We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but poor service situation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morro Bay, California
1 review
“Comfortable but poor service situation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We used Priceline to book this hotel for a one-night stay while in the area for business. The room was comfortable which was great and most staff we dealt with were very polite. However, when I misplaced my room key the front desk staff was very rude to me over the phone when I called to politely request a new one. Given that the reservation was not in my name I completely understood the need for security questions, but the woman I spoke to was overtly condescending in a situation that absolutely didn't merit it (although, in customer service, technically almost no situation merits it!). While it didn't ruin my day or anything I was kind of shocked and certainly didn't appreciate her unprofessionalism. I probably won't be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    270
    140
    69
    43
See reviews for
154
231
33
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got a good deal on Hotwire to stay here, but was a little apprehensive after seeing some of the reviews. We had a very good stay and a lovely room. The bed was extremely comfortable, Even though it was out by the airport, it was a very quick trip into Newport Beach. I would stay here again with no hesitation. My only complaint was that they took away the coffee in the lobby too early.

Room Tip: Just like everyplace else in the area, it is valet parking only...........and you do feel like you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Within a mile or two of John Wayne airport, this exclusive hotel awaits your visit.

On a recent visit to Irvine/Newport area, I had decided to skip the traditional hotels and try this hotel. It has a resort like feel and didn't disappoint as related to service, amenities and overall guest experience.

Rooms are nice and include robes and phones in bathroom. Restaurant was great, pool and jacuzzi on the 3rd floor roof was nice.

Only drawback is valet is required and will cost $18 a night. Otherwise, no surprises here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

After spending some time on the net looking for a place to relax for the day, I ended up picking this fabulous spa. I was sold when I found out you could use the hotel pool and hottub which was also located just outside the spa doors on the 3rd floor! I packed my lunch and headed to the spa! After checking in and meeting the people at the desk I was very delighted by the inviting staff! I drove up from SD so I spent a few hours outside which was very peaceful on a Thursday. The hottub was super warm which felt great after swimming in the pool. Later that afternoon I had a massage appointment set up with Ivan who was absolutely amazing. I have been looking for a place to go for a relaxing massage and I just found the sweetest, most pleasant experience at this day spa! I would reccomment Ivan to anyone! I love that Ivan does not leave any part out of the experience so your whole body is relaxed and rejuvenated! After being swept away into Lalaland :), I had a facial appointment with Veronica! She was also soo passionate about her line of work which made my facial experience super pleasant! We connected on many levels about health and natural products. She also did my eyebrows while I was there and her "wow-brow" definitely gave me the wow reaction when complete! I will be coming back to see both Ivan and Veronica regularly for sure! Thank you Amadeus Spa for my "escape to tranquility" day!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Why is it that the big, expensive chain hotels have to nickel and dime you to death? The better "value" hotels don't charge for Internet or parking, this place does. Here you don't have ANY option but valet parking and the rates vary by day and they are expensive plus you feel obligated to tip every time you come and go. They charge double digits for Internet. Rooms are ok but small. Another big complaint, room service trays lined the halls and smelled. Why can't people call and have the trays remove? Why doesn't room service follow up and retrieve them? Tacky. Plus, room service prices are off the charts. Overall impressions: nickel and dime artists, gouging at every turn, average rooms. The Fairmont name does not carry the cachet it once did. Will never stay at a Fairmont again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is not in the middle of retail if you are into shopping but for a quiet place to stay for a few days it is great. There is great access by road and there are several good restaurants nearby. The hotel will even provide shuttle service to take you to them. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The grounds are park-like. The staff is very friendly and helpful making you feel welcome from the moment you arrive at the door. Parking is by valet, which came as a bit of a surprise, but it is not overly expensive. Definitely would stay there again! Visit the Bambu restaurant for breakfast if you like Eggs Benedict. Check out the review under restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is perfect for the business traveler that is just there for a quick stay. It is located close to the airport and the shuttle arrives promptly to pick you up. The staff was friendly and moved with a sense of urgency to ensure you get to your room quickly and painlessly.

The rooms were clean and the location was very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Newport Beach

Address: 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Newport Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Newport Beach hotel in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, the Fairmont Newport Beach hotel is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, Amadeus Spa & Salon. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. Fairmont Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. Fairmont Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. Complimentary "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy free parking at the Fairmont Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.