We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An embarrassment to the Fairmont brand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairmont Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“An embarrassment to the Fairmont brand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the exterior, this property has appealing architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds. Once inside though and past the lobby, this changes to one of disrepair and poorly trained staff. The common areas were quite unkempt.

We have stayed at this property in the past and thought we would give it another chance. We were very disappointed. Little has changed over the years.

We travel regularly for pleasure and stay approximately 70 nights a year in a variety of hotels from Hilton, Starwood all the way up to the Viceroy , Ritz Carlton, and Four Seasons. We know what to expect at each price point and felt that we did not receive fair value at this property.

The room that we were given on the first night was unacceptable. The noise was so loud from the generators and fans outside the window that the room felt as if it were vibrating. We had a similar experience on a previous stay and as a result connected with the reservations manager prior to our visit to request a quiet room on a different wing away from this equipment. I simply cannot understand how our request was overlooked when our room was assigned. We know that we cannot be guaranteed a specific room but in this case there appeared to have been no attempt at accommodating our request. On the second night we were moved to the wing we had requested. This location was much better except for the planes taking off from 7am at John Wayne airport. If the sliding doors closed properly this would likely eliminate much of the noise.

Some of the rooms are worn and in need of an upgrade. The standard room we were given on the first night following our displeasure with the noisy suite was in much better condition than the suite we were given on the second night of our stay. It seems as if there have been no renovations or upgrades in years even though other reviewers indicate receiving an upgraded room. The blackout curtains in our room were so disintegrated and full of holes that they looked like a doily. The heating/air conditioning units rattled and smelled foul. We opened the windows instead. The bathrooms were the only part of the suite that met our expectations for a Fairmont.

Housekeeping was inconsistent and lacking. Dirty glasses were removed and not replaced, an empty tissue box was not replaced even though we left it out for the housekeeper to see, and we noticed that there were no recycling bins in the room at all. We struggled with getting feather pillows in each room we were assigned over the weekend only to have housekeeping remove them from the bed after their service. Admittedly when issues were raised, staff was quick to respond.

The breakfast buffet was very weak in its offerings and in its preparation. We have enjoyed other buffets in the area (for example the Hilton South Coast Plaza). The Fairmont's was inconsistent in preparation and service. Restaurant staff definitely needs more training for the caliber of this hotel.

The valet and front desk staff though are the shining stars of this property. They were always courteous and very efficient.

As mentioned, we are regular travellers and have high expectations of properties like the Fairmont. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We would not have been at all surprised had we been compensated for the first night stay given the issues with our suite. That offer was never made nor was any offer extended for a future stay. Either would have been a welcome gesture of goodwill. There was no follow-up response from management to an email outlining our disappointment with the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if one exists. The suites are not worth the extra $$$ and are in noisy loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We welcome all guest feedback but particularly from seasoned travelers such as yourselves. I’m very disappointed to hear of your experience overall, particularly since some of the issues from your last stay were not corrected. As you mentioned, while we can’t guarantee specific rooms, we definitely are able to accommodate requests such as yours and I apologize we failed to do so. I would like to put you in touch with the general manager so that he might be able to discuss your stay at greater detail. If you would email me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again for your feedback and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    244
    128
    58
    39
See reviews for
130
201
31
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. They have a shuttle that picks up from the airport. Friendly staff, fast check in and nice lobby. The rooms look like they have been recently updated. My first room had an issue with the toilet running so I switched. The next room the air conditioner/heating was loud and didn't seem to work well. The restaurant was good. They have a small buffet for breakfast. I might have missed omelettes or waffles as it didn't seem to have them. If not, the buffet was a bit expensive for the limited choices. Overall a nice enough stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel. It sounds like you had a nice stay with us and found our services and amenities useful. I’m pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and efficient. I apologize for the issues you experienced with your initial rooms, but it sounds like that was resolved relatively quickly. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next business (or pleasure) trip.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on vacation traveling through California. I only had the opportunity to stay one night. The hotel had that "Grand Hotel" feeling and the room were very nice. The coffee in the room was a Kuerig which you do not see everyday. The bar area was very nice and had great service. I did not use the pool area but it looked very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time and found our property full of useful amenities. We strive to provide excellent service and I know our team will be thrilled to hear of your experience! Excellent service can definitely separate a great stay from a good one. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Having just moved out of my home with still a week to work before my official retirement, I chose the Fairmont Newport Beach because of its reputation and location. It is a beautiful property with friendly and efficient staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and congratulations on your impending retirement! That must be very exciting and hopefully we made your stay with us a pleasant one. I'm pleased to hear you found the staff friendly and efficient. Thanks again for your kind words and congratulations!
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice hotel. Only stayed one night but it was very comfortable! Only complaint which ended up not being an issue for me is that the valet parking was required at $20 per night. However, if you have a hybrid vehicle, it is complementary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found the property comfortable. I look forward to sharing your note with the team and welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is an okay hotel if you are spending the night and flying into and out of Santa Ana Airport.
It's located very close to the Airport and it's a typical business hotel with no mini bar nor outstanding extra services.
Wifi and Breakfast are quite expensive. Breakfast's buffet is around 30$ offering a few croissants, scrambled eggs, sausages, juices and cereals.

The hotel offers a shuttle to drive you to Fashion Island and Balboa Island 4 times a day.

The staff is nice and the rooms are fairly clean. There were some hairs in my bath-thub but I did not complain as the rest seemed to be clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we are centrally located near Santa Ana Airport with close proximity to Orange County and many of Southern California's most desirable locations. It sounds like while you enjoyed your stay overall, you felt we were missing some amenities to make your stay a great one. We always welcome guest feedback and I've shared yours with the team. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent three days at the Fairmont Newport Beach as part of our Southern California vacation and overall found our stay to be quite pleasant, with the exception of our room, which had a less than desirable view overlooking the roof and a satellite dish. The general manager of the hotel has gone to great lengths to make sure we won't have any issues next time we visit, which is wonderful as we had specifically requested a view room as it was our anniversary. We have been very pleased with the Fairmont's commitment to their guests and the steps they have taken to make sure our concerns are met. We will definitely return next year to celebrate our anniversary at one of our favourite hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the hotel. While I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, I'm happy to hear of your experience with our GM. We feel we differentiate ourselves on our service, so it's great to hear guests' appreciation. Thanks again and we look forward welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Newport Beach

Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel
Fairmont Newport
Newport Beach Fairmont
Address: 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Newport Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Newport Beach hotel in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, the Fairmont Newport Beach hotel is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, Amadeus Spa & Salon. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. Fairmont Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. Fairmont Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. Complimentary "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy free parking at the Fairmont Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.