We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Spot On” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Channel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Newport Channel Inn to your Saves list
Newport Channel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6030 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always Spot On”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We choose to saty here each time we come to Newport Beach. The small hotel is clean, efficient, and has everything you need. The beach is directly across the main highway. The hotel offers free use of umbrellas, beach towels, an chairs. You can book a family size room or a smaller depending on the size of your group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    82
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
83
51
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked 4 nights at this hotel in August, not really thinking it would be up to the excellent reviews it gets. We were, however, pleasantly surprised: the room we got was spacious and had been renovated (new TVs, mirrors, showers, sink, etc), and the cleaning service is better than most larger and more expensive hotel. Like the reviews we had read, the staff was polite and helpful, and after the first night we entered full-on "vacation" mode: stayed in Newport Beach the first day, walked to the pier and back, then drove to Huntington Beach (15 min North) the next day, and Balboa Beach (5 min South) too. We used the bodyboards, chairs, towels provided by the motel (very nice!). It was the perfect "home base" from where to visit all of the nice beaches around. Very impressed, and very happy we stayed there. We could have spent $100 more for a smaller room at the other nearby hotel, or twice as much in the bigger hotels in the area, but we didn't--instead, we spent the extra money to actually enjoy our vacation time. Excellent choice, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The walls are not too thick, and noise from fellow guests will be heard. Choose a room upstairs to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is more like a motor hotel, with clean rooms and friendly service. The rooms are a good size, definitely not too small. The location to the beach and a few restaurants is perfect. The surrounding neighborhood is a little funky, but Cappy's next door is a fun friendly place to eat, with really good food. In fact, we had breakfast there 3 days in a row! If you are going with a group, the roof deck is a great place to meet up, look at the beach houses across the street, and watch the world go by. If you are looking for plush and room decks, this is not the place to stay. But if you are looking for location and low key, this place is for you.
**There is a park right next door if you are travelling with small children.

Room Tip: Try not to be on the street side--it is quieter in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This "inn" is a motel, complete with rooms bordering the parking lot. There was a lot of noise from the parking lot as well as the highway. The rooms are ok. The proximity to the beach is what you are paying for. Although it is nice that they supply beach towels and boogie boards and you can easily walk to the beach, parking does not seem to be too difficult and next time I plan on staying at a nicer hotel farther from the beach and just driving there. There is also so much else to do in that area that although we were travelling with kids we actually only spent one or two days at the beach during our whole week there. Also really missed having breakfast included. The restaurant that is across the way, Cappy's is VERY crowded and noisy and not a relaxed place to wake up to. The bicycle rental place right next door is run by a very nice guy and I recommend renting bikes and cycling along the beach. I felt that Newport channel inn is more suited to young single travelers than families or older travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Seeing as this is identified as the best value in Newport, I had some expectations. Whenever the owner answers the phone or you talk to him......he is fantastic, helpful beyond measure and very kind. The kids he has working for him seem bothered if you ask questions and certainly arent going out of their way to help you, and God forbid they ever smile.Over the phone they were very helpful but the messy haired guy at the desk seemed downright annoyed that we came in the door. Sad, because I dont think that is the thinking of the owner.
The room was clean but they never cleaned our room once we arrived so we didnt get clean towels or coffee for the next day.
The location is great and the rates arent bad. Appalling for someone from the Pacific Northwest but ok for Southern Cali. I think they could make this place much nicer with a couple inexpensive fixes, like take down the 1970s art and the 1980s comforters. Be a little creative with the decor and you could really step this place up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

You can't beat this place for location. You'll wait longer for the light to cross PCH than it takes to actually walk to the beach. You're in close proximity to Cappy's, a great little breakfast joint, and there's a combo mini-mart/liquor store on the way to/from the beach, that has everything you might have forgotten to pack.

The hotel itself seems to beg to be described as "no frills". But then you take a step back, and tally up the frills: Free use of boogie boards and abundant beach towels. Even some beach umbrellas and cruiser bikes. Every room has A/C, a big flat-screen TV, cable, free wi-fi, a refrigerator, and a microwave. The ice machine kicks out the jams for when you're ready to head to the beach, and although parking is tight, there's enough of it. That's a lot of frills for a place that looks no-frills.

If this was the middle of Omaha, it wouldn't rate. But it's a short walk from the beach, and they set you up to enjoy it. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and score a room on the 2nd floor and you won't suffer Dancing Elephants Syn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

For the availability / pricing of this hotel, I was expecting nicer facilities. The decor, bathrooms, etc. are nothing to write home about, but they are definitely clean and reasonable (hence the 4-star rating). I would recommend this hotel for the traveler (single, couple, family) that is looking for a reasonable place to stay - just don't expect the world!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Channel Inn

Address: 6030 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Channel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Newport Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Channel Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Channel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Channel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.