We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and well laid out property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Marriott Bayview to your Saves list
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Bayview Circle, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Greater Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Clean and well laid out property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This property is a bit different from other Marriott properties, since every room in the hotel is a 1 bedroom suite, yet the rates were very reasonable. The living space / seating area is separated by frosted French doors to the bed room. There are flat screen TVs located in both spaces. It is in a great location for the Newport Beach area... close to Fashion Island and only about 14 minutes to the coast and beach areas. The rooms were nicely furnished and the hotel is very clean. The only negative that I have encountered is that it is $23 for self parking per day, and in many places you get Valet for less than that. Overall, I plan on using this hotel each time I return for business to the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    118
    42
    11
    14
See reviews for
73
73
16
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is near to everything, beach, shopping, food, running trails. We love staying here and I always enjoy my runs along the bay. It's absolutely stunning when the sun sets. It's close to freeway access as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay view, it may cost a bit more but so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything was perfect at this hotel. We used the Marriott app to advise that we'd be there a bit before the 4pm check-in, and the room was ready. Breakfast buffet delicious, plenty of walking & biking trails to explore. Loved the spacious suites. Only downside is that it's a bit difficult to get to the beach if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the elevator are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beautiful property, excellent suites, ask for the bayside view. The beds are wonderful, we had a suite with king sized bed. Bed was very comfortable, bedding was awesome, cool and comfortable. Bathrooms are very spacious and spa-like. Staff very friendly and knowledgable. Pool very nice, comfortable seating area and nice views. Wonderful walking/jogging trails around bay adjacent to hotel. Desk staff have maps and even provide you with bottled water. Recommend taking taxis to local attractions, parking is a premium and hard to find at local attractions - it was only $15 for five of us in a taxi van to Balboa Island.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Davis4co,

Thank you for you wonderful review. We get a lot of great comments on our comfortable beds and spacious suites. The Back Bay preserve is a wonderful way to exercise or just take a walk. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our front desk team as well.

Sincerely, John J
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Please do not anticipate enjoying a meal, beverage or sporting game by yourself in the lobby bar. It attracts men who use rough language and a management who allows it. I travel every month on business and would not recommend this hotel to a woman traveling alone. I did not feel safe or respected.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Carla J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Newport Beach Marriott Bayview.

You indicated in your response that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
JOHN JOSBERGER
Director of Hotel Operations
Newport Beach Bayview Marriott
john.josberger@marriott.com
949-509-6044
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms are big including the bath room . We were given a guide on what to see and where to eat.. We ate right there at the hotel the food and service were very good . You can walk the bay by going across the street and getting on the path if you don't mind walking you can go a great distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

To the Front desk and Management:

Alex: Your amazing friendly family like attitude towards our family made us feel right at home during a stressed out time escaping the fires in San Diego to just get a way for a couple days.
You answered ALL our questions about the hotel over the phone and in person, if we needed anything you didn't hesitate for a second to answer or help us out.

The 2 Lindsays at front desk: Thank you for your friendly smiles and helping us with many questions about the area we have never visited before
Connor/Mario: Stellar Stellar customer service as it once used to be.

I know, a 5 star review is rare and should be used lightly.. I understand this, but I can't not give this place a perfect review. And believe me, I don't give these out often, this might be the 3rd one ever on any review site I have ever given.. and I have NEVER given a perfect review to a hotel.

We booked at the very very very last minute to get out of town, and it was our first trip with our baby.. and yes "We were that family"... you know the one you swear you will never become with all the "needs"...

~We needed a pack and play: DONE/Clean/ Delivered JUST as we got there, JUST as they promised (yes I have heard of horror stories of familes traveling long distances and getting to a hotel promised to have a crib for their baby to sleep only to say "Sorry, ran out"

~We needed help with our luggage in and out of hotel: DONE, friendly bell captains taking care of our belongings like it was theirs.

~The LITTLE THINGS:
Radio clock had an old Iphone adapter that didn't fit our Iphone, within 10 minutes they brought up a new one to fit so we could play our lullabye music just like home

~Pool and Pool Service. A decent nice little pool with FRIENDLY staff to bring you drinks and food

~Breakfast buffet: AMAZING Buffet, FRIENDLY servers, FRIENDLY cooks making you custom omelettes WITHOUT ATTITUDE...

~NOISE: This hotel is popular for small weddings, on the day we arrived their were 2 weddings in SAME DAY ... you can imagine my first thought was "O no... there goes sleeping well, our baby will be up all night with people partying". NOT THE CASE... and more importantly when I asked about this concern I was assured that our location of our room was picked for that exact reason.. it was strategically placed on the opposite side of building of the wedding guests... you tell me the last time this type of care went into what kind of room you got?


As my theme says.. this is how customer service USED to be.. .but these days seems like it only takes one untrained, rude staff member to ruin your trip... NOT here... NOT on this trip... I don't know what they do, but I hope it keeps up forever.. because we are coming back for sure to this very hotel.

Look, I don't know about anyone elses experience, but hotels near a major airport, can be hit or miss.. just look online at reviews.. .there is a reason Newport Beach Bayview averages above 4 stars on here and Yelp... and know I see why.

Thank you to trip advisor community for their accurate above 4 star average review of this place, you were spot on!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Bahama s,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are celebrating our associates this week and I will make sure that everyone gets recognized for their Brilliant service that you mentioned.

We look forward to your next visit to Newport Beach.

Sincerely, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Address: 500 Bayview Circle, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Marriott Bayview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview Hotel Newport Beach
Marriott Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.