We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Newport Beach to your Saves list
Fairmont Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free & Upgrade
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Indian Wells
1 review
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our stay at the Fairmont Newport Beach was truly outstanding! This is the place to be in Newport Beach. The location is great as were the rooms, the food and the service. We look forward to retuning on our next trip.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I"m very happy to hear you had such a nice stay with us and look forward to sharing your kind words with the staff. I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    294
    164
    75
    51
See reviews for
168
257
33
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent!!!

When you arrived I was great by at least 3 people. They all offered there assistance with my baggage. The front desk person immediately looked me up and called me by name and asked if there is anything else he could help me with and handed me a key. Less than 2 minutes. Excellent Service!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice time and felt so welcome by the staff. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and it's always nice to hear our guests' appreciation. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Concierge was great. Bikes were awesome. Most stuff was normal except key didn't work upon check in so had to go back down to get new keys. Internet program under pres club was confusing. Forced valet and then they didn't have the car registered so it took some sorting out to get our car. Most annoying thing was that we left two articles of clothing in closet with 100% certainty and called later in the day of check out and they were not retrieved. I don't like to accuse but one of two things happened, housekeeper insists the closet was checked so either this is untrue and next guest scored 2 brand new blouses or someone in housekeeping did. I've left items in rooms in past and have always had them returned so to have this happen from a Fairmont is really disappointing. Also felt brushed off when trying to find out and get help on the matter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like your stay was quite uneven and for that I'm sorry. I'm very troubled to hear of the situation with your clothing. We take matters involving guest property very seriously and I apologize if you felt we failed to do so. I would like you contact me directly so that I can put you in touch with the hotel manager. If you could email me at lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good Location, the room was clean and roomy, the service at the pool is the best and the food was good at the pool side, Everyone at the hotel was helpful and the express checked was easy and the car was ready for us.




  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found the service excellent. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Not up to the usual Fairmont standards- poor service, grubby rooms & hallways, and not good housekeeping service at all.
Valet service was the bright spot of this stay- excellent service fro the valet crew.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear you found the hotel not up to typical Fairmont standard. I'm pleased that you found the valet team excellent and will share your comments with the staff. Thanks again and I hope you'd be willing to return and give you the experience you deserve.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockenberg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is really an excellent Hotel. We had a beautiful junior suite on the top flour, with a nice view. The only Thing I really criticize is that they don´t offer shower facilities close to the swimming pool. The breakfast buffet is very rich and offers good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm happy you enjoyed your time with us and found your suite beautiful. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team, I know they'll be pleased to hear it. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here recently for a wedding. The grounds / common areas are very nice, the wedding and catering piece were fantastic.

Pool was nice with a decent poolside menu. The staff were mainly friendly and the rooms themselves are nice as well as clean. We got a very favorable nightly rate although I don't know if that was because of our involvement with the wedding, the fact that it was California in July, or whether their rates are always reasonable. In relation to the nightly rate we paid, I thought the hotel was just great.

One thing i did not care for, which is a pet peeve of mine, is that they charge 10 bucks to use the internet in the room, yet it is free if you schlep your lap top down to the lobby. Similarly, we called the front desk to ask them a question, and they ended up connecting us to a local business in the area. When we checked out, we were told that there was a $1.50 charge for this local call. When I am away, especially on a non-business trip, there is nothing I hate more than being "nickel and dimed," which was the exact feeling I got from both the internet charges and the $1.50 charge for
being connected on a basic local call.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding and found the function fantastic. We aim to provide great value to our guests, so it's nice to hear your appreciation. That being said, I'm sorry that you felt "nickel and dimed' and I did want to point out that we do offer complimentary WiFi to members of our Fairmont President's Club Loyalty Program, so I apologize if you weren't made aware of that fact. Thanks again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Newport Beach

Address: 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Newport Beach hotel in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, the Fairmont Newport Beach hotel is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, Amadeus Spa & Salon. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. Fairmont Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. Fairmont Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. Complimentary "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy free parking at the Fairmont Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.