We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, maybe even good. Maybe very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Newport Beach to your Saves list
Island Hotel Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad, maybe even good. Maybe very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fine, clean hotel in a convenient location. 10 minutes from John Wayne Airport and a three minute walk to Fashion Island, an upscale open air shopping mall. A five minute drive to Balboa Island, a a island on Newport Harbor. Get an upper room with a view of the harbor and ocean as well as the local mountains.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a ocean view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    185
    65
    34
    31
See reviews for
94
197
33
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ok - here is what is good about this place - it's a pretty hotel: beautiful lobby space, luxury rooms. For $300/night it should be pretty.

It falls short in so many ways. You cannot walk to the ocean - it's too far. Also, lame service: I checked while a friend was also checking in. It was her 8th time in a year that she's been there (works at PIMCO down the street). The desk asked her if she had been to the hotel before: um yeah, the week before.

I was initially given a room on the 4th floor. This means a view of the giant parking lot that defines the exterior of Fashion Island shopping mall. Ick. I was moved to 9 and so could see the ocean in the distance, but still defined in the foreground by the parking lots. Wifi costs something like $15 and the free morning coffee in the lobby was in an urn that would suffice for a hotel 1/10th the size - it was always out when I checked.

The Island Hotel personifies everything that is nouveau-riche in Orange County: shiny, gorgeous outsides that behave poorly and cheaply.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room if you care about looking at something other than a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was at the Island for a one day business trip and had a chance to experience much that it has to offer. The property is a bit dated and is starting to show its age but you can't beat the location and features. The bedding was nice, the showers solid and they provided lots of high quality shampoo, etc. in the bathroom.

Room service was very good and the huevos rancheros were a hit of my stay. I had a chance to visit the bar and the service and offerings there were nice but not exceptional, a solid option for business travelers. The restaurant on site was convenient and offered some nice simple options that made my night enjoyable. The soups were particularly a nice surprise.

The Island is a solid average hotel that is conveniently located to everything in Newport and a great value for the area.

Room Tip: If booking through a travel agent they have a special prestige program that will get you $100 in foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from the Island Hotel, a one night stay for a wedding and reception in the area. This is a totally pro, beautifully kept, clean, luxe hotel.
Between the wedding and the evening reception it was a perfect place to nap on the luxurious bed, change in the spacious bathroom and walk over to Fashion Island for window shopping and coffee. All in the space of about 3 hours! Then off to the evening activities refreshed and glammed up.
Recommend it highly for Newport Beach/Corona Del Mar - very nice and helpful staff to boot.
Also - big pool ... Did not try the restaurants but the bar looked very inviting.

Room Tip: View is really of surrounding parking lots, office buildings and roadways - but if you're up hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times in recent years, most recently for four nights in February, 2013.
Some of the reviews on TA are spot on for The Island Hotel, others not so much.

The staff here are as gracious and helpful as any I have seen at any hotel, from the front desk folks to the car valets and bellhops. There is clearly a culture of genuineness here that makes it a very comfortable place to come back to again and again. There is an employee in the cocktail lounge who somehow manages to recognize me and welcome me back even when it has been a year or two between visits. Therefore, when I read a review complaining about how someone was treated by hotel staff, I take it with several grains of salt. You will not find a friendlier group of hotel employees.

I usually stay in a suite and even though the hotel is not new, there is no sense of shabbiness in the appointments. The baths are not absolutely up to date but there is a separate walk-in shower and everything is spotlessly clean - no complaints. They are doing a good job of maintaining the hotel. That said, while this once was apparently a Four Seasons, it is not quite at that level. And that's fine. It is a step above the nearby Hyatt and Marriott and if you want grandeur, you can go to Pelican Hill.

If you have any intention of spending time at the Fashion Island Mall while you are visiting, The Island Hotel is an easy five-minute walk to the mall where there are many restaurant choices in addition to shopping (R&D Kitchen is a good one!) The hotel restaurant is comfortable and spacious and absolutely adequate but is (probably purposefully) not exciting.

It is such a comfortable place to stay that it would be easy to take The Island Hotel for granted but it deserves better than that. There is a real sense of effort on the part of staff and management there to deliver a top-notch experience to all guests. While yes, there are many business travelers and some conventions on-site, it is also an excellent destination for families vacationing in the area and due to the spaciousness of the common areas, there is plenty of room for business travelers and guests with children. The vibe is professional but relaxed.

I have only a few small nitpicks for the hotel to consider. While I was traveling under a corporate rate and wifi was included, I saw the high rate that is charged for premiium wifi access and I think that kind of gouging reflects poorly on the hotel. Like another reviewer, I was surprised at the mediocre quality of the bath amenities. It seems like a small thing, but the soaps and shampoo etc say something about your brand, and the ones I found in the room said Hyatt or less - yes, people do notice these things and they remember them.

Lastly, I was surprised that one of the days I was there housekeeping never came to clean even though I made a specific call in the morning to request them to come. They did send someone immediately late in the afternoon when I returned to find that the room had not been cleaned. On another day, they skipped my room for turndown. Not a big deal, but it seems like Housekeeping needs to keep better track.

I do sense that as a not-brand-new property they will have to work to maintain their edge as a 4.5 star property as it would be all to easy to slip backwards to a 3.5 star experience. So far, they are making it work and I will plan to return again and again.

Room Tip: An upper floor suite with ocean views is always the best option if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent a weekend at Newport Beach and stayed at the Island Hotel. Hotel price is very reasonable ($199) for the quality received. Our check-in process was very fast. The room was very large and comfortable and we had a small balcony. There is a very nice pool and a fire place by the pool to enjoy your drink on a winter night.

The hotel is very close to Fashion Island. We didn't have a car but we were able to walk to the restaurants. It is pretty close to the airport (SNA) as well. It was only $17 by taxi.

The staff is very efficient and nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel within walking distance of the Bird Refuge and Fashion Island, but everything had an additional cost.
WiFi for an extra $13.00? (Unless you go to the lobby and that's no fun!)
Coffee? If you miss the morning urn in the lobby, it will be $4.52 for a cup!
Fortunately parking was included in our rate or that would have been an extra $32.
Although the bed and linens were the best! and the bathroom was exquisite... for $295.00 a night I just wanted a few perks.
Or....just go ahead and charge $350 a night and throw in some extras.
It's a nice hotel, we'll pay it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.