We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but Fairmont in name only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Surprise, AZ
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not bad but Fairmont in name only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fairmont Newport Beach is a business class hotel near Orange County airport. Situated near offices it is well suited for the business traveller. If you frequent Fairmont hotels you will probably be a bit let down by this location. It is a nice hotel and perfectly adequate in every sense but also feels very ordinary and could easily be a Marriott, Hilton, or Hyatt. There is nothing to distinguish this location as a Fairmont property and it certainly is not one of their locations they are likely to use in their marketing materials. That said it is clean, staffed with helpful people, and offers a nice place to rest your head at night.

+ AAA+ Valet staff
+ Lobby bar food & drinks better than expected and reasonably priced for hotel food. Breakfast delivered in-room was excellent and service was far beyond expectation.
+ Large room for the price

- No mini bar in room. Only vending machines
- Rooms in need of an overhaul. Many broken handles, towel racks, etc, in room and very few electrical outlets for recharging devices.
- Our room had a lovely patio but unfortunately it sits next to a generator belching out combustion smoke and fumes all day and runs noisily all night.

Overall the Fairmont Newport Beach is a good choice for business travelers and others seeking a semi upscale quiet place to relax, meet with clients, etc. Families and couples may find better options elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    264
    138
    67
    43
See reviews for
149
224
33
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Located not far from John Wayne Airport in Orange County, this large hotel offered great service, a lovely room with large bath and beautiful pool area. I did not use too many amenities as my daughter lived nearby and we were always on the run. Beautiful lobby and public areas. I checked out the Amadeus Spa and they offered many luxurious services. Would recommend when in the area!

Room Tip: I prefer a high floor, which I had....a view overlooking the vista in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed one night in May 2013. It's close to the airport but far enough out of the flight path to avoid the noise. Room was large, clean and the bed very nice. Staff was friendly. Two irritations: there is no free wireless anywhere in the hotel, $13.95 per day. Parking is valet only and expensive at $28 per day. Despite the irritations, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for four nights for work and pleasure. The front desk staff were super helpful and friendly. The Valets are stellar! The rooms could use an update, but were clean. Only a few disappointments: Coffee and tea were not fully replenished each day. Second morning, I noticed the coffee cup had been wiped out - that was disgusting! Still no replenishment of tea and coffee on day three and four. Same with towels. The ironing board desperately needs a new cover! I only found this out because I needed to use it and had the board but NO iron. I didn't have the time to wait for housekeeping to bring one. The bed was super comfortable. My overall stay was quiet and nice. We had cocktails in the bar - I think there was a shortage on ice and the overall room feels old. This hotel needs updating!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a nice property, and we received excellent customer service throughout the four-day stay.

I would give them five stars, but was a little disappointed in the "After Hours" (between 11pm and 6am) offerings. There are five items on the room service menu, and no other options on property (the vending machines have beverages only).

Everything else was excellent (service, responsiveness, the room), so I might even give it four and a half, if that were an option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoyed an overnight stay at this hotel. The rooms may be a little outdated, but are maintained to the highest standards and the staff is excellent. The Valet, even though they were very busy were very efficent and always had a smile on their face.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine P, General Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Your feedback is critical to our success as it enables us to review our offerings and perfect our services. Additionally, such feedback continues to motivate our teams ensuring each guest is well looked after time and time again.

Thank you once again for your business, we look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Newport Beach.

The Fairmont Newport Beach – “Turning Moments into Memories for our Guests”

Sincerely,

Josephine Pallera

Executive Assistant to the General Manager & Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've never been to such an Isolated Hotel in the middle of a city. The way that it sits back in the parking lot makes it almost impossible to walk to any of the local restaurants. 28 dollars a day for parking is a bit much. Mostly because the place is one giant parking lot with a hotel in the middle. The staff was helpful. The dinner was good. the Buffet wasn't much and for the price could use some omelettes, waffles and pancakes. I stayed there for three nights and with the other options in the area and fashion Island I probably wouldn't go back. It is central to the beach and disneyland. There is a nice pool area. The Jacuzzi was way too hot though. Also there is no free WiFi which you get at pretty much every other hotel now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine P, General Manager at Fairmont Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was very distressed to learn we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed your food and beverage and maintenance issues with our team.

On behalf of the hotel, I extend my deepest apologies and assure you we strive to maintain a 4-Diamond experience for our guests. We certainly appreciate some of your positive notes and will share them with our colleagues to further motivate success.

I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to let us know where we fell short and by doing so, provided us with an opportunity to follow up with you directly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Newport Beach for a much improved experience. If I may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Josephine Pallera
E: josephine.pallera@fairmont.com

Executive Assistant to the General Manager & Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Newport Beach

Address: 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Newport Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Newport Beach hotel in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, the Fairmont Newport Beach hotel is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, Amadeus Spa & Salon. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. Fairmont Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. Fairmont Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. Complimentary "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy free parking at the Fairmont Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.