We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Newport Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Newport Beach to your Saves list
Island Hotel Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Newport Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After checking out early from a disappointing one-night stay at the Fairmont Newport Beach (which is in Irvine at the airport, not Newport Beach), I returned to a stand-by that had delivered before, the Island Hotel. Renovations of the restaurant, bar, lobby, exercise facilities, etc., were evident since my last stay here 4 months ago: Beautiful. The service is excellent, the room and beds 5-Star, and the location convenient to the Fashion Island Mall making shopping and dining options extensive. The service here is commendable and you really feel like the staff care, but most importantly, they deliver with not a problem experienced on either of two stays. This is now my preferred Newport Beach hotel property.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    185
    65
    34
    31
See reviews for
94
197
33
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at the Island Hotel during a recent business meeting. The lobby is large and airy and the reception staff are very friendly. The pool area is lovely, complete with fireplace and bar. The pool itself is kept at a constant temperature of 82 degrees with a separate hot tub that seats 14 people. The rooms are very comfortable, with all the usual amenities. We had two meals catered during the meeting with the lunch being quiet good, but the dinner only average. That said, the service at both meals was excellent. The hotel is located a short walk from Fashion Island mall with Neimans, Bloomingdales, and Macys, as well as several small upscale specialty shops. During my stay I saw several happy shoppers returning with large bags.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Mine overlooked the roof which was fine since I was on business, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel has an incredible lobby. Really, quite beautiful. The rooms are average (we usually stay at Marriott), and there is a nice roomy bathroom with marble counter tops. They DO a la carte you to death, and wifi prices are high (free at Marriott). The last problem was the 3 outlets were all in highly inconvenient places. One side of the bed had no outlet at all. Not a huge deal, I guess..

All the maids were very sweet, and the valet guys were all well-trained and highly responsive. I would not stay here again, though, despite it being okay. Something about this place or maybe the location, just sort of left me cold. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been in this hotel twice this year and it has an excellent service and very confortable rooms.if you stay in the city is probably the best option.
The restaurant and bar services are quite good too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We spent three days at the Island Hotel for a work "retreat" and had a very good experience! The hotel was previously a Four Seasons and it still has that feel. We rarely left the meetings so didn't take full advantage of the gym or pool .. but our families did and all seemed very happy. The hotel is directly across the street from Fashion Island..a big Newport Beach shopping mall...but it is a lovely mall..not your typical city mall. The stores are huge and there are a lot of nice restaurants and you can see the ocean from the mall...we didn't go to the beach or play golf or anything else..but we ate dinner at various mall restaurants and everyone was very happy.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on very high floors...I had read before we went that the rooms on lower floors were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I began coordinating our stay at the Island Hotel back in February for our wedding weekend. Several family members and friends were coming from out of town and we wanted a nice place for everyone to gather. Twenty eight people in all.

We were able to get a special rate since we were booking 14 rooms. The staff member that helped me was very professional and very friendly. They even asked if any of our guests had any special requests or needs during their stay.

From the moment we arrived, everything was first class. Every single employee greeted us with a smile and hello. They go above and beyond to make you feel welcome.

The remodel seems to be completed. And I must say, they did an excellent job. The lobby, restaurant and lounge are all done in modern decor and colors. The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool area and outdoor patio for the restaurant and lounge are outstanding.

One of the couples attended our wedding for the weekend had booked another hotel nearby. There was an unfortunate incident and they needed to find another hotel at the last minute. I spoke with the front desk at the Island Hotel and they were more than happy to accommodate our friends on such sort notice.

The first evening of our stay, we returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. What an unexpected pleasant surprise.
Everyone with our party (all 28) had nothing but good things to say about the hotel and their stay. Not one of us had a bad experience.

I must admit, I was getting a little worried when I started reading some of the reviews on line about the noise from the nightclub. But several people in our party had rooms right above the club and said you could faintly hear the sound of bass in the background, but nothing loud enough to keep them awake. And the hotel had no problem accommodating guests that requested a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

A special "thank you" to Katie (both Katie's), Stephany, and Jess. You helped make our stay a truly great experience. A perfect hotel for the perfect weekend. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The corner suites are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was sent here after my other hotel was overbooked and shafted me. The Island made a horrible experience into a great one. It was my birthday during all of this and the front desk upgraded me to a nice suite. While I was only there for about 9 hours I had a great sleep, nice bathroom, great room service (waffles were over cooked).

I would sat here next time over the hotel that over booked me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.