We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Good Night's Rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Newport Beach to your Saves list
Island Hotel Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great for a Good Night's Rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at The Island Hotel for one night as part of our cross country road trip. The room was spectacular and the room service (it was a veg night for us) was very good. The only draw back was that it was far from the water and located next to a mall. I wrongfully assumed that it would be closer to the water and was surprised by its location. That being said, the hotel is a little oasis in the midst of a busier area of Newport Beach.

As part of the "veg night" I went to the spa. I was hesitant at first making an appointment with a hotel spa, but I was blown away. It was absolutely beautiful, peaceful and had all the makings of an upscale spa. I had a massage with Amanda and I can honestly say that it was the best massage that I have ever gotten. I very particulart about massages, as I can't stand light rubbing. I requested that she give more of a deep tissue massage and she sure did! It was absolutely incredible! If we go back, I am definitely requesting Amanda!

FYI: The hotel is about 15 minutes from downtown Laguna.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    170
    58
    32
    28
See reviews for
75
165
29
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here over the past weekend and had such a fun, and romantic weekend! The rooms are very intimate, sizable, and give a homey feel. Lots of counter space in the bathroom, and the little travel size amenities are Omnisens Paris, which I never heard of prior - but seem nice. There were no slippers and only one bathrobe on our room, a little disappointing! The bedding and sheets were very classic and crisp white, but the mattress was too bouncy and soft. I could feel every movement when my partner tossed or turned. No coffee maker in the room, but they offer complimentary coffee, with to go cups, in the lobby during early morning hours only.

The high floor had a good view of Fashion Island shopping mall, but it surrounded by commercial and business centers. The downstairs bar is crowded and lively with a band for entertainment. I never got a chance to use their gym, pool, or spa - because there is so much to do in the surrounding Fashion Island area, with shopping, restaurants, movies, and entertainment. Corona Del Mar is right around the corner. The valet overnight parking is a little steep at $32/night. On the weekends, you can take advantage of unlimited street parking, just watch the sign posts.

Definitely a wonderful value for quality on the weekends, as it appears that this hotel's peak time is during the work week, due to location of surrounding or neighboring businesses centers. It is quiet, yet offers entertainment if you are looking for social activities. I will definitely be back to enjoy again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Island is a former Four Seasons Hotel, now owned and managed by the Irvine Company. It is located just outside of Fashion Island, a very upper end, beautiful outdoor mall with many great restaurants. The restaurant in the Island Hotel is also excellent. The grounds of the Island are very nicely landscaped, complete with a pool. There is also a well-equipped gym. My husband and I stayed in a small suite, which was spacious, well-appointed, had a nicely furnished balcony and a beautiful view. The Island also has a great bar, with entertainment on the weekend. I highly recommend the Island Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For those of us who live in LA, this hotel makes a great weekend getaway -- it's closde, thwe rooms are beautiful, the staff gracious and helpful, and the food superb. It is blessed with a great location if you like shopping (Fashion Island is across the Street). By all means don't miss the Jimmy Hopper shown in the longe on weekends. He's a GREAT entertainer and is reason enough to go there for the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Island for nearly a week on business and absolutely loved my stay. The rooms were clean, roomy, and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to,do anything they could to make sure your stay was the best as possible. An acquaintance spilled wine on his shirt and tie at the hotel and he hotel immediately took care of it, cleaning and pressing his shirt within hours at no charge. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Island Hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Upon arrival, we were greeted by extra friendly valet service. The lobby is inviting and the staff behind the check-in counter are 1st class.To our surprise they up-graded our room to a Jr. Suite! Beautiful room and view of the ocean, comfortable bed. I worked out in the Exercise/Equipment room, it was good but not over the top. I went for a 3 mile walk and upon return I was greeted with a towel & ice cold bottle of water. Classy! We ate at the Palm Terrace Restaurant for our anniversary dinner; The Chef’s Special was to die for. The BEST part of the stay was getting a massage from Saiko. Her hands are magic. I have had many massage sessions throughout the world and no one matches her expertise! I’m looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fine, clean hotel in a convenient location. 10 minutes from John Wayne Airport and a three minute walk to Fashion Island, an upscale open air shopping mall. A five minute drive to Balboa Island, a a island on Newport Harbor. Get an upper room with a view of the harbor and ocean as well as the local mountains.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a ocean view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.