We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, when renovation is over :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Newport Beach to your Saves list
Island Hotel Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel, when renovation is over :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When I was there the hotel was undergoing major renovations: restaurants, gym, etc. So they gave a pass to the gym next door, and there are many restaurants at the near-by shopping center. So, overall, a decent stay.

I recommend checking out the shopping center for meals and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    183
    65
    34
    31
See reviews for
92
195
33
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A beautiful hotel with great service. The room was large with a huge bathroom. The new bar area was renovated but still roped off so it was a bit odd. Beautiful couches and sitting areas but they were all behind velvet ropes! Pool was closed one afternoon. Its funny ... the more luxurious the hotel the more that is not included! No free wifi. No in-room coffee maker. But still a gorgeous hotel. Valet service was very fast ... my car was always waiting for me when I went downstairs. The mall across the street is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

With the renovation just having been completed, everything with our 4-night stay went well.
We got a high room with a very nice view overlooking the pool and with the ocean in the distance.
Service was very helpful in all cases, from the front desk, to the concierge to parking which was always very efficient. Hotel restaurant was good and fitness room was ideal (and never crowded despite hotel being sold out). With Fashion Island, Orange County Museum and Newport Sports Museum all within walking distance, there was plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is my 5th stay in this hotel.
Although I like this hotel very much,I didn't have the full enjoyment because of the ongoing renovation of the resturant area .
I'm impressed with the fitness center new machines.
The staff remains as friendly as you remember them. Still the checkout is to be improved and more accurate receipts to be done.
Still my best hotel in this area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterHissin, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for posting your valuable comments.

As of the end of June, we have completed our grand reinvestment to include a new culinary destination - Oak Grill and Aqua Lounge as well as the updated resort-style pool, fitness center and main lobby areas. We are excited to share these developments with our guests as we strive to constantly maintain our high quality standards.

We hope you will return to Island Hotel to experience this exciting addition to the Newport Beach scene. Once again, thank you for taking a moment to post your thoughts here.

Dieter Hissin
General Manager
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I stayed here over the weekend after winning a bid on Travelocity. We are locals, but wanted a place to stay to enjoy the beach and do some shopping. This hotel is very nice, but pricy. Great service, valley parking, luggage brought to your room etc. but that means tips, tips, tips. The pool was very nice, but small.

The hotel is literally a stones throw away from Fashion Island. My daughter and her friend walked there in the evening to do a little shopping. We had a 2 queen room and it was very nice, beds were great, and we had a view of the mall and the ocean.

The Beach is about a 10 min drive, and very close to PCH. Huntington Beach is about 10 min a way and Corona Del Mar is right down the street. We didn't eat here due to the prices, but found a cute café In Corona Del Mar that was very nice and better priced.

Overall: Great locations, nice accommodations, but pricey.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor and the room was very quiet with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

When making a one night reservation, they tried numerous times on the phone and online to upsell us to the Island Club. While it was only $35.00 extra we said no until after the third or fourth time we went for it thinking free drinks and food for pre dinner and breakfast.

What they didn't tell us is that the hotel is under construction, the rooms out dated and while stressing how luxurious the hotel was supposed to be, it was far from what was sold or expected.

On top of that the offerings in the club were extremely limited and for breakfast the offerings were limited for someone with diabetes or with dietary needs. When I asked if they could offer a few other items, they refused. After returning to the desk, they did remove the charge but I was completely dissatisfied with this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterHissin, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us.

I was disappointed to learn that your last visit did not exceed nor even meet your expectations. It is clear that we did not communicate correctly. I have followed up with the individual departments to ensure this does not occur again.

As of the end of June, we have completed our grand reinvestment to include a new culinary destination - Oak Grill and Aqua Lounge as well as the updated resort-style pool, fitness center and main lobby areas. We are excited to share these developments with our guests as we strive to constantly maintain our high quality standards.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in us. Kindly, please call me when your travel plans next bring you to Newport Beach so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. Once again, thank you for taking a moment to post your thoughts here.

Dieter Hissin
General Manager
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is my second review of the Island Hotel and just as the first time they were wonderful. Completely lived up to their expectations and enjoyed every second we were there. Even though they are doing construction, we loved the new Island Club and the pool opened up on Saturday just in time for us to enjoy! The staff was awesome, the food and cocktails tasty and overall ambiance was perfect. Thank you Island Hotel we are counting the days until we get back to you!!

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to a jr suite, totally worth the view and more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.