We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"This is not a 4 Diamonds for sure"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Newport Beach to your Saves list
Fairmont Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Advance Purchase
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"This is not a 4 Diamonds for sure"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed there for 5 nights in the first week of september, I´m form Cancun and i work in the hospitality industry sorry for my english by the way.. during the check in the bellboys did not help us out carrying our bags, then the fron desk agent charged us $700usd without our approval or any hotel speech. she didn´t was wearing her name badge and i think she was the most rude person in all the hotel. She does not have a clue in service. I asked 2 different recepniost for bathropes and i never got it. 1 day housekeeping didn't clean our room.
We tried a day out in balboa beach and the staff pick us up 25min. after the pick up time.??? i though that just happen in Mexico.
The breakfast is pricey for what they offer. there was not a goog variety. Over $20usd for a contiental brakfast?? And it was not tasty at all.
We had dinner 1 night in the hotel. And they have the same decor, they don't change it for dinner, Met like 3 waiters during my dinner, bad presentation of the table and food set up.!!! And paying almonst $200usd for dinner. Thay were in a rush and there was just like 4 tables occupied that night???
But the thing that it was most embarassed is that different times we asked people form the staff (front desk, recepcionist and 1 tall manager for different directions or information form the areas nearby and they don't have a clue were they live or a little effort to help you out on how you can get there, or finding any information for you...
I am not use to ask for complementary thing or compensations because i know if i travel it's because i have money and i will not be asking for things for free.But like i told you, i work in a hotel as well. And guests in my hotel if they would had that service they would be asking for any comp.

Poor service and management skills..It's a shame with all the hotel's budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    369
    202
    94
    61
See reviews for
214
311
47
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is one of the hotels i would always like to stay. Close to the airport and bunch of pretty good restaurant around. Very good customer service reps. The rooms are clean, spacious and same is the bed. the price is slightly high when compared to others but you get what you have paid for. each buck you pay is justified staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Overall our stay at the Fairmont was worth the money - however everything else was too expensive... wine... room service... breakfast was 22 dollars each and to be honest quite disappointing.

However, the food in the bar was great, service was brilliant, pool was very relaxing and the rooms very comfortable and we enjoyed staying there. However make sure you add $40 onto each day as if you add up tips.. food.. wine it's going to be way over!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I honestly was very happy with this hotel. The Fairmont Hotel Newport Beach is elegant, and I was able to get a really good price for the room. The view nice and the hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. No hassle @ all, eventhough I had gone though a 3rd party booking service. I will definitely stay here again. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet was good too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel was nice but the pool was closed most of the Saturday on Labor dat weekend when we wanted just to relax and go swimming.. When we told staff members they seem like they didn't care. Was told someone throw up in it and wasn't there fault. Will not be back rude staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ruined my husband birthday weekend

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Wanted to get away for the weekend to Newport Beach. Bid $85 on priceline and ended up with a king room. The room was just okay. Outdated. Make sure to ask for a room facing the pool. Not what we were expecting. Hotel was 5 miles from the beach. Mandatory valet parking is a total rip off, they charge $28 per night. We were there for a Friday and Saturday night and parked in the Well's Fargo parking lot right next to the hotel. The sign for the parking lot says "No Hotel Parking" but as far as I could tell it was not being monitored. I actually saw some of the valets parking cars in this lot. The pool was okay. There were no trash cans in the pool area so people were leaving trash everywhere. Two drinks at the pool was $25.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This historic hotel has borne a series of luxury nameplates. Historic at least by Southern California standards. This is dramatic 20th century architecture in the classic modernist tradition. The public areas and rooms have been thoroughly renovated and updated, with tasteful contemporary furnishings, top quality fixtures, well functioning heating/lighting/cooling, well maintained pool and fully equipped spa.

The hotel is located in an upscale commercial and office area adjacent to SNA with complimentary shuttle service. A few miles from the ocean side attractions, next door to UC Irvine, and blocks from the freeway. Service was very good, with attentive and well trained staff from front desk to the restaurant servers to drivers. My room was immaculate.

Suggestion 0: If you are heading to Orange County, use SNA instead of LAX. The freeway traffic from LAX to Orange County is bad, LAX is crowded, dirty and inefficient with much longer suggested preflight arrival times than elsewhere. SNA is almost pleasant.

Suggestion1: If you are landing at SNA, make a note of the hotel phone number and use your cell phone to call for pickup by their shuttle service. If you decide to rent a car, factor in the price of valet parking.

Suggestion 2: Become a member of the Fairmont President's Club for free internet access. The wifi in my room worked quite well.

Suggestion 3: Dining options in this part of Newport Beach are good but a bit pricey. I arrived late and dined in the hotel lounge. Salmon salad was good and moderately priced. Plenty of good but a bit pricey local dining options are an easy drive away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Newport Beach

Address: 4500 MacArthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (Formerly Sutton Place Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Newport Beach hotel in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, the Fairmont Newport Beach hotel is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. Fairmont Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. Fairmont Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. Complimentary "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy free parking at the Fairmont Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.