We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room but restaurant not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Newport Beach Marriott Bayview to your Saves list
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Bayview Circle, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
E-Bundle Package
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great room but restaurant not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was the second stop on our California trip and we were delighted with our room. Very spacious and well equipped although the towels could usefully be larger Exceptionally comfortable bed. However we were disappointed with the restaurant . Service was consistently poor and no thought had been given for catering for gluten free needs. Once again it is surprising to be charged for in room Wifi and even more surprising to pay for parking at a hotel so far out of town. If you have a car access to the beach is no problem. Good value for money overall .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    107
    35
    5
    13
See reviews for
69
62
13
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here last weekend and it was a great hotel. Close to the major shopping, far enough yet close enough to major freeways, and close to the airport. The hotel rooms our spacious and inviting. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice and roomy. The next morning we found out they had a breakfast buffet, which was delicious. A nice variety of choices and they will even make you and omelet! Delicious! The only complain I have is the price for parking. $23 a night to park your car is a bit steep. Otherwise, a great stay and look forward to the next time I get to come and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This property is a bit different from other Marriott properties, since every room in the hotel is a 1 bedroom suite, yet the rates were very reasonable. The living space / seating area is separated by frosted French doors to the bed room. There are flat screen TVs located in both spaces. It is in a great location for the Newport Beach area... close to Fashion Island and only about 14 minutes to the coast and beach areas. The rooms were nicely furnished and the hotel is very clean. The only negative that I have encountered is that it is $23 for self parking per day, and in many places you get Valet for less than that. Overall, I plan on using this hotel each time I return for business to the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is near to everything, beach, shopping, food, running trails. We love staying here and I always enjoy my runs along the bay. It's absolutely stunning when the sun sets. It's close to freeway access as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay view, it may cost a bit more but so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything was perfect at this hotel. We used the Marriott app to advise that we'd be there a bit before the 4pm check-in, and the room was ready. Breakfast buffet delicious, plenty of walking & biking trails to explore. Loved the spacious suites. Only downside is that it's a bit difficult to get to the beach if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the elevator are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beautiful property, excellent suites, ask for the bayside view. The beds are wonderful, we had a suite with king sized bed. Bed was very comfortable, bedding was awesome, cool and comfortable. Bathrooms are very spacious and spa-like. Staff very friendly and knowledgable. Pool very nice, comfortable seating area and nice views. Wonderful walking/jogging trails around bay adjacent to hotel. Desk staff have maps and even provide you with bottled water. Recommend taking taxis to local attractions, parking is a premium and hard to find at local attractions - it was only $15 for five of us in a taxi van to Balboa Island.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Davis4co,

Thank you for you wonderful review. We get a lot of great comments on our comfortable beds and spacious suites. The Back Bay preserve is a wonderful way to exercise or just take a walk. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our front desk team as well.

Sincerely, John J
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Please do not anticipate enjoying a meal, beverage or sporting game by yourself in the lobby bar. It attracts men who use rough language and a management who allows it. I travel every month on business and would not recommend this hotel to a woman traveling alone. I did not feel safe or respected.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Carla J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Newport Beach Marriott Bayview.

You indicated in your response that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
JOHN JOSBERGER
Director of Hotel Operations
Newport Beach Bayview Marriott
john.josberger@marriott.com
949-509-6044
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Address: 500 Bayview Circle, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Marriott Bayview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview Hotel Newport Beach
Marriott Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.