We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for veggies and health freaks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of True Food Kitchen

True Food Kitchen
451 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6936
949-644-2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 360 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Paris
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for veggies and health freaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A little on the O.C. hipster-chic side, but still a great place for food. Expensive, but it is Newport Beach, right? Staff is very nice and helpful. Food changes seasonally to let you know you are being environmentally conscious while eating your Bison burger and drinking your Pellegrino. Good place for families as the seating can hold large groups.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I owned Andrew Weil's True Food cookbook before I had a chance to visit this restaurant. I'm a fan of Weil's and have followed his work for many years. This place is fabulous! We're gourmet foodies but we also work to find and prepare healthy, nutritionally dense food when we're not cheating. We had really bad jet leg the first time we visited and we don't know if was the nutritious drinks, the incredibly tasty kale salad, or just a placebo effect from the bright and fun ambience -- but we left feeling much better than we had when we arrived. You can't go wrong here. There is something on the menu for (almost) anyone. The "almost" is just for those with an untrainable palate and I don't think I know anyone with one of those. So give it a try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great healthy dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ate here three times on recent California trip because the food is so tasty and healthy, and the atmosphere so pleasant. I've enjoyed pizza, pasta, and bison burger...all excellent. And my wife raved about the kale salad with salmon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stumbled into the True Food Kitchen and was blown away. My wife and I are familiar with Dr. Andrew Weil's work and the negative impact of inflammation so to see a restaurant concept leveraging his learning was right on queue. Everything was amazing and we look forward to seeing one soon in Atlanta.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good. excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first time and everything was excellent! A few of us were worried it was going to be a tofu and overly vegetarian, but were surprised to see a wide variety of protein. Everything is very fresh, clean and high quality. You will love it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Food Kitchen also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to True Food Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Food Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.