We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT GUESTS SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Newport Beach to your Saves list
Island Hotel Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT GUESTS SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the attention to details that the hotel staff and Mr. Donald Stamas the GM has for each guests at the hotel. It was refreshing and motivating to see the GM of the hotel interacting with the guests and staff each day I was there. As a bussiness woman I always compare how business are run and I have to say that the Island Hotel it is one of the kind; perhaps for the great leadership that the Hotel has. I will book a vacation trip next ; althought the staff made this business trip like a vacation to me. Thank You very much to all the staff and GM.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    159
    56
    32
    28
See reviews for
71
157
27
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to all the great staff at the Island Hotel. From their professional and polite front desk.( Estrella checked us in ) to Donald the General Manager who was greeted us at the front door. Very cool to see a General Manager as a very polite and welcoming door man.
Im sure he has a lot on his plate dealing with this huge hotel to have the time to greet his guests at the lobby door.

Thanks again for making us stay welcome.
Rooms were very clean and they have a nice Bose system for TV.
Great stay. No regrets.
Also next to Fashion Island mall and room had a view of the ocean.
It's not beach front but you can see the water.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The island is a pure business hotel located in a business area near county airport - i was upgraded to a very pleasant executive suite with a view on the pool and mall. If business takes you too newport beach this hotel is a great choice. I wouldn't recommend for vacation though as it is far from anything of interest and not even a walking distance to the beach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is not a resort hotel; it is located within the large shopping mall known as Fashion Island. So, no marina, no golf course, etc. But it IS close to all the shops and restaurants in the mall, and just a few minutes from downtown Newport Beach, Balboa Island, etc. We live in the Washington DC area, but come here often to visit our children & grand children. Our regular hotel, the Balboa Bay Club was sold out for this weekend so we decided to take a chance on the Island Hotel.

We will stay here from now on. From the moment we drove up to the front door the staff has been courteous, effience, and friendly. I was told the house as "96% sold out and still selling" but there was no sense of being rushed at check-in. Our luggage was delivered in just a few minutes. The only faster service for room service coffee I've experienced was the hall porter at Claridge's in London.

The room rate is reasonable and breakfast in the dining room was a fair price for a high-end hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite and found it a wonderful value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Low points: Deafening construction; no sundries store for those items you always forget; no inroom coffee or tea (almost a sin); no coffee shop; very overpriced minibar; internet service kept crashing;
High points: Valet service was excellent but expensive; housekeeping friendly and adaptable; pool area lovely and comfortable; tasty apples available. We travel frequently and stay in many upscale hotels, but this one lacks a lot. Will not stay here again and will not recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not stay until construction is complete!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Good Day Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to author both your frustrations and high points concerning The Island Hotel. Part of our mission statement is to ensure each guest has a memorable experience and we clearly fell short of your and my expectations. Please accept my deepest apology!

Regarding some of your statements, allow me to bring to your attention the following.

#1 - In lieu of a sundry shop, the front desk offers over 45 items; most of them are the little items that a traveler frequently forgets.
#2 - We provide complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby every morning from 6am - 9am and for those guests that would prefer to brew their own, a coffee maker can be delivered to your room in just minutes; this too is complimentary.
#3 - The Palm Terrace restaurant, located in the lobby is open daily at 6:30am and I can tell you from personal experience, has amazing coffee, offers a fantastic breakfast menu, a very creative lunch menu and a savory and delicious dinner menu. In addition the Lounge opens at 12pm on the weekends and offers a "small bites" concept that has been well received from our guests and the local community.
#4 - The building next door is indeed under construction and will be completed within a few short weeks.

Thank you for the compliments regarding our valet and housekeeping teams, I will be sure to applaud them for their efforts and results!

In closing, I do hope to welcome you back in the hotel as a guest so I have the ability to apologize in person and to ensure you experience the Island as we both expect. please call me personally if I can be of any further assistance (949) 760-4950!

Warmly,

Donald Stamets
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just a two night stay midweek but it felt like a real vacation. Great location for all Newport & vicinity activities, lovely accommodations if you can't afford the pelican hill or montage rates and most of all fantastic service at every level! Well done! Being treated nicely makes or breaks the experience and we recommend this hotel due to the wonderful attention to service. Hope your stay is as nice as ours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban,South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We arrived in Newport Beach after 24 hours air travel and 3 hours on the 405 from LAX airport. Be reminded that you should rather fly in to John Wayne as the traffic is horrendous getting down to Newport. This is a large, busy hotel with big pub/lounge and a lovely pool area( there is a fireplace at the pool too??). Our room was spacious and bright and looked inland- cannot fault it as it had all we needed and we were weary travellers so needed rest. One down point is that it had an inter-leading door and our neighbours were extremely loud and had us up at 3am in party mode. Our room was also above the lobby entrance and being a popular night spot - we could hear all the hotel coming and goings. Rather get a sea facing room. It was close to the Fashion Island Center where we ate both nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 292 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.