the room size and soaking bathtub.
The staff were all friendly.

The food at the hotel is average and limited. We chose to eat out after the first meal there.

Overall there are much better waterfront options in South Orange County.

Room Tip: Make sure not to have a room facing PCH.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions. I truly apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations in all areas and wanted to explain that the Balboa Bay Resort is separate from the Balboa Bay Club which provides exclusive facilities to club members. As a four diamond resort, we strive to provide our guests with a lifestyle experience and excellent customer service. We are disappointed when we fail to reach our goals. I want to assure you that I plan to share your comments with our management team. Again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    65
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
63
93
22
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, Ca
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I attended for business, so did not take advantage of the outdoor spaces which could have improved this visit. The lobby and meeting spaces were beautiful - the decor was slanted to the heavy wood and very ornate fixtures, but still looked well kept. The meeting space we were in opened onto a cement dock that secured all of the huge yachts. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine for a few minutes before getting to work. Service was fine, but they try not to make eye contact.

The room is where it really fell short. It could be any chain hotel in America and I would not expect to pay this price for such basic rooms. The bathrooms were awful - small and very basic. The room was clean, but the appointments were cheap and basic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our resort, however, I apologize that you were not pleased with your room and bathroom. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team so we can work to continuously improve all of our guest’s experiences. Thank you again for sharing your review. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Balboa Bay Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were for my birthday celebration and had a stunning time. The room was beautiful overlooking the bay and the bed with European sheets and down coverlets was so comrfortable and slept great. We went for a duffy ride in the bay at sunset and it was absolutely the best. The beach is raked each day to keep it clean and the boats going by entertaining. We could listen to the birds sing and water splash. Had some drinks by the pool bar and the weather was warm and nice as could be.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Balboa Bay Resort. We always enjoy hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and great memories are created. We look forward to creating even more memorable experiences for you at the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was a treat to stay here! I would recommend a bay view room. It was expensive, but if you want to pamper yourself for a pleasant weekend try this place. The room was pretty, cheerful and comfortable. Loved the bathroom and the big tub. Although, one must be agile to climb into it. The carpet was a bit stained, but otherwise beautiful. The beds were very comfortable if you like the soft, cushy tops to the mattresses. I prefer a bit firmer mattress. The main restaurant was great, with good service and good food. We ate upstairs because the first floor was full. The staff was very attentive. The car attendants were very good, too. Make sure you budget and figure in the parking, resort/internet fee etc into the price so there are no surprises when you check out. We will remember this stay for a long, long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are all most appreciative when we receive reviews such as yours, since it requires a team effort to achieve the high standards that we set for ourselves. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort and creating even more memorable experiences for you the next time you have the opportunity to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We attended a 4 day business meeting held at this hotel. The service was truly outstanding and the staff sincerely offered the highest class of service.
Our room overlooked the beautiful harbor and the mega yachts were just outside our terrace.and were a beautiful backdrop to the sunrise/sunset features of a waterfront location.
Food service was truly European style with personal wait staff attention.
Even the food served as a part of the business meetings was a class above anything we expected.
My wife enjoyed the Spa facilities and commented that the service personnel made her feel special.
Even the valet parking (at $28 per night) was first class, with the cars appearing within a minute and the staff always interested if Iwe needed directions, and welcoming us back on our return.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were there for a girls weekend. The room is nicely appointed, with a lovely bathroom. Beds were comfy, turn down service nice, but the shutters don't shut well enough to properly keep out light. We sat on our little deck which faced the parking circle and watched the expensive cars come and go. The room was clean. We didn't use the pool but I thought it was kind of too bad it didn't have some kind of a view, it is in the courtyard, and the cushions on the chairs looked like they could use a good cleaning. The members only pool looked quite nice.
All in all not bad, not great. I suspect that if one is a member it would be a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your impressions from your recent stay, and your kind remarks about the guestroom and facilities. We are always interested in feedback from our guests and have noted your comments about the shutters, as well as the pool area. I’d like to assure you we are inspecting the chair cushions and will address the issues you mentioned. Again, we thank you for your review and the opportunity to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The outstanding features of this hotel are it's location, friendly staff, spacious, nicely decorated
rooms. The down side is the per day $20 resort fee and $28 valet parking fee. We were aware
of the resort fee prior to making our reservation, however, the parking fee was quite a shock.
That's $50 per day on top of the room charge, for things that do not enhance your stay.

The most troubling aspect was that although the bathroom was very spacious and every day
the towels were folded as fans, the cleanliness of the floors was a big flaw in my neatness
freak opinion. Upon arrival there were spots right in front of the toilet and they remained there
despite our specific request to pay more attention to the bathroom floors. To assure myself
that they weren't part of the marble design, I successfully removed one with a little scrubbing.
It appears the floors are not part of their daily cleaning routine in any way since dust bunnies
floated on the floor as well. It is a shame that such a small task, could affect the overall
enjoyment of an otherwise lovely hotel. That being said we will probably return as there is
no other hotel right on the bay and in such a convenient location.

Room Tip: Away from highway. Overlooking bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your recent experience. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our resort, however, I sincerely apologize that our housekeeping staff overlooked this simple task of cleaning the toilet enclosed floor. Each guest room is thoroughly cleaned and maintained daily, and I have addressed your specific experience with our housekeeping manager to ensure that all areas are cleaned and checked. Additionally, I want to make sure you’re aware that as a lower cost alternative to valet parking, we do offer self parking on the resort grounds. Again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that’s perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you’re planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.